We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful surprise, newly renovated, wonderful staff, top value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Albert
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Staying at this hotel was one of the nicest experiences I've ever had. The three-star hotel was not as pricey as other hotels in Helsinki, but I decided to give it a go. It turned out the hotel was brand new (opened in August 2007) so the rooms and bathrooms and the hotel in its entirety was top-notch. I was especially delighted with the modern, practical bathroom. The rooms were nicely decorated and bed extremely confortable. The hotel was quiet and the atmosfere was relaxed.

The staff was an absolute joy - one night during the week we arrived at the hotel at about 1-2 am, exhausted, dirty and dusty as we had been helping our friends move all day and night. The restaurant has already closed and we were starving. Without hesitation the receptionist offered to trace the chef in the back of the kitchen and in less than ten minutes we had these beautiful trays filled with gorgeous food that we could take into our rooms. Needless to say, it felt like it was the best meal I had even had! Also, upon arrival a free wi-fi codes were offered to us for the whole duration of our three-day stay without us even having to ask for it.

The breakfast buffet was very good, as was the italian-style hotel restaurant.
The location of the hotel is at the city centre in Punavuori which is a great lively and fashionable area for design boutiques and nightlife.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepromene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2008

I was disappointed by the outside of this hotel, which looks a bit dated. However, all the rooms inside have been redone and come with flat screen TVs, modern design furniture etc. Breakfast was included in my rate and was very good - lots of choices. This hotel is a better option for business travelers than some of the big chain hotels in Helsinki. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Londonboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2008

Visited Sokos Hotel Albert and the expectations were not that high but after the visit this is the hotel to stay and next time when I am going to stay in Helsinki I am definetely going to stay at Albert and will recommend this to my colleagues as well.

Hotel is located within walking distance from heart of the city, close to the park, sea, shops and restaurants. Firstly when I had a look at the map and distances it sort of put me off but I was surprised that it only took 10-15 minutes to walk from main railway station. Weather was great so I really enjoyed my walk to the hotel and about.

Staff were really friendly, helpfull and professional. Did not dine at the restaurant but had a look at the menus and it looked great and reasonable priced. Breakfast was excellent. Next time when I am going to stay there I will definetely try the menu.

Stayed in a standard room, and it was a very modern but homely decorated room with fresh colours, comfortable bed, free WLAN and air-con. The best thing was the wonderful power shower which really gave the relaxing feeling after the long day at work. Also Albert has a sauna which I did not have time try. I believe the sauna is free for the guest.

So next time when I am going to visit Helsinki Albert is the one! Only negative thing which I found was that there was not any snow in Helsinki!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MGPCEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Fini P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanne O, Palvelupäällikkö at Original Sokos Hotel Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanne O, Palvelupäällikkö at Original Sokos Hotel Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Hekku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanne O, Palvelupäällikkö at Original Sokos Hotel Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
#26 of 66 in Helsinki
196 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#21 of 66 in Helsinki
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#36 of 66 in Helsinki
642 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Kampinmalmi
Clarion Hotel Helsinki
Clarion Hotel Helsinki
#19 of 66 in Helsinki
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Albert

Address: Albertinkatu 30, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#30 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: £99 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Albert 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOKOS HOTEL ALBERT is located in the hub of the cultural, commercial, historical, and in a sense even bohemian Helsinki. Within walking distance the quest will find Signature Design clothes, Finnish Design Furniture, vintage furniture- and rare-to-find vinyl record shops. SOKOS HOTEL ALBERT represents a genuinely new type of urban hotel with a mission to compose individual hotel experiences according to each guest's wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Albert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing