We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and beauty”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Las Chaumas

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Kitchen View From Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
The Kitchen
View From Kitchen
The Dining Area
View From Dining Area
The Lounge
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
View from each Bedroom
Shower Room with Spa/Power Shower
The Patio Area
Garden
Relax and Unwind
Garden
View From Balcony
Enter a caption for your photo
The River Auvezere at the bottom of the Garden
Private access down to 'The Cottage'
The 40 Hectare Lake Rouffiac - 10 mins away
Lake Rouffiac
Brantome - The Venice of the Perigord
The Forge at Savignac Ledrier - 10 mins away
Hautefort - 15 minutes away
Pompadour Racecourse - 15 minutes away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lanouaille, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jan T
Mael-Carhaix, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peace and beauty”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This gite is sited on the south-facing side of a narrow valley. In October the woods facing were stunning with colours changing every day.The gite is comfortable and well equipped and we were glad of the soft warm duvets as a couple of nights were frosty.For people with toddlers the garden is very steep as is the staircase. Should the weather be wet there are plenty of books and games as well as satellite TV.
The Garden has a wide choice of seating areas and, if you are feeling energetic, there are various walking trails accessible from the bottom of the garden. There are various typical French resaurants serving a set lunch menu within easy reach though some are closed on Mondays.
There seem to be lovely châteaux around every corner and it makes an excellent Base for visits around the area on the quiet though twisty roads.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda o
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful relaxing retreat”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We sadly only had one week in this lovely gite. The owners, Gordon and Marie were excellent hosts and we could not fault their very warm customer service. The property is very clean and well equipped and very homely. Although private the owners are always on hand if needed but never intrusive. We visited some lovely places suggested by Gordon and Marie and were not disappointed. Beautiful setting if you want utter peace to relax and unwind. We were very sad to leave and only wished we had booked two weeks but we will definitely book again and would recommend to our family and friends. Thank you so much for making our holiday a great experience. Linda and Steve

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah5673...
Tonbridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellently equipped gite in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Helpful owners, on hand to give advice about the area if required. Comfortable well equipped gite. Plenty of outdoor areas to sit/eat, including hammocks! Set in own grounds with lots of wildlife. Peaceful location, but within an hour's drive of many interesting places to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tranquility
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welovegre...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful 2 weeks”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were late booking, and after lots of wasted googling, we were lucky to stumble upon a cancellation for the 2 weeks we wanted at Las Chaumas.
The situation of the cottage is beautiful, sitting above its own land, on a south facing slope, giving wonderful sunshine for a large part of the day. Weather was superb and we loved sitting in the garden, whether in the open, under the high quality gazebo tent, or under some of the trees in the grounds.
The owners, Gordon and his wife, couldn't have been more helpful. It was great to talk about the type of things we liked doing, and for Gordon to drop in the next day and suggest things locally to fit that, like an art day in one of the towns.
Gordon has landscaped some of the grounds, and it was good to have badminton ready set up for the family.
We enjoyed the area particularly as it had lovely places to visit but was not overly touristy or crowded. We noticed the difference when we drove outside the immediate area to do things like kayaking.
We felt it was great value for money, and would certainly go there again, if we return to the area with the family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation, the view and the owners
Liked least: Temporary difficulties with wifi through electrical storm
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destiny62
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Secluded Oasis in a Great Area”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed at this villa during a 'revisit' of the Dordoyne region after 5 years away. We had enjoyed Payzac previously but this had changed enormously due to the recession with many houses and businesses up for sale and empty. The villa was just outside of Payzac and situated on a sharp bend. It has its own drive way (loose gravel) and is found on descent of around 7 steep steps. Once on the gravel pathway there is a pool (came up the knees on an adult) and a lovely seating area for eating out. There are also deck chairs and pool lounges. The villa faces out onto a grassy area and woodland which is being landscaped by the owners. The villa has two good sized bedrooms, with comfy single beds and hanging space for clothes. The are on the second floor up a steep wooden stairway. Downstairs is the bathroom (shower), kitchen and main room with a good sized dining table. Some good home comforts are provided: hairdryer, sky tv, washing machine, fridge freezer and DVD player, WiFi is listed but we could not access this unless we were outside as this was not working properly. Adult reading books and information regarding the area is also available in the villa. The owners live on site and are available if needed. We had the advantage of excellent weather and sat outside a great deal and noticed a great array of wildlife, and clear skys at night were a bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seclusion; quietness; privacy; nature; comfort of villa; towels and toilet roll provided
Liked least: Steep driveway; steps down to villa; need to take own eco washing powder and bathroom cleaning resources as not provided
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2013 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jez P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An absolute gem of a find given the quality of the let & its location to the surrounding area”
Reviewed 20 November 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Being advertised as a ‘Gite’ doesn't by a very long way meet what this holiday letting provides.

Set well aside from the main farmhouse, with your own private driveway & entrance, you’re in your own secluded living space, in a well refurbished property, with its own access & uninterrupted outlook on acres of land. Its location is set in the north of the Dordogne close to many of the local french activities that probably haven't changed over countless years. I'm considering returning again sometime soon to return to a number of favorite haunts and to find many more that we simply did not have the time to find first time around...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easily the seclusion & privacy
Liked least: ... only staying a week
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing