We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic hotel with good service and beautiful view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finlandia Hotel Alba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Finlandia Hotel Alba
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Jyvaskyla
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Basic hotel with good service and beautiful view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Nice hotel, very basic rooms but also very clean. One exception. The windows in the rooms could be clean and the curtains off - why not let the customers enjoy the beautiful view to the lake. All the meals pretty okay including also some specialities, wine selection basic.

Room Tip: Ask the room from the lakeside and second floor. In first floor the roof disturbed the view a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommi S, Sales representavive at Finlandia Hotel Alba, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Hi Minna V,

Thank you for your review,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially the view and service.

About curtains, better keep them on =) As in many reviews, our simple, Nordic deco is more cosier with see through curtains which can be pushed aside. But the view is great isn't it!

The windows ( some 350 screens ) are cleaned as often as possible and as you noticed, sometimes that's not enough. The winds and the great amount of beautiful birdlife of Lake Jyväsjärvi, sometimes brings us variable challenges to cope with...

Thanks again for pointing out your views and we hope to see you soon again,

With best regards,
Tommi Sievinen
HOTELLI ALBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    42
    36
    7
    1
See reviews for
7
14
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Whatever you do, ask for a room overlooking the water. It's a basic but perfectly acceptable hotel, perfect location for work or meetings at the University. Clean but small rooms and the single beds are very narrow! Good buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommi S, Sales Representative at Finlandia Hotel Alba, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Hi Tim R,
Thank you for your review.
We are happy that you stayed with us and your visit was comfortable. Next time, we recommend the JrSuite rooms, they have wider beds, own sauna and of course the lake view.

As you did, good thing to point out is how really close we are to the Jyväskylä Uni, at the Mattilanniemi Campus, which I think is one of the most beautiful spots in Jyväskylä.

And of course the Alvar Aalto museum is only 500m away. Those who wish to visit Aalto's museum, check Tim R's rewiev too: http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/ShowUserReviews-g189942-d2326997-r175709399-The_Alvar_Aalto_Museum-Jyvaskyla_Western_Finland.html#UR175709399

Thanks again and we hope we'll see you again soon!

With best regards,
Tommi Sievinen
HOTELLI ALBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This, I would say, is the ultimate hotel to stay if you have some duties to perform in the nearby University, however if you would like to get to know the center more closely it might be a good idea to choose some property which is more central. The location of the hotel is very good, having an excellent view to the lake and very calm surroundings to have a decent sleep. Would I stay here again – "why not?"

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommi S, Sales representative at Finlandia Hotel Alba, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Hi K H,
Thank You for your review. I think we can shorten the distance to city....
Perhaps couple of bikes for hire do that?

Thank you again for visiting us and we hope to see you soon again,

With best regards,

Tommi Sievinen
Hotelli Alba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel is situated near the University a bit far away form the city center and the railway station but easy to get there. It was my second visit here and for the first time I had a room with a window looking at the lake, the bridge and the forest. The view is really nice. The room is not big but with sufficient space: there is a table with TV, a guardrobe and a small bathroom. The room is clean and comfortable. The breakfast is served down stair in the bar / resturant and is complete of both continental and English choices + some Finnish delicatessen. There is a sauna at the groundfloor available for men and women separately, in different hours at the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgorla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommi S, sales representative at Finlandia Hotel Alba, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hi Sgorla,
Thank you for your review,
You visited us when Jyväskylä summer is as it's best,
Sunshine, fresh breeze from the Lake Jyväsjärvi and of course; occasional showers!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again... next year perhaps?

With best regards,

Tommi Sievinen
HOTELLI ALBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times during my visits to the University. The view from my room (114) was beautiful (see photo). The rooms are small, but comfortable and very clean. The restaurant food, both buffet breakfast and dinner (see photo) were very good. While the hotel is a bit far from the center of the city, it is very convenient for the University visitors.

Room Tip: Choose the lake facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busyalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommi S, Sales representative at Finlandia Hotel Alba, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Greetings Busyalways,

Thank you for your kind words. It gives us joy that travellers like you, who has multiple visits to Hotel Alba, find our services and surroundings suitable for them. And it's true, we are a bit away from the city centre, but infact still with city centre postal code: 40100 =)

We hope to see you soon again,

With best regards,

Tommi Sievinen
HOTELLI ALBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vigo
Level Contributor
141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a 3-star Hotel. Rooms are quite small and with a low budget look. In fact they are tidy, practical and comfortable enough, but for this price range I would expect something more. No safe, no coffee-tea maker, only one (working) chair, small beds. Soundproofing was average to good.

Check-in and checkout were fast, efficient and friendly. The breakfast was OK.

The Hotel is located near the lake and the Agora Conference Center, around 20 minutes walking from the city center (a nice walk, anyway). If you are driving this is not an issue (parking is free, BTW) but otherwise take it into account. Anyway, I did prefer to stay at this Hotel, with nice views to the lake, than at the less interesting city center.

The restaurant Hotel was above average, with good food and very reasonable prices (for Finland standards). A nice surprise!

Internet is paid (3 Euro per day) and of good quality.

Overall this was a nice stay, mainly due to nice views and the nice restaurant, but considering the smallish rooms I cannot rate it higher.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john2008a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommi S, sales representative at Finlandia Hotel Alba, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Hi john2008a,
Thank your for your review, I got the impression that you enjoyed your stay and perhaps we'll meet again. I'll have to say: this review was helpful =) the rooms are quite compact but for travellers who enjoy "more room", we recommend the JrSuites... they are quite nice.
Thanks again!

With best regards,

Tommi Sievinen
HOTELLI ALBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

The hotel is OK, but for the quality of the service and the rooms, you would expect a lower price. The location of the hotel is good (directly at the lake) and it has a nice terrace. It is also convenient if you have to work at the university. If you want to spend much time in the city, the location is not so impractical (a bit outside the city, 25 minutes walking).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jyvaskyla hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jyvaskyla hotels
0.9 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Paviljonki
1.2 mi away
Scandic Jyvaskyla
Scandic Jyvaskyla
#2 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cumulus Jyvaskyla Hotel
Cumulus Jyvaskyla Hotel
#7 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rantasipi Laajavuori
Rantasipi Laajavuori
#4 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotelli Milton
Hotelli Milton
#8 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlandia Hotel Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlandia Hotel Alba

Property: Finlandia Hotel Alba
Address: Ahlmaninkatu 4, Jyvaskyla 40100, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Central Finland > Jyvaskyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Jyvaskyla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Finlandia Hotel Alba 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Finlandia Hotel Alba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing