We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite”
Review of Gran Delicato

Gran Delicato
Ranked #135 of 1,537 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Kampinmalmi
Espoo, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our favourite”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We visit Gran Delicato multiple times a year but this original location mostly only during summers as we enjoy some late breakfast/lunch after visiting Hietaniemi flea market each Saturday and/or Sunday morning. Most of the times we order chiabattas (fresh high quality ingredients, olive oil is not spared) and ice frappes (with milk and sugar, usually contains a bit too much foam). The last time we also tried feta salad which was really good and fresh as well.

During last couple of years they have expanded the space in the original Kalevankatu location and also opened a new one at Galleria Esplanad (Kämp) ground floor although this new location is not as cozy. Although we liked the original smaller venue better, now there are no problems finding a free table although the shop seems to be quite busy every time we visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KissaAgentti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    53
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really nice neighbourhood cafe”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Really nice neighbourhood cafe in the design area of Helsinki. Run by what seems like a family of Greeks. Very good cafe type food, excellent coffee, nice atmosphere. I often stay in a nearby Hotel & always choose this cafe for breakfast/lunch rather than the Hotel restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul-Portugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good place, worth to visit”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Best coffee I tried in Helsinki. For sure, It will be my "must go" place every time I visit Helsinki. I read through reviews on TripAdvisor and see that some people say "its so Italian". This is a Greek style, look closely on the photos on the wall! :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank floodkoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A favourite in Helsinki”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is one of my favourite cafés in Helsinki. The ciabattas are amazing - from fresh ingredients and so tasty! The interior is cosy and if you manage to get one of the tables with the comfy armchairs you could stay there for hours.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pikkuaalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So Italian”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This is one of the few places that really takes you to Italy, great sandwiches and salads, both are sold as take-away also. Also sells Italian coffees in packages, if you are not a friend of the nordic light roast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marko_L987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gran Delicato also viewed

 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Gran Delicato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing