We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient, helpful staff and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Jyvaskyla
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very convenient, helpful staff and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is right opposite the railway station in this student town in the Lakes area of Finland. The rooms are quite big, no coffee making facilities, but good wifi (get a ticket from the reception). The restuarant was excellent, some really very good food indeed, imaginative use of local produce served up very well.The pub, with a very good range of beers, also does decent pub grub, served up by very helpful staff. A very good base for exploring the town and local countryside.

Room Tip: Avoid ones overlooking the station!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    86
    67
    11
    3
See reviews for
27
49
17
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Järvenpää
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Located next to railway and bus stations but also having shopping centers close by hotel Alexandra is an easy spot to stay a day or two. The hotel had a nice children playroom and spacious restaurant, where the breakfast was served. The buffet type breakfast was ok too. The staff were friendly and helpful enough. The hotel didn't have free parking, but had a small parking space with easy access from the hotel. All in all this hotel is a very good choice for a place to stay in the center of the city of Jyväskylä.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is convenient to the railway station, shopping, conference center, and tourist attractions--accessible within an easy walk of under 20 minutes or less. For longer excursions, the hotel has bikes to lend. My spouse and I had an economy room--all that was available on a last-minute notice. But for "economy," the room exceeded our expectations-fairly roomy with two beds, minibar, desk, plenty of closet space, and bathroom with a shower and heated towel rack. The staff were professional, helpful, and courteous. The breakfast included a wide range of Finnish, continental, and American foods. The restaurant offered a good selection of menu items and the food was fresh. I would stay here again when in Jyväskylä.

Room Tip: If you want more space and a modern decor, ask for a standard room. The economy rooms are a bit olde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahti
Level Contributor
187 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Hotel is close to the railway and busstation and if you enjoy shopping it has really a good location. There is sauna and jacuzzi. Because it is quite a big hotel was the breakfastroom quite oocupied. But anyhow a nice experience - you get what you expected.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Päivi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Clean and comfortable hotel with great location - the railway station is just across the street and everything else is very near as well. The service was excellent and I enjoyed the breakfast. The interior design was a bit dated though the room had a bit more fresher look than the corridor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lumme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Nice place to stay night or a two in jkl. But nothing extra soecial. Beds are extreamly good! I loved em. Rooms were bit dead out of many visitors. Service in the hotel was 5 stars very nice peapol with alots of smile! Thete are bikes for free for the hotel guests.goid ac. Good food.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wortegem-Petegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Despite Jyväskylä being a charming, nice and beautiful place ... I cannot really say the same for this hotel. Old fashioned, small rooms (slept on 3rd floor) with no airconditioning. Arrived last Monday when 30°C and temperature close to 40°C in the rooms.
Service and breakfast is OK, but when comparing to the new SOKOS Pavilionki across the railway bridge (10 min), I would more recommend that one ... it's brand new and better. Again, location and service is OK, but for the price you pay (215 € per night) not worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V_Dupont_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHJKL, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear V_Dupont_BE,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear that you did not feel comfortable with your room. It is true that some of our rooms do not have individual cooling system and the decor may seem old fashioned. However, keeping that in mind, we try to ensure the cleanliness of the rooms and premises to our best ability. We do have rooms in several different categories, and some of which have individual cooling as well as more modern style.

It is great to hear that you still enjoyed our breakfast and the service in general. We are really trying to push the service level to its limits and it is rewarding to hear that it has been appreciated.

On behalf of myself and our staff I want to apologise to you for not quite living up to your expectations and thank you once more for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Hannu Nirkkonen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jyvaskyla hotels
0.2 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Paviljonki
0.3 mi away
Scandic Jyvaskyla
Scandic Jyvaskyla
#2 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotelli Verso
Hotelli Verso
#3 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cumulus Jyvaskyla Hotel
Cumulus Jyvaskyla Hotel
#6 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rantasipi Laajavuori
Rantasipi Laajavuori
#4 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotelli Milton
Hotelli Milton
#8 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra
Address: Hannikaisenkatu 35, Jyvaskyla 40100, Finland
Region: Finland > Central Finland > Jyvaskyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Jyvaskyla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-story Hotel centrally located in the downtown area; opposite the railway station; 21 km from Jyvaskyla JYV Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Jyväskylä

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing