We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy, dirty, old.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Musta Kissa

Hotel Musta Kissa
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Musta Kissa
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lahti
Utrecht
Level Contributor
285 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Noisy, dirty, old.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

Apart from the location near the centre of the city, there is no reason to go here. Run down rooms, small worn bed and noisy environment. We left after one night and went to the Scandic.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geerlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    5
    4
    7
See reviews for
4
4
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

I was in Lahti for a fortnight and spent 13 nights in the hotel. Lahti is a nice provincial town until about 9pm, when it quickly becomes one of Southern Finland's "get off your head" capitals. The numerous clubs, pubs and bars all close to the Musta Kissa are dreadfully noisy until about 4am, when the street sweepers and cleaners take over. Even with the double-glazed windows closed, and on the 6th (top) floor, the noise was enough to make sleep difficult. There is no airconditioning in the rooms.

The hotel is a characterless accommodation hotel, with no public rooms except the breakfast area. Breakfast is adequate and varied, but doesn't redeem the other features (or total lack of them). Decor is very "70s". If I was going again, I'd stay on the outskirts of town and avoid the Musta Kissa.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeePeeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lahti hotels

ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

We stayed there and to be quite honest it was a complete dump ...The lifts are dangerous and tiny...The rooms are shabby and the table had graffitti all over it ...It was depressing to say the least ..There was a little kitchen unit with a sink and a fridge but no kettle or cooker ???Staff were ok but would never return..Badly needs to be decorated and moderised

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassie123ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kangasala, Finland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2008

We've stayed at the hotel for 3 summers now. We go to Lahti for my son's soccergames. We always get the familyroom which has room nicely for all of us. Staff is very friendly and helpful, but the hotel is old and in need of a makeover. Food at the restaurant is very good, if again you don't mind the surroundings. The hotel is in downtown Lahti so the noise on weekends is terrible. It also has a nightclub downstairs which doesn't make it a family place, but if you need the a place to sleep it's okay.

I'll post some pictures soon, as I find them.. Have some from the rooms..

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maippi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahti hotels
0.2 mi away
Cumulus Lahti
Cumulus Lahti
#3 of 6 in Lahti
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Lahti Seurahuone
0.3 mi away
Kauppahotelli Grand
Kauppahotelli Grand
#5 of 6 in Lahti
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scandic Lahti
Scandic Lahti
#2 of 6 in Lahti
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Matkakoti Patria Hotel
0.5 mi away
Guesthouse Little Tundra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Musta Kissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Musta Kissa

Property: Hotel Musta Kissa
Address: Rautatienkatu 21, Lahti 15110, Finland
Region: Finland > Tavastia Proper > Lahti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lahti
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Musta Kissa 3*
Number of rooms: 71

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing