We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Finlandia Hotel Alba
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Jyvaskyla
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times during my visits to the University. The view from my room (114) was beautiful (see photo). The rooms are small, but comfortable and very clean. The restaurant food, both buffet breakfast and dinner (see photo) were very good. While the hotel is a bit far from the center of the city, it is very convenient for the University visitors.

Room Tip: Choose the lake facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Busyalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommi S, Sales representative at Finlandia Hotel Alba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Greetings Busyalways,

Thank you for your kind words. It gives us joy that travellers like you, who has multiple visits to Hotel Alba, find our services and surroundings suitable for them. And it's true, we are a bit away from the city centre, but infact still with city centre postal code: 40100 =)

We hope to see you soon again,

With best regards,

Tommi Sievinen
HOTELLI ALBA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a 3-star Hotel. Rooms are quite small and with a low budget look. In fact they are tidy, practical and comfortable enough, but for this price range I would expect something more. No safe, no coffee-tea maker, only one (working) chair, small beds. Soundproofing was average to good.

Check-in and checkout were fast, efficient and friendly. The breakfast was OK.

The Hotel is located near the lake and the Agora Conference Center, around 20 minutes walking from the city center (a nice walk, anyway). If you are driving this is not an issue (parking is free, BTW) but otherwise take it into account. Anyway, I did prefer to stay at this Hotel, with nice views to the lake, than at the less interesting city center.

The restaurant Hotel was above average, with good food and very reasonable prices (for Finland standards). A nice surprise!

Internet is paid (3 Euro per day) and of good quality.

Overall this was a nice stay, mainly due to nice views and the nice restaurant, but considering the smallish rooms I cannot rate it higher.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john2008a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommi S, sales representative at Finlandia Hotel Alba, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Hi john2008a,
Thank your for your review, I got the impression that you enjoyed your stay and perhaps we'll meet again. I'll have to say: this review was helpful =) the rooms are quite compact but for travellers who enjoy "more room", we recommend the JrSuites... they are quite nice.
Thanks again!

With best regards,

Tommi Sievinen
HOTELLI ALBA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The hotel is OK, but for the quality of the service and the rooms, you would expect a lower price. The location of the hotel is good (directly at the lake) and it has a nice terrace. It is also convenient if you have to work at the university. If you want to spend much time in the city, the location is not so impractical (a bit outside the city, 25 minutes walking).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Enjoyed a three-night stay at the Alba Hotel recently on business at the adjacent University of Jyvaskyla. The hotel is convenient to the lower campus of the university on either side of the lake, although it's a bit of a walk and climb to the upper campus. It's also a bit of a walk to the city center, around 20 minutes or so. You will probably need a taxi to take luggage to the hotel, particularly in winter with snow, ice, and gravel on the sidewalks. We were fine with the hotel breakfast included in our rate, with an assortment of meats, a pretty horrible vegetable omelette, lots of breads for toast, lots of cereal with fixings, hard boiled eggs, etc. The hotel room wasn't bad. Sort of reminded me of a dormitory, which was fitting for the university campus setting I guess. The bed was a simple platform with 2 inch mattress pad, although reasonably comfortable. A sheet would have been preferable to the single heavy comforter, as the room tended to get hot at night with no ability to change the temperature up or down other than to open the window. The setting of the hotel is its best asset, right on the lake. Had a great view from my room. Certainly better than downtown for some serenity. The rooms came with a teeny tiny television, maybe 20", but at least it had one. We received free Internet codes with our rate, so that was good. We enjoyed the hotel "bar" at night, which was essentially a refrigerator next to the breakfast area, but whatever. It was okay. The hotel advertised a sauna which we did not use, but it seemed to have limited hours (1 hour for women and 2 hours for men). Perhaps that's normal in Finland, I don't know? The hotel staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful at all times. Very nice people. The front door to the hotel could use a little sand or salt to get rid of the ice. I know that's not green-friendly in Finland, but if an exception can be had, surely it's where folks are hopping in and out of taxis with luggage and flat bottom shoes. Overall, very nice hotel. Would have no problem visiting again.

Room Tip: Lake-facing rooms are the only way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommi S, Sales representative at Finlandia Hotel Alba, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear kevboom,
Thank you for your accurate and yet amusing review about us, and special thanks for the photos too; the view is now even more spectacular during summer.
I found your description so true that parts of it could be used in our web site as they are, but we'll see =)
Thanks for pointing out the things like tv, icy front and "pretty horrible omelet" =) etc. I'm sure we can do a better job on those too.

We got the impression that in the end you and your colleagues visit was comfortable and we hope see you again some day,

With best regards

Tommi Sievinen
HOTELLI ALBA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stayed there for one week, the breakfast was very nice, room was lake view. However, it was not very comfortable bed, two tiny small bed and tiny bathroom. There is no water machine to warm up some water!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank you c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommi S, Sales representative at Finlandia Hotel Alba, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear you c,
Thank you for your compact review on us.
I have good news, the new beds are quite comfortable and for more space in bathroom, we recommend the JrSuite, wich has a larger bathroom and even private sauna.
We are happy you liked the breakfast and about kettles in the room, maybe that's something to concider. Thank you for the tip. Meantime, hot water is available at the lobby bar.

Hopefully, we see you again,

With best regards,

Tommi Sievinen
HOTELLI ALBA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I have accommodated several times in this hotel and attended meetings often in this hotel. It is close a beautiful lake. It is possible to swim in the lake from sauna of the hotel. I have not tested that possibility. Rooms are simple. The leg of my bed collapsed one time some years ago and I agree that beds and other things in rooms are pretty old. Still, generally rooms are normal condition. Breakfast and lunch are tasty and selection of foods is good. Location is not in the centre and it is around one kilometre to the centre from the hotel.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
Thank Riku V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommi S, Sales representative at Finlandia Hotel Alba, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Hi Riku V,

Thanks for your kind words and your visits here at Hotelli Alba.
I'm sorry to here about your collapsing bed, it's true, it sometimes happen.

Good news: Since winter 2012 we started another round of renovation in our standard rooms and with new paint coat and hanging cupboards we also received new, comfortable beds too. The manufacturer ensured that these will last another ten years, but only time will tell if he is true to his words.. =)

I hope we see you again in the new future,

With best regards,
Tommi Sievinen
HOTELLI ALBA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Hotel is on lake in Jyvaskyla University campus. Good location if you have business in university, about 20-25 mins on foot to city center.

Rooms are small, very simple in decoration and furniture with clean bathrooms, quiet. Sleep was very comfortable. Paid wi-fi.

View to the lake is very nice.

Continental breakfast was good, food in restaurant on the evening was quite good too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banditaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommi S, Sales representative at Finlandia Hotel Alba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear banditaz,

Thank you for your kind review about us, we are happy that you liked your stay.
You are right, if you stayed in an economy room, they are quite compact in size.

However, we also have standard, superior rooms and even 10 JrSuites too, where you enjoy your own private sauna.

We hope to see you again in the new future,

With best regards,

Tommi Sievinen
HOTELLI ALBA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jyvaskyla hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotelli Verso
Hotelli Verso
#3 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
65 reviews
0.9 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra
0.9 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Paviljonki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Scandic Jyvaskyla
Scandic Jyvaskyla
#2 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
432 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotelli Milton
Hotelli Milton
#8 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
49 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cumulus Jyvaskyla Hotel
Cumulus Jyvaskyla Hotel
#7 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlandia Hotel Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlandia Hotel Alba

Address: Ahlmaninkatu 4, Jyvaskyla 40100, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Central Finland > Jyvaskyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Jyvaskyla
Price Range: £92 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Finlandia Hotel Alba 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Finlandia Hotel Alba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing