We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is very basic”
Review of Scandic Lahti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Lahti
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lahti
GreenLeadersBronze level
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It is very basic”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

As a matter of fact, I like Scandic chain. Scandic hotels are usually nice, clean, proper and even not lacking some Nordic charm, although Scandic Lahti is basic, nothing else. It is clean and continently located very close to the railway station; you will find a gym and a swimming pool there; in the morning you will be served a nice breakfast, however you cannot help but admit that there is nothing "great", "exceptional" or "wonderful" about this inn. Just a normal place to stay one night.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elle_Ventrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    74
    85
    28
    11
See reviews for
41
69
17
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed in a junior suite with a sauna, which was quite nice. I enjoyed the extra space in the room, however the furniture is quite boring and uninspring. I liked the comfortable bed, but the two bathrooms in the suite were really old and should be replaced. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, especially at the reception. The hotel is opposite to the railway station, which is convenient. The breakfast was very good, and the restaurant staff was also courteous and attentive. The major negative was the hotel parking lot, since there were no free space left after 11 PM, I had to park in the Hesburger parking lot.

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the Hesburger restaurant, less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Me and my wife stayed at Scandic Lahti on the end May. Parkinglot was fairly big. Receptions welcome was friendly. Hotel isn´t so new so we didn´t know what to expect from the room. Size of the room was a bit small. Room was renowaited, but you can tell that is has been usend for while after that. Room was clean.

Breakfast buffet was big and there was everything for everyone but the output wasn´t as good as it could be.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jantsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The reception at the hotel was cordial. The room was renovated and clean but cold. The temperature was over 20 some time ago but had dropped to just above 10 and the hotel had shut down the heating. The room was cold. The reception did offer us another room, but that was also cold.

The stay was otherwise good. Breakfast was regular hotel breakfast, nothing special but ok.

Room Tip: Rooms to the east (inside courtyard) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
384 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Scandic Lahti is old not so high quality hotel. Location is almost in the center of the city. Bar is small and more or less a reception bar. Good for sleeping if you do not need anything special.
Breakfast was typical hotel breakfast. Nothing special. Nice staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eero N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lahti hotels

Siuntio, Finland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Well located hotell near railwaystation, but that’s all.
I got disappointed on the hotel, maybe I had wrong expectations. It was cheap so maybe I have to compare on that but…
Room was not so well cleaned, was hot and only ventilation could be found in bathroom.
The wastepaper basket was not empty during “clean up”, neither from the room or bathroom.
The mini bar was missing stuff and although I pointed that out in reception nothing was changed the next day.
Parking was charged but not so expensive, had to be paid in an automat, would be better if you could get that too on the room bill.
Restaurant opened first at 18:00.
I guess you can’t success with the hotel choice every time :)

Room Tip: No air-conditions so room on the sunny side will be very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BI54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
197 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

From first appearances I was a bit concerned and I did not have any high expectations for the room. That being said, I was most pleasantly surprised by the room, very clean and modern, and functional in the Nordic style. My wife an I were on a business trip so this proved to be just what we needed.The lobby is small and the rugs in hallways are a bit dated, but this hotel does get heavy use being conveniently across from the railway station. For North Americans visitors weather you ask for 2 single beds of a double you will get 2 single beds that you can push together (or are pushed together upon your arrival) - this is typical for Scandinavian hotels of this vintage - otherwise the beds are very comfortable. If you are taking the train there is a bit of a walk over to the hotel from the station and there is a underpass walkway to get to the hotel - not sure when there is a lot of snow how this would be, but the taxi should get you there for a few euros. If you are driving there is parking to the back and underneath the hotel - there is an automate for the parking ticket up by the lobby entrance. You will need to slide a credit card through the machine (this may take a couple tries) then will be issued a ticket to put on the dashboard of the car, when you leave after checkout you will slide your credit card again and it will charge you at that time - I think it is 4 euros for the night. There is a restaurant on the second floor, we only had breakfast (which is included with the room) and was a very good one - nothing fancy but everything for the typical northern European breakfast, including items to please both the British and North American appetites - they had a nice selection of breads - everything was fresh and plentiful (also note that the time we stayed there it was fully booked so the breakfast was well managed, very clean, with excellent service to keep the tables cleaned, as well as, the staff was most accommodating.
In general the staff was most accommodating, providing information on the city and calling taxis for us as needed. Thus, overall we were very pleased with the hotel, staff, services, and location and would recommend it, especially for business and one or two night stays.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahti
0.4 mi away
Cumulus Lahti
Cumulus Lahti
#3 of 6 in Lahti
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Lahti Seurahuone
0.4 mi away
Kauppahotelli Grand
Kauppahotelli Grand
#5 of 6 in Lahti
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Scandic Vierumaki
Scandic Vierumaki
#1 of 2 in Vierumaki
264 reviews
17.1 mi away
Jokelan Kartano
Jokelan Kartano
#1 of 1 in Hameenkoski
11 reviews
19.7 mi away
Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli
Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli
#1 of 1 in Heinola
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Lahti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Lahti

Property: Scandic Lahti
Address: Vesijaervenkatu 1, Lahti 15100, Finland
Region: Finland > Tavastia Proper > Lahti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lahti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Lahti 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Lahti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing