We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just splendid!”
Review of C

C
Ranked #9 of 439 Restaurants in Tampere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$111
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just splendid!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I have long been interested in Ravintola C because this restaurant has been at the top of Tampere's popular restaurants on Tripadvisor website.

We chose today's dishes from the a la carte menu. Freshwater lobster has just become open season, and so I included it in my choice. Another one dish as an appetizer for today's dinner was spinach risotto with quail egg. After that, today's course reached its climax with roasted duck. I was really satisfied with this dish.

However hard I may try to describe their food, I am afraid I could explain only a superficial part of it. So, you should just experience Ravintola C by yourself.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank koalachef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    16
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
717 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“an "A" for C”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This is an excellent place to enjoy good food. I arrived at 6 p.m. on Friday. The restaurant was busy but never full. It was a special tapas weekend and many people were on a tapas crawl stopping at several places for a single course and glass of wine. I had planned on a full dinner and was very glad I did.

The dining room is cozy and very comfortable. There is a undertone of Big Band and light Jazz music barely noticeable in the background. The menu is short and simple. Try the bread, each type - they are wonderful and very different. My server explained in great detail the origin of the locally sourced foods and how they were prepared. At one point he disappeared into the kitchen to quiz the chef about the butter. (Their cream is lightly fermented.) Everything I had was delicious. The portions are small but ample. The price is appropriate for the quality of the food, service and total dining experience. If I lived in Tampere I would eat here regularly. It is the sort of small (holds 40) chef operated restaurant that deserves a chance to shine. Service is very good. It is pleasing to see the care (cotton gloves when handling diners' new setting of cutlery) given by people who know and love food and wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pirkkala, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classy and exquisite”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I liked everything: wines were well-thought and dishes well-prepared. Service was friendly and professional. Environment is very pleasant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Adviseable”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

A bit expensive, but the food is excellent!
The staff is proficient and service good.
Restaurant is quite small and the district is not so nice, but the location is good (next to the railway station).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kati K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
1 review
“Exeptional dinner in tampere”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Local products, almost everything comes around tampere, like 50 km from city center.
From chefs garden and local farmers.
Many restaurant in helsinki is simoliar to each other but C has it own style. Simple tasty food. Not too many flavours in plate, not too many diffeent component. Simple very tasty food companied with so great wine selection. Only good, and exellent wines. Any of those were ok.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TarekHel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed C also viewed

Tampere, Pirkanmaa
 

Been to C? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing