We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oval table”
Review of Ravintola Savoy

Ravintola Savoy
Ranked #19 of 1,511 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Oval table”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

On our Finland-journey in May, we had our last dinner at the Savoy - as a consolation or to recover a little from the unseasonably chilly spring temperatures - the daily grey and rain and, also, to our surprise, a lack of both stylish bars or good eateries. We had the oval table, at the center of the restaurant with, not only, sweeping views of Helsinki but, also, providing a great sense of the space with its beautiful lamps and lighting and all the Aalto details. But, in a way, we had had enough "architecture" on this trip and we were pleasantly surprised when the chef came up to our table and suggested a special menu for us, wines included. And then, the feast began ... Because all the courses (5?) were great (... I do not recall all in detail 'though), ... because we exchanged stories or chatted one to one, ... implicitly aware of the aesthetic quality of the space, the light and very late sunset and, mostly, aware of the friendship and intimacy shared.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philippe1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    98
    21
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
183 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent location, food and service!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Excellent location with an outdoor top floor terrace where you can take a entrance drink before continue to the dinner salon. Excellent food and service!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“One day great, another day mediocre”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Savoy is the great classic of Helsinki restaurants with vintage Alvar Aalto decor and a kitchen that has been running since my grandfather´s time. One night last week we dined there on a spur of a moment after the theater and had enchanting food - a pike perch to die for preceded by exquisite veal tartare and salmon appetizers, quickly served (1 hour) by a charming smiling staff. Last night (four days later) we took four friends there having asked in advance for a menu to be chosen for us a a table on the beautiful terrace. We did not get the table we asked for but were seated inside at a table where the feet of the table were uncomfortable for at least 3 out of 7 diners, did not get any attention at all for 35 minutes and after nice appetizers, were served overcooked over salted perch with a pile of radishes, peas and cabbage and one stringy asparagus complemented by morels that had lots of cream but little taste. (we were told this was perch with asparagus and morels). Everything had potatoes in it and were piled in such a way that you really had to pick through the dish to avoid them. The rhubarb millefeuille was a joke with 2 tiny squares of thin pastry and tough rhubarb pieces. And the service/agony took over three hours ! There did not a seem to be anyone running the restaurant. The wait staff was unsmiling and only kept pouring water by the gallon. They seemed to be serving one table at a time so you had to wait your turn. The main course was inexcusable for a restaurant of this standard. I guess this restaurant only works when you are only two and eating late (and the staff wants to leave), the chef is in and not doing his TV show or catering and maybe for lunch. the location is amazing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyageuse54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect late lunch in Savoy Terrace”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Wonderful late lunch with a group of friends. Excellent menu with well chosen wines. The champagne terraces in both ends are very nice places to relax after work. Service is very professional, and mainly very kind and caring. Atmosphere is unique. I warmly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location.....seriously over-priced.”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Lovely location and ambience in the restaurant. Professional and attentive service. Presentation of the food is excellent...........but portions are small and our dishes were a little lacking in flavour and seasoning. The a la carte menu is quite limited (choice of only 5 main courses). The food prices are on the high side.........although compared to the wine list seem quite reasonable. The prices for quite moderate wines are very high. Worth going for the view over the esplanade (provided you can get a window table), but there are better quality and value options in Helsinki.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ravintola Savoy also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Ravintola Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing