We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Untidy place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Airisto Strand
Ranked #3 of 5 Parainen B&B and Inns
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Untidy place”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We tried to eat lunch at the hotels restaurant, but the menu was very limited and overall look was untidy and threadbare. We didn´t wan´t to stay there.
Please Hotel Airisto Stand: clean up sites, change table covers they were really dirty, and take useless junk in the trash. Change your menus and fill in there some snacks, salads, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank M2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Airisto Strand should be renovated. We did have a room there but visited the restaurant and rented a boat.

The restaurant smelled of old grease up to the terrace outside. I refused to go and eat there becuse of the smell. The place looks a bit like it's not been cleaned properly in the recent years. The reception does not really exist. Instead the bar is used as a substitute which seemed to work quite okay. There's WiFi, ask the staff for the pass.

We succeeded in renting a small motorboat (one of the 2 canoes was broken so we didn't do that) for 30€/h+gas. Speaking english was a minor problem in the process. All was well until we came back and the marina staff wasn't exactly interested in helping us with filling up the boat's gas tank. We managed but the main thing here is that they were unhelpful and we could have messed things up.

I'd say the area and the hotel are pretty and shabby at the same time. They should be thoroughly renovated, not just barely managed.

Airisto was once a great place and could be that again if it was properly taken care of.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naantali, Finland
Level Contributor
1,131 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This time I'm telling only about their restaurant, because our lunch there was absolute nightmare!
I'm not exaggerating a bit, when I say that it was most horrible restaurant experience ever. There were 6 of us (three couples) and everything from start to end went bad and not only for us, every table around us were cursing, shouting, and wanting their money back. There were only 2 young girls serving and I guess it was their first day, because they didn't know anything and main chef(?) was even more bad. Table next to us ordered jug of water and white wine, after 45mins and 4(=FOUR) different requests they got two white wine, but not that water. Their food came before drinks and when they tried to get the bill, waitress said that their table/bill wasn't on their system, so they have to wait again to get that sorted out. We got our drinks 25mins after order. Our 6 different main courses came in 4 different time. So one was eating and 5 watching and so on and so on. Last main course came when everybody else was already finished. Food was absolutely terrible, like convenience food from microwave and still main courses were even 25-30€! When we left, we decided to put everything on a same bill, because otherwise it would've take ages to get it right. And what was the result? They didn't even get that one bill right! Absolutely horrific restaurant, which still hangs on because of it's great location in Airisto Marina.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Halkidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Parainen hotels

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed one night (2 adults, 2 small kids). The hotel was perfect for our trip since our boat was at Airisto. Otherwise the hotel is off the beaten track, some 7 km from nearest main road and 14 km from shops (at Parainen).
The room was quite small. There was air-con, but no remote controller. We needed staff to help turn it on and off, which was a little funny. Bathroom was clean & modern, but small. Breakfast was not wide in selection, but ingredients were of good quality.
Some negative points
- staff seemed inexperienced, especially when dining in the restaurant (needed to remind about orders)
- each room should have remote controller for heating / air-con

The room was not pricey (especially when 4 people lodging in one room :-) but hotel could do a little face lift.

Room Tip: Our room (#4) was facing north and that helped with the heat. Rooms on the south side may be too hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Hotel need total renovation, inside room you have to keep window open... Because the smell from wc/shower room. Also the beds were totally too soft. Terrace is nice, but also need renovation. Food: it's was ok, but some from the short menu list was not available and the prices of wine list were totally high vs. quality. And what was good: Breakfast.. Friendly staff... and views. This place are famous from 1930- . But old times never came back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JariOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Airisto Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Airisto Strand

Property: Hotel Airisto Strand
Address: Airistontie 700, Parainen 21600, Finland
Region: Finland > Southwest Finland > Parainen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Parainen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Airisto Strand 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel business in south west archipelago in Finland. Open summer times, nature trips and lots of different kind of activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Airisto Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Airisto Strand Finland/Parainen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing