We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Low quality food and service even for a catering school”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ravintola Perho

Ravintola Perho
Ranked #353 of 1,470 Restaurants in Helsinki
Price range: US$33 - US$133
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Kampinmalmi
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Low quality food and service even for a catering school”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Restaurant Perho lured me and my friend in by advertising reasonably priced blue mussels on a huge sheet on their wall. As we went in it turned out they were serving a buffet lunch, no mussels before afternoon. Well, the head waiter was kind enough to ask if the kitchen could already cook two servings of mussels and, yay, they could. My dish was supposed to be garnished with chili and cononut cream, but the taste was very bland. The serving of fries was really small, I think I counted nine or ten fries. Fries and the mayo were tasty though, obviously not made from industrially prepared, frozen products. Wine was good, too. Deserts were fine and they had surprising combinations on the menu, like popcorn ice cream. Our waitress was lovely, a little bit shy young woman. She followed the etiquette without cutting any corners.

What really lowered Perho's grade was not only the mussels but the quality of advertising. If they only serve certain dishes in the evening their gigantic outdoor poster should say so. Another customer complained that she came in a week ago to have mussels because she had seen the poster. She was told that the restaurant starts serving the dish next week. Again, no dates in the add.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nestorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    24
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“A really nice concept. Enjoyed my dinner here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I have eaten at this restaurant a few times, and the last time was last week with my spouse and our two small children. We found that the place was great for kids, because it's large and never crowded. Waiters were keen to please and so looked after us well. The food was good, though sometimes they do tend to err on the side of serving very small servings because it looks pretty. Overall we had an enjoyable time and were pleased with the experience. I'd recommend it to families wishing to try something different in Helsinki. I really like the idea of a culinary school putting their students to the test in-house.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Therooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 541 helpful votes
“The restaurant of Helsinki's culinary school”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

This is the restaurant of Helsinki's culinary school. As such, the service can at times be a little haphazard, but the students are very keen. Not cheap, but a lot lower prices than many other Helsinki restaurants; the prices reflect the fact that it is a catering college and some allowances must be made. In fact, I once had one of the best meals I've ever eaten here. For good value, Ravintola Perho can be unbeatable. I would certainly be happy to eat here again when I'm next in Helsinki.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great to see the restaurant school service. Don't expect perfection but they do try hard to please. Always something...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

Great to see the restaurant school service. Don't expect perfection but they do try hard to please. Always something new on the menu. Try the wheat beer made by the students (potent stuff!).

Helpful?
2 Thank GarryPHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Suprisingly good sometimes. Good value for money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2008

Suprisingly good sometimes. Good value for money.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Ravintola Perho also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Ravintola Perho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing