We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New concept - refurbished rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Seurahuone
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kotka
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed just one night at Seurahuone. They have improved the service concept and rebranded the Sokos hotels in Finland - this means there is a selection of cosmetics in available in the bathroom, a non-expensive bottle of wine waiting for you on the table and free bottled water available as well as coffee and tea. Bottled water in Finland is a little bit strange, since usually in Finland normal tap water is of superior quality to bottled water. Service was also very good - at the reception they made contact and helpful and friendly.

I encountered a strange problem during night: there was some kind of automation to balance the use of air cond unit and the radiator of the central heating. When room temperature was set somewhere between 20-23, only the fan was running, the radiator did not warm up. Therefore, cold air from the window and outer wall flowed to the room and I was shivering of cold in my bed the most of the night. Early morning I made on last attempt setting the thermostat to 26 C and voilá, the radiator started heating the room. However, this was much too late to recover any decent sleet during that night. Conclusion: something is wrong in the heating system. When it is cold season, the central heating must be on _continuously_.

Room Tip: Since the room was near the lift, the bell of the lift could be clearly heard in the room. If you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isidorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed here for a month room was good, staff all friendly &food was good.
There is a bar downstairs that is a nite club on weds,fri&sat night well worth a look or the other bar in the French restaurant which is a bit quieter. Good location lots of restaurants&bars nearby

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I spent one night here during a business meeting. That Tuesday night was very quiet in the city, there was not even a single snack bar open at 11 pm, so minibar with its chips and chocolate was a life saviour. Hotel was clean, a gym was ok and the breakfast buffet was great.

Room Tip: nice views to the park at the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JussiM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Browsing the booking sites the hotel was booked solid , so we called from Abu Dhabi and a nice lady answered and said a room will be reserved in our name when we get there and it was , the hotel now has a big box full of phone chargers , the breakfast is just as good as it was last year , WIFI available in the room as well as a kettle ,coffee, chocolate and tea.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betool S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We were in Kotka on business so it isn't a place I would of chosen to go.

That said....We arrived at the hotel, situated on the main thoroughfare and parked in the chargeable secure underground car park, as street parking was metered.

Following a friendly check-in we made our way to our somewhat dated but clean room.

I had read that there are two parts to the hotel, old and modern. We had the old.

The first thing we saw was a room wall mounted trouser press with in-built ironing board. I needed to iron shirts. It had a plug on it, but the flex was not long enough to reach the socket. Bazaar. I asked for an extension lead at reception and after a small argument received one.

Room had: two single beds pushed together to form a double, cheap but clean single sized duvets, noisy air-conditioning, no safe, black out drapes, no coffee making and a basic table and chairs better suited in a dining room.

There was bottled water but not refrigerated. Not sure if it was complimentary.

Bathroom had a walk-in shower and full blown electric sauna. We didn't use it but instructions seemed easy. Basic toiletries and fresh clean towels, slippers and robes provided.

We hired (not sure if chargeable) two pedal bikes and cycled before dinner; exploring the town with its mix of an architecturally beautiful Watch Tower and unsavoury Karaoke bars.

The harbour area was pleasant and we found a nice bar for a drink, being a former train carriage.

We ate in the hotel's Amarillo's restaurant and the food was surprisingly exceptional and I do mean exceptional. Menu was French influenced with great wine.

Service was hit and miss as there was no continuity of staff. We waited for the proficient one to come by before requesting anything.

The bar closed at 11PM and we were asked to finish our wine by moving through a 'secret' door into an exceptionally large night club.

A real mix of people of all ages from 18 to 50 and packed solid despite a mid-week evening. Apparently it's a regular busy haunt. It goes on until the very small hours, hence the reports of noise in the rooms.

I missed breakfast due to an early morning meeting and a later night than planned in the night club. On check-out I was presented with a bill on a till roll, like a shopping receipt, all in Finnish. Having used the hotel for business including meeting room hire, projectors and the like I couldn't understand it. Plus several colleagues were charging drinks to my toom. But the total felt right. Hence why I don't know if the bikes were chargeable.

So make of that what you will. As I said, a mixed review.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick_From_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Staff friendly and helpful but noise in the room unbearable.

Be aware that 3rd floor, and room 335 in particular, is above the night club and in front of ventilation units. Impossible to sleep before 03:30 AM. Strongly advice to avoid this part of the hotel. Not worth the 118 Euros I paid, despite my efforts to get a reduction the following morning

Room Tip: in this hotel,ask first to see the room and ask clearly about the location of the night club. Avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markus n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed here for three nights in July
Make sure you get a room in the new part of the hotel, they are apparently much better.
Our room had no kettle, I asked for one for my husband’s medication and was told they did not have any, but I was later told by two members of staff that the room in the newer part all had kettles, no safe, again I was told in the newer part the rooms had safes. We did not pay less for an older room, surely we should have.
Out side dirty
Bed room small, no drawers for your clothes have to leave underwear in case
No bottled water in room
Asked for a kettle as husband on medication told we do not have any
Wine very expensive
Breakfast ok
Very basic
Expensive car park 14 Euros a night
Eat in restaurant on night one table cloth dirty, stained
Probably was considered luxurious in 1930
On the plus side our room was clean and bathroom roomy.
Asked for a filter coffee in the bar asked if wanted anything else yes please some milk gave me the litre carton, not at all what you would expect in a hotel.
Staff not very friendly except for one female at reception, did not get her name but she smiled and spoke to me!

Room Tip: Newer rooms they are apparently much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamY_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotka
3.3 mi away
Hotel Cumulus Kotka
Hotel Cumulus Kotka
#2 of 2 in Kotka
60 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hotel Hamina
Hotel Hamina
#1 of 1 in Hamina
53 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Santalahti
Hotel Santalahti
#1 of 8 in Kotka
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Merikotka
Hotel Merikotka
#8 of 8 in Kotka
17 reviews
3.4 mi away
Manor Hotel Karhulan Hovi
3.5 mi away
Hotel Kestikarhu
Hotel Kestikarhu
#7 of 8 in Kotka
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Seurahuone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Seurahuone

Address: Keskuskatu 21, Kotka 48100, Finland
Region: Finland > Kymenlaakso > Kotka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kotka
Price Range: £107 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Seurahuone 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel in modern 5-story corner building next to central park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Seurahuone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing