We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Finland.”
Review of C

C
Ranked #9 of 440 Restaurants in Tampere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$111
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“The best restaurant in Finland.”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

I've visited C around four times so far and they never disappoint. Everything about a meal there is of the best quality.

Simply the best restaurant in Finland and relatively reasonably priced.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eca02apc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    16
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Superb dining experience and price was also very decent. We ate a four course dinner and had extras inbetween courses thrown in. Local ingredients a big plus. Will definitely go again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnJou_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just splendid!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I have long been interested in Ravintola C because this restaurant has been at the top of Tampere's popular restaurants on Tripadvisor website.

We chose today's dishes from the a la carte menu. Freshwater lobster has just become open season, and so I included it in my choice. Another one dish as an appetizer for today's dinner was spinach risotto with quail egg. After that, today's course reached its climax with roasted duck. I was really satisfied with this dish.

However hard I may try to describe their food, I am afraid I could explain only a superficial part of it. So, you should just experience Ravintola C by yourself.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank koalachef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
717 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“an "A" for C”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This is an excellent place to enjoy good food. I arrived at 6 p.m. on Friday. The restaurant was busy but never full. It was a special tapas weekend and many people were on a tapas crawl stopping at several places for a single course and glass of wine. I had planned on a full dinner and was very glad I did.

The dining room is cozy and very comfortable. There is a undertone of Big Band and light Jazz music barely noticeable in the background. The menu is short and simple. Try the bread, each type - they are wonderful and very different. My server explained in great detail the origin of the locally sourced foods and how they were prepared. At one point he disappeared into the kitchen to quiz the chef about the butter. (Their cream is lightly fermented.) Everything I had was delicious. The portions are small but ample. The price is appropriate for the quality of the food, service and total dining experience. If I lived in Tampere I would eat here regularly. It is the sort of small (holds 40) chef operated restaurant that deserves a chance to shine. Service is very good. It is pleasing to see the care (cotton gloves when handling diners' new setting of cutlery) given by people who know and love food and wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pirkkala, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classy and exquisite”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I liked everything: wines were well-thought and dishes well-prepared. Service was friendly and professional. Environment is very pleasant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed C also viewed

Tampere, Pirkanmaa
 

Been to C? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing