We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorites” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lemon Grass

Lemon Grass
Ranked #92 of 1,453 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Lemon Grass is definitely one of my favorite restaurants in Helsinki. The food is delicious and reasonably priced, and the service always friendly. The opening hours and the space are rather limited, so better check when to go!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amiga_turista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    43
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
624 reviews
489 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I am not obsessed with Thai food and one of the reasons is probably, it's not that easy to find good spots. Well, you found one. This place is by far the best Thai rest i've ever tried. We were here one night at 8.20 but the kitchen was already closed (so you better go there for lunch, or take away, unless you have nordic habits of eating at 6 pm). The waitress was kind and sent us away with big smiles. So next night we returned around 7.40 and she was going to say no more food sorry but then she remembered me and she said ok you came back and so you must be very motivated so she sat us down and we ordered 2 dishes of noodles, one soup, one dish with spicy liquid that I can't really define. But it doesn't matter as everything was simply DIVINE. everything was so tasty. And portions are huge. We spent about 50€ but we ate until we were about to burst. The prawns were huge and spotless. The servicee was kind way above courtesy. I didn't particularly loved Finland but I would go back for this restaurant alone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wingcastles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sagres, Portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Thai restaurant in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I am not a thai food fan. But my husband is, so we have been in many Thai, Nepal, Indian and other exotic food restaurants in Hki. And this by far is my favourite one. Food is really tasty and good price. I think portions are fine. I have been eating in the restaurant ( which use to be full and hot inside ) so they serve good portions of rice with the main course. If u want Thai go there, you wont be disapointed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroramol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Just made it here before they closed and were the last people they allowed in at 7.20pm! The place closes at 8pm so go early! The food was delicious - very glad we made it! The prawn Thai red curry was so good, generous portions and not a drop was left!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucky_Shamrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
428 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Pricey, but authentic Thai food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is the closest you get to a real Thai taste in Helsinki. Portions are quite small and pricey, but taste is like in Thailand.

The restaurant is really small, so many times they have not room for you, but takeaway is allways an option.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DjJassu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lemon Grass also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Lemon Grass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing