We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fireworks of food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Postres - CLOSED

Postres
Price range: US$0 - US$37
Cuisines: European, French, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fireworks of food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and I decided to have a combined birthday dinner with a style. Postres was a perfect location for a looong fierworks of gastronomy! We had a 6-course surprise menu (which turned out to be 10 with all the greetings from the kitchen :) )..all very thoutfully prepared and perfectly paired with interesting wines. Will return again, after saving some funds. :) This is not a cheap place, but the price/performance ratio is about right. If you want to have a nice dinner in a one-star Michelin restaurant, this would be my choice in Helsinki!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Travel_Observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    27
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Almost perfect, slightly overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

This was first tine here even though Postres has been running since 2006. Food was excellent and some dishes were very clever with good ideas. Wine packet was well-thinked and completed menu. Service was polite and professional. Postres has one Michelin, but was a little bit overpriced. Espresso 5,50€!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jori72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Ideal business lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Beautiful restaurant in a lovely part of Helsinki. Had a magnificent business lunch here and couldn't fault it. Service was spot-on and food simply excellent. Well-deserving of its michelin star.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BA_83838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best in Helsinki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

If looking for a great fine dining experience in casual atmosphere, I warmly recommend Postres. I visited it yesterday. The service was excellent and still cozy for the purpose, and the food was a nice combination of Finnish and European ingredients with some innovative layout and tasty surprises. Wine package was right to the point. Postres beats e.g. the overpriced Savoy clearly with much better value for the fine dining money. In my opinion, Postres would earn two stars in comparison to many continental Michelin rated places.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Henri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Can't get better than this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Postres has been our favorite for a long time. For some reason the restaurant seems to be underrated among the Finnish food critics. But let me assure you there is absolutely no reasons for that. The standard is as high as ever.

We phoned the restaurant only three hours before and eventhough they were fully booked they found us a table. And we had a special request to have Tarte tatin off the menu which they delivered by fetching apples (Pink lady) from the market nearby.

We began with asparagus, Norwegian salmon and Finnish beef tartar. All of them were flawless as were the pairing wines. I had an extra glass of the Italian white wine with the beef tartar since it just blew our mind.

For the main course we both had grilled black pork with Jerusalem artichoke and lemon. Again beautifully presented with a rich and full taste. But the best part were the wines. The restaurant manager Taneli Kesäläinen promised to suprise us and he sertainly did. He bought us two glasses of wine with the pork both red and white. The Spanish red was a perfect match as you can expect but the true suprise was the semisweet riesling which matched the pork perfectly. Do ask that if you order the pork.

Tarte tatin is the best in town by far. Freshness of the apple combined with the sweetness of the caramel kept me smiling all night. And not suprisingly the dessert wine worked.

There are restaurants in Helsinki that will match the food but when you combine the food, wine recommendations and the servise it doesn't get better than this - at least in Helsinki. Go find out yourself and take your sweethart with you. The atmosphere is set for a romantic evening where everything is in place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Petteri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Postres also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing