We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful rest!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Scauri, Minturno, Province of Latina, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
jg0slin
Ivanovo Oblast, Russia
2 reviews
“Wonderful rest!!!”
Reviewed 9 August 2018 for a stay in May 2018

It was our third time in this place and it was as always perfect!!! very cozy apartment with everything you need, stunning nature around, very hospitable and friendly hosts.
We want come back here again and again!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
It is indeed a great pleasure to host you. I can't wait to see you again!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jg0slin
Ivanovo Oblast, Russia
2 reviews
“It's wonderful place!!!”
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

It's wonderful place for rest with family and friends. There is very quiet and peaceful, in the garden birds sing, it's real rest for the soul. The owner of the apartment is very friendly and will always help if you need it.
I fell in love with this place and hope to return there again.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2017
Thank you for the review!
It is always a great pleasure to host You.
It is also rewarding trying to keeè the accomodation in the best conditions for my guests.
Hope to see you asap!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mucschroe...
Munich, Germany
1 review
“a very good, quiet and recovering short holiday”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We (my wife, our daughter aged 14 and I myself) appreciated the warm and friendly welcome by Mr. and I Gennaro Ripa, the owner and landlord of Casa Filomena, very much.
He was very open-minded and helpful.

The flat Casa Filomena is located near the centre of Scauri / Latina.
It is a small, but nice and clean flat equipped with two bed-rooms, a bath and a small kitchen in our opinion ideal for a family with two older children or two couples or 4 friends.
In addition to that you could use a terrasse and a small garden for sitting outside.
Since the Italian families living as neighbours around the house have got animals like cats and dogs especially animal loving children will enjoy their holidays there.
Apart from the near beach (about 5 minutes by car) the beautiful environment invites for various trips.
Old Roman ruins, amphitheatres etc., medieval villages as well as nice and beautiful beaches are nearby.
Vineyards as well as orchards and olive groves are everywhere.
You could enjoy the very good Italian food whereever you might go.
Rome as well as Naples could easily be visited either by car or by train (The distance to Rome is about 180,0 km and the distance to Naples about 70km)

Martin Schröder

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The over-roofed terrasse outside
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
Thank you Sir,
it has been a pleasure to host you and your lovely family.
I thank you too for your review and the very good description of the settings.
A tiny thing about distances:
Sea at metres 750.
Rome: South km 140 - Centre km 160
Naples: km 80
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria c
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very pleasant and truly Italian experience”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Casa Filomena is a cosy apartment in a friendly neighbourhood. We stayed for two weeks and got very fond of the place. The apartment was big enough for the three of us. It would be ideal for a family of four. The thing we enjoyed the most was the outdoor dining area. It is really nice to have your meals in the shade of olive and pomegranate trees. The weather in mid September was fantastic! We've spent most of the time outdoors and on the nearby beach. The walk to the beach is very pleasant; houses with lovely gardens, olive tree groves and vineyards. A true Italian atmosphere. Everybody we met were very friendly, including all the neighbours.
The flat is in a good location because it is close to the main street with all the shops and cafes as well as the beach. The nearby supermarket has all the necessities and numerous vegetable shops sell fresh fruit and veg as well as delicious and cheap wine. We also enjoyed the market that comes every Wednesday (down at the pier) to sell fresh seafood, delicious cheese and olives, fruit and veg, kitchen utensils, clothes, shoes, bags and much more. It is certainly a good bargain!
All in all we really enjoyed our time in Scauri. We hope to come back some day and I will be recommending Casa Filomena to my friends.

A few things to note: the coastline is owned by the cafes so they charge for the sunbeds and umbrellas (you cannot go on their territory without paying) and although there are areas of the beach that are free, they do not have sunbeds and people bring their own chairs and umbrellas. The café beaches are certainly better if you plan on spending most of your day there, because there are toilets and showers as well as the bar where you can grab a snack and a beverage. The swim season closed on the 21st September when we were there, which means some cafes close their business. If you are after a beach holiday, it is best to travel in the first half of September, after that it gets a little stormy.
Bus and train tickets can be bought in cafes and tobacco shops. They do not sell them on board!
All restaurants and most shops are closed during day (summer season) so there are not many places to get lunch. Make sure you have food in your fridge! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outside dining area
Liked least: The kitchen is quite small which can be a bit of a bother for those who enjoy cooking as much as myself
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Dear Guest,
thank you for your detailed review.
I will look forward to seeing you again at any time in future.

Regarding weather conditions:
Usually all September is fully Summer, with rare short rainfalls. Most beach cafés close on 31st September. After that it is free anywhere and, normally, we bathe throughout October. This 2015 is so far very warm but rainy. Climate keep on changing...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
len201541...
Bangor, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very convient location short walk to beach”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay here was perfect for what we needed. Close walk to beach shopping pizza gelato etc: Neighbors were very friendly. Easy parking right at bottom of street in a free parking lot. Owner always responded to our emails and made sure we had everything we needed on our arrival.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbak2014
Baraize
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday Stay”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Met by Genaro's family who were great, and couldn't do enough when anything was amiss, eg when the electric tripped, they sorted it straight away and advised us how to manage it.
As for the property, it is in a really clean condition but a little dated inside. Genaro explained that he is updating things still and will be putting new double glazed windows in shortly which will be a good thing, but all windows although needing replacement are fitted with mosquito nets, which you definately need, as there are numerous around the outside, but all in all a really nice pleasant property. The only real downside was the noise from dogs which was annoying but wasn't always, and the place needs sound proofing from the flat above as you can hear them when they are moving around and especially if they move chairs on the floor tiles.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location is great for visiting the areas around this part of Italy
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2014
Dear guest,

as you state old things will be replaced...

However most guests like the old style of the inside and they return for this reason too.

The dogs I guess are the new ones from neighborhood and they should calm down pretty soon.

Regarding the flat above it is usually empty, owners just needed it for a while.

Anyway thank you for pointing out good and bad of the property, we always try our best to accommodate well our guests. That's why we are (or are close to) 5 stars on Tripadvisor!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandi1951
Alcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous peaceful location and comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Lovely accommodation in a quiet elevated location, with a shaded terrace area and small fragrant garden. Extremely well equipped apartment, with all the comforts of home. Spacious and comfortable bedroom and lounge/dining room, with a small but functional kitchen with a large fridge freezer.

We had a wonderful time and Gennaro was extremely informative, with lots of advice on where to go and what to see. His English is excellent and we greatly appreciated all his help.

Scauri is a great base for a holiday. Rome and Naples are easily accessible by train and visits to Gaeta and Monte Cassino are well worthwhile.

Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2014
So many thanks my dear guests!
I wish you all the best at home and I am definitely looking forward to hosting you again at any time in future.
Ciao!
Gennaro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing