We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely amazing! Can't wait to return!”

Review of Llandrinio Hall

Llandrinio Hall - the oldest extant brick-built property in Montgomeryshire (1682)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Llandrinio Hall - the oldest extant brick-built property in Montgomeryshire (1682)
Middle Lounge, a very relaxing environment, with sound system, piano and log-burning fire Middle lounge looking east, warm, spacious and comfortable, with antique Steinway baby grand piano
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Llandrinio Hall - the oldest extant brick-built property in Montgomeryshire (1682)
Middle Lounge, a very relaxing environment, with sound system, piano and log-burning fire
Middle lounge looking east, warm, spacious and comfortable, with antique Steinway baby grand piano
Cinema Room, with Bose surround sound and 300+ DVDs/Blu-ray (your host is a movie producer)
Billiard Room, with antique, full-size Snooker Table, dating from 1907, and open fireplace.
South-facing light, airy kitchen is the heart of the home and seats 12, or 16 with table extension.
Kitchen table seats 12 comfortably, but looks smaller in picture, oddly! Extension can be added.
The kitchen offers plenty of Food Preparation Space and every conceivable modern convenience
Bedroom, one of 8 (6x doubles and 2x twins)
Master Bedroom with Emperor-sized (7'x7') four-poster.
Bedroom, one of 8 (6x doubles and 2x twins)
Bedroom, one of 8 (6x doubles and 2x twins)
Bedroom, one of 8 (6x doubles and 2x twins)
Bedroom, one of 8 (6x doubles and 2x twins)
Bathroom No 1, with bath and overhead shower
Walk-In Power Shower Room/Wet Room (a great way to wake up!)
East Staircase, dating from 1682, the Hall having been owned by Prime Minister Robert Peel's family.
Table Tennis In The Conservatory, or outside (all-weather surface)
Long Tree-Lined Driveway - In Summer
Long Tree-Lined Driveway in Winter
Llandrinio Hall - formal garden rear elevation
Rear Garden and view to Breidden Hills
Rear Garden, in Winter, looking south
Giant outdoor chess, within secluded 'walled' garden.
Aerial View of the Hall
Your Hosts, the Willis Family, who now live in Bath, as featured in The Sunday Telegraph
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Llandrinio, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
amie3048
shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing! Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 15 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had the most amazing time at Llandrinio Hall, from our arrival after being met by Sue and her husband to our departure we just spent our entire time laughing together!

As I was the one to organise the weekends’ events I was slightly apprehensive and just hoped that everything lived up to my expectations, however to say I wasn’t disappointed in any way is an understatement!
What a house, we instantly felt very much at home and were delighted to read that the Bickley family ran it as a guest house in the 1930’s, perhaps this was the reason we felt so comfortable, we’d been there before!
14 of us stayed on the Friday night and we enjoyed playing ‘parlour’ games in the living room in front of a roaring fire whilst the children entertained themselves with snooker and table tennis.
On Saturday morning we played in the garden between rain showers and on Saturday afternoon we were joined by several of Mum and Dads closest friends for my Mums’ 70th and a glamorous afternoon tea turned into a bit of a party! My Dad is a jazz musician so the piano was played and we had balloons, singing, dancing and even a cardboard cutout of David Beckham joined in the fun! (On the attached photos Mum is pictured on his right, I am the singer in the middle of the 3 of us with the microphone)!
Everyone was blown away by the venue and how welcoming it was for such a large house. The 2 other friends that stayed over on the Saturday evening also enjoyed their room.

The kitchen was very well equipped, the downstairs rooms all very comfortable, the choice of games and things to do was extensive, the bedrooms large but warm, the bathrooms were great and don’t get me started on the shower! We all loved the interlinked sound system and although I was accused of being the noisiest shower taker due to my rendition of a Beatles classic I could have stayed in there for the entire back catalogue!

We have stayed in many holiday properties but this has to be one of my favourites due to the ‘home from home’ feel it has to it. I could go on with the praise but just be assured that we would love to rebook this or one of your other properties in the future.
You have been great to deal with, so helpful and friendly and Sue and her husband were both very nice too.

Many thanks for giving us the opportunity to stay in your wonderful home and I look forward to receiving the details about the Welsh riverside retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homley feel to the house
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Break In a Lovely Place”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from a lovely weekend away for my mates 40th birthday, there was 12 adults sharing the Llandrinio Hall. I was there for 2 nights from Friday-Sunday. The hall does have a big wet room but when we was there it wasnt working due to the batteries in the hand set in the wet room not being charged, if you take the batteries out and re-charge them using the re-charger you can find in the kitchen by the fridge. We went for a lovely meal on the Saturday to the punch bowl which is less than 5 min walk to the left of the hall, the food was great and very cheap as you can get a 3 course meal for less than £20 and the drinks are very cheap as well. Overall great weekend and would recommend it to anyone.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrKovolyo...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“A stunning period property which takes your breath away”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We’ve just returned from a fabulous long weekend with family and friends at Llandrinio Hall. Elegant and grand with a welcoming atmosphere, the hall is a simply stunning child friendly property providing a huge range of facilities and activities for all ages. Monumental bedrooms, comfortable receptions, a dedicated shower room (which felt more like a trip to the beach), giant kitchen, cinema room, table tennis room and snooker room with a full sized table – it’s not your everyday living experience. And outside is pretty special too! An absolutely beautiful garden with stunning views everywhere you look. Loved it, loved it, loved it. Will most definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner has created a very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlfieNoak...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing for both adults and kids”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This place has it all - plenty of space, entertainment throughout (snooker and table tennis for adults and toys / trampoline for kids). The rooms are enormous, the kitchen well equipped with a fantastic view over the beautiful garden.
Also, if you're musical, there are two pianos (one grand).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Snooker table
Liked least: Long drive!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sazzle359
Bolton
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Everything we wanted & more!”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at Llandrinio Hall with a group of 14 friends to celebrate my 30th birthday & it was everything we were looking for & more! After great communications with the owner I was very much looking forward to staying, and it did not disappoint!
We were greeted by a very friendly couple who showed us around the place. The bedrooms are huge so was plenty of space for everyone.
We tend to spend most of our time gathered in the kitchen, so a large space was essential. This came fully equipped and room for everyone to eat together. The garden was stunning & luckily for us, we had the weather so spent most of the time outdoors listening to music, playing table tennis & enjoying the sunshine.
Everyone was impressed with the wet room and loved having speakers in every room. Music was playing from the start of our stay to the very end & was only switched off when we watched a film in the cinema room, which was complete with surround sound.
I will most definitely be returning to Llandrinio Hall at some point & would recommend to anyone wanting to celebrate a special occasion with friends & family. It was perfect!
Thanks for having us! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The speakers in the wet room! Ha!
Liked least: The stuffed animals that were dotted around the place. We found them a bit creepy!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry O
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful house - perfect for large group / family”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We gathered to celebrate my mum's 90th birthday - this was the perfect place for a large group to gather from very young to 90! Fabulously equipped, beautifully sited. Lots to do indoors if there was a rainy day - and there wasn't. Lovely big garden to spread out in. Highly recommended. Not cheap by any means but I felt it was well worth it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beesoviki...
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wow....what a house”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

i booked this property to celebrate my 50th birthday, wanted something big spacious and stunning to invite family and friends.

The outside says it all grand, big and special.

Met by a couple who show you the ropes etc very friendly, show you around the house and I will say there is a lot of it.

It's massive... Plenty of space for everyone ... We took a drum kit, amps, guitars..and there was plenty of space for all not to be tripping over each other.


Had the log burner warming us in a cold night, solan for this in the colder months.

Bedrooms are massive and something special
Great big kitchen for group eating
Everything you need

Two staircases to the upper floors

I really would recommend this house for that special occasion.

Ok it's not cheap to hire, the heating bill will set you back, and then the extra for cleaning... But do not be put off it's a special house.

Great communication with the owner.

Would definitely go again when the occasion arises.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grandure
Liked least: house was not as clean as we would hope
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing