We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice russian restaurant”
Review of Saslik

Saslik
Ranked #70 of 1,485 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$112
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
159 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very nice russian restaurant”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We always have dinner at Saslik restaurant when we visit Helsinki. The interior is very nice and very russian. Food is lovely, amazing! Only bad thing is the prices, it´s not cheap!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank swedishtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    97
    30
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Classic late night business meeting restaurant in Helsinki”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Saslik is one of the old classics of Helsinki. This is a place where diplomats, high-ranking business people and politicians have had meetings since the early 70s. The restaurant is best suited for long late night dinners. We recently spent over four hours just going through a three-course menu and we had excellent time. It was Saturday evening and there were live music in the restaurant and overall very unique atmosphere.

Although you should prepare to the fact that a standard menu with wines can easily become almost 100 euros per person. The plus side for the high price is that the atmosphere, waiters and quality of the food is very high.

I can understand why many late night business meetings are held here. The place has a very intimate feeling and you can also reserve a cabinet if you want absolute privacy.

Special tip: The starter collection Zakuska is one definitely worth a try since it covers a wide variety of different Russian food. It is pretty expensive starter, but it is a great experience since it is served in tapas style for the whole table.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perttu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Bring lots of €€ for bear meat...”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We went specially to eat bear! We had chicken, bear fillet, and bear paw stew. It's a good experience but pricey. 3 main courses for €255. Well, bear meat is exortic and exorbitant. Bear paw is stewed, soft and fatty. The bones of the bear paw are presented, and we took as souvenirs. The waiters are not very friendly and don't speak very good english. This is not peak season and we walked in without reservations.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bakupaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmount, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We noticed this restaurant while taking a walk and decided to have supper there to eat something different. We found the old type russian decor really cool. The staff was very polite and dynamic. We did not order bear meat (looks,like a specialty) but did order the borsch ( small bowl) served with a pastry filled with cabbage. I ordered the blini and although very different from what I expected, found it excellent. All main meals are served on a hot plates with a variety of small bowls holding various items such as sweet onion, braised fennel, sauerkraut, tadziki.... Very pricey but great overall.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Russian restaurant in Helsinki”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Russian style of restaurant where you can eat bear meet!
Exitic for many people but worth of trying.

-matti-

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank norppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saslik also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Saslik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing