We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sushi and Japanese food”
Review of Ravintola Koto

Ravintola Koto
Ranked #154 of 1,511 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Kampinmalmi
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good sushi and Japanese food”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Maybe not the best Japanese restaurant ever, but very consistent and never needed to leave unhappy. Sushi and all the other meals are tasty, but not mind blowing. Service works well, but sometimes waiting times are a bit long. Have been there many times and will certainly visit again also in future. Good value for money and can recommend if you are not looking for a fance five star experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Fin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    43
    22
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My partner and I have just returned from an excellent dinner at Koto which is now located at Lönnrotinkatu 22, Helsinki. After filling ourselves with amazing Finnish food for every meal in the past 4 days, we were looking for something different. Koto was perfect. Fried eggplant with miso sauce and sesame seeds was full of flavour and simply presented as were the yakitori skewers. The raw salmon with sushi rice was perfect and full of flavour. The salmon in teriyaki sauce was cooked to perfection, and had a clean refreshing taste. For dessert we had vanilla custard served with ice cream and fruit and a serve of orange sherbet, both of which were light and flavourful. The staff were very friendly and attentive and offered each guest an origami butterfly when leaving. I would not hesitate to return to this lovely restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Malmo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We had dinner in this small Japanese restaurant in Helsinki which by the way is celebrating its 25th anniversary this year. Very reasonably priced, we were impressed by the quality of its sashimi and sushi. The Chicken Teriyaki was perfectly cooked and juicy. We also ordered a Pork Tonkatsu which was nicely cooked although the Katsu sauce was very vinegary and reminded us of "Daddies" Brown Sauce, which British readers will be familiar with! Don't be put off by that though, the japanese food here is very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FirstTravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa
1 review
“Very nice”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Very cosy and nice restaurant, visited in the evening. Good sushis and sashimis. Friendly and nice staff. This will be my regular place for sushi-nights.

Located nowadays at the address Lönnrotinkatu 22.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liipukka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great, consistent sushi (and other dishes too)”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This is my regular for take away sushi, but I think most people eat in. The sushi is very consistent, always fresh and tasty. My favorites are salmon and avocado nigris and california rolls. Especially their avocado is almost always ripe, tasty and soft (unlike many other sushi places in Helsinki). They also serve a wide variety of other Japanese dishes - tempuras are definitely worth trying. Clientele includes local, but also a lot of Japanese living in or visiting Helsinki.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janne_hki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ravintola Koto also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Ravintola Koto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing