We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would come back again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cumulus Jyvaskyla Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Jyvaskyla
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The location is perfect, not the kind of situation when it's written "5 minutes walk to the city centre" and actually you have to walk half an hour. The main shopping street is around the corner. But in a small city like Jyvaskyla almost every hotel is central. The railway station and the bus stop is also almost outside the hotel.
My single room was spacious, with a huge and comfortable bed, a small coffee table, big desk and a rather strange but very comfortable armchair. I also found a nicely packed extra pillow and extra towels in the wardrobe. The bathroom is small, but clean (not spotless, but acceptable). The furniture is a bit old fashioned and used up, but everything's functioning.
If you keep the window open at night, it is rather noisy, but close it and the problem is solved. I didn't hear any noises from the other rooms as well. So the sleep quality is really good.
The breakfast is great - quitea lot of choices, even some traditional Finnish food. You have to go through the tunnel to the breakfast area if you're staying in the reception building, but that's no problem.
The staff at the reception are welcoming, speak good English and are ready to help whenever asked.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liggy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Fairly good hotel. I paid 185€ for two rooms. Return on money was good. It is not a fancy hotel, but does the job. For me cleanliness is one of the most important elements. Both rooms were clean. However all furniture were bit worn out. Good choise.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Kimmo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed one night on trip to Helsinki. It was easy walking distance to the central area. Hotel had parking and an underground access between the two buildings. Staff were friendly and breakfast was fine

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tturtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

We used this hotel to discover central Jyväskylä. It is very conveniently located and has everything you need at an average level. Rooms are somewhat used up but the price seems to take this into account. Check the various Hotel Websites, this one seems to have very different pricings. All in all a good place!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TheDoubleWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Did not like hotel at all. Not clean, bed and pillows terrible. Won't go again. Bathroom smells really bad. First and last time for me. Only positive thing is central location and pretty positive staff in restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jukka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Long week end visiting our daughter who is studying in Jyvaskyla for a year. The location is perfect, close enough to wheel our cases from the train station but far enough away not to be bothered by train noise.
Rooms are functional and clean with a wet room type bathroom. Beds comfy but pillows a bit smaller than we are used to! Used 2 so not a problem.
Breakfast was excellent. Something for everyone to set you up for the day.
Staff were attentive and polite. Front desk were slick and professional but more than happy to engage in conversation. As
ever, English was spoken everywhere.
Loved the underground tunnel which connects the two buildings which make up the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This hotel locates very close to the railway station. The hotel is quite pricey. Buffet lunch is served only for groups. It includes only water and taste of food is only acceptable. The rooms are very simple. I do not recommend to eat lunch in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riku V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jyvaskyla
0.2 mi away
Scandic Jyvaskyla
Scandic Jyvaskyla
#2 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
460 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rantasipi Laajavuori
Rantasipi Laajavuori
#5 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotelli Verso
Hotelli Verso
#3 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Finlandia Hotel Alba
Finlandia Hotel Alba
#6 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
116 reviews
14 mi away
Peurunka
Peurunka
#1 of 1 in Laukaa
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumulus Jyvaskyla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Jyvaskyla Hotel

Address: Vaeinoenkatu 3, Jyvaskyla 40100, Finland
Region: Finland > Central Finland > Jyvaskyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Jyvaskyla
Price Range: £80 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cumulus Jyvaskyla Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with newer annex (1983) located 500 meters from train station & 20 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cumulus Jyvaskyla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing