We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy stay there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Albert
Ranked #38 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Finland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Easy stay there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

I had a one night accommodation at Sokos Hotel Albert in November 2012. In Helsinki there are two different Sokos hotels on the same street within 200 meters. Previously I have stayed few times in the other one, Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri. But now I wanted to try this hotel. One reason for this was the price. Now and then Sokos hotels chain has quite good offers for weekend. Now my room rate now was only 70 euro/room/night.

The hotel building from outside is not very welcoming - old 60-70’s style brick house. But luckily it is only outside surface. When you step in, the atmosphere and decoration is totally different. Room decoration (furniture, colors) is made with quite good taste. The atmosphere in your room is modern and refreshing. Lots of mirrors, light furniture, desk (cover made from glass), nice wall painting, green carpet etc. A flat TV, mini bar, safety box and iron was also included.

Even though the interior decoration was quite nice, you could also notice well, that the room was little bit worn out. F.ex there were very much stains on the walls (repainting needed). Also bed cover was quite dirty. Bathroom was nice, but the cleaning there should be better. Most of the areas at first sight seemed to be clean, but if you took look a little bit closer (f.ex under washstand), you noticed clearly, that there was dust on the wall.

Breakfast buffet started at 8 am on Sunday morning. The buffet was like everywhere else in Finnish hotels and included f.ex bacon, eggs, porridge, tomatoes, cucumber, cheese, cold cuts, yoghurt, sausages, coffee, tea, cereals, fresh fruits, orange and apple juice. Not the best breakfast I have had. It was ok, but not very exceptional tasty. This time for me the best meal was warm gratinated vegetables prepared in the oven.

It was quite nice and easy stay there. The service everywhere was ok - maybe not very personal but it was polite, formal and friendly. Hotel surrounding is quite peaceful comparing to many other hotels in Helsinki. And it is not far from the main shopping area but still in the quiet area (even during the weekend nights). I recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinlandFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Andergard, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Albert, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding the Sokos Hotel Albert, All feedback very valuable indeed to us, in order for us to keep improving our service.
For instance we will start going through the hotelrooms one by one to fix stains on any wall.

We hope to see you as our guest again in the future as well!

Best regards,

Martin Andergard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    143
    49
    8
    2
See reviews for
18
86
41
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times, and found its location very pleasant: a quiet but central district of Helsinki, next to the Sinebryuhoff art museum (recommended) and about 10 minutes' walk to the main square. Nice interiors, cosy rooms, modern facilities, and comfortable beds. The upgraded rooms have tea and coffee making facilities.

Buffet breakfast is served in the spacious breakfast room, which is actually the hotel restaurant specializing in Italian cuisine.

The only thing I would complain about is the room temperature: the heating system only starts working when a guest moves in, and it takes a couple of hours to warm the room - could be an issue when the outside temperature drops down to minus 20 Celcius, which is not at all uncommon in Finland.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Meath,Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

My husband and I spent last week, 20th -27th October in the Hotel Albert and were very happy with our stay. The location is excellent, right in the heart of the city, approx 10 minute walk from Kampii Metro station. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially the reception staff. The room was quiet and comfortable. Best of all was the breakfast, enough to keep even hungry travellers going til evening! Great selection of breads, cereals, dried and fresh fruits, seeds and nuts aplenty and a good selection of cooked food, e.g. scrambled eggs, sausages etc as well. I did not book with any of the accomodation providers listed here because I got a much better rate [30% cheaper] with select-a-room.com.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We absolutely liked the hotel. Although there were somethings that we would have renewed, they were very few, and our overall impression of the hotel is great! Our room looked very new. The shower was spotlessly clean, i could see it had been either recently re-done or it was so perfectly maintained because even the white cement between the shower tiles was spotless and not a single dark speck of mould or dirt there (althouh this is the place where you normally see these things!) The room was very cosy, with a nice green round carpet:) I liked the modern style of the interior and new furtinure. The bed was VERY comfortable. just the right kind of soft/hard. Also, their wi-fi is free, to bring your laptop. Breakfast was not the best in my life by variety and choice, but it was fresh and hot:) All thumbs up for this place!

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Good room for business trip. I have tried couple of hotels because of business trips and I have to say, that this hotel and room was very good.

Never been there before, but I just might actually go there again, because an excellent breakfast and really good sleep quality in the rooms. (I did not hear any noice, though my room window was in second floor and facing to the street). In whole, I have nothing bad thing to say about this hotel: it is quite small hotel, but the sleep quality was good. That was the main thing for me.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inexact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed in the Sokos Hotel Albert for 2 nights in early October. I chose it on the basis of a meeting rate and proximity to meeting location, but I would stay again even without these factors. The location is fantastic, easy walking distance to everything and very close to Tram 6 stop and 15 minutes to central train station. There are good and interesting restaurants close by (Salve was very good, with excellent service) as well as some cute shops and boutiques.
The lobby seems a little cluttered when you first walk in, but my double room was spacious, well furnished for working, and the bed was very comfortable. Photos from the other travellers are very accurate.
The room included had an ironing board + iron and a REAL hair dryer (not one of those weak versions mounted to the wall). Housekeeping was great, the room was spotless.
Television included several Finnish channels that were playing english-language television shows, plus BBC. The free wifi was excellent, fast and I had no problems connecting in the room or the lobby.
The breakfast is great, with a huge range of breads, fruits, porridge, eggs and savory items, digestive biscuits and even a few different coffee options (all self serve so you can get it QUICK!).
I found the service to be professional, friendly and efficient. The front desk helped me when I had questions about timing and price of the airport bus. I ate lunch in the restaurant because I was limited on time, and the food was ok, but the service was friendly and efficient. They were happy to serve me even though they were closing in a few minutes and they didn't rush me at all.
My only small quibble is the shower, which is pretty small and leaks water over much of the bathroom floor. Fortunately, the towels are huge and absorbent, so I just threw down the extra one on the floor.
Having stayed in Helsinki before, this was the best of three hotels I've tried so far, and I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strawberryfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Spent 4 nights in a single room at Sokos Albert and was overall pleased with the stay.
Location is great, between so-called "Design District" and city centre. Half way up from Western Harbour, so especially great if you're arriving by ferry.
As I said, I had a single room which was really about the size of half a standard double room, but it was very cozy and stylish. The air conditioning was pretty cold, however, didn't bother to check from the reception but if you prefer not to sleep in a fridge, try to get someone to help you with the settings as there was no manual for air conditioning in the room.
Housekeeping does a great job, replacing even the towels I left hanging on the rack according to the sign that told you to leave the ones you'd want changed on the floor. Useless, but sweet of them nevertheless. :)
Breakfast is really good - apart from the coffe that tasted like coffee machine rinsing water. Never would have thought lactose free pancakes can taste so good! The choice varies a little from day to day, but you'll basically have scrambled and boiled eggs with some vegetables and sausages or meatballs on the side; selection of mueslies and yoghurt; porridge, wide selection of breads plus ham and cheese to top it with. Cookes, pastries and named pancakes for dessert. Yum!
The breakfast itself takes place at Papa Albert restaurant that also serves buffet and a la carte lunch and dinner. Very cozy and enjoyable place!
All in all, I was satisfied with the hotel as a business traveller - peaceful, tastefully decorated and great location away from the bustling centre, but still very close to it.
Would recommend to others and go back myself anytime.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
#35 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Albert

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Albert
Address: Albertinkatu 30, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#30 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Albert 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOKOS HOTEL ALBERT is located in the hub of the cultural, commercial, historical, and in a sense even bohemian Helsinki. Within walking distance the quest will find Signature Design clothes, Finnish Design Furniture, vintage furniture- and rare-to-find vinyl record shops. SOKOS HOTEL ALBERT represents a genuinely new type of urban hotel with a mission to compose individual hotel experiences according to each guest's wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Albert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing