We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet confortable place just outside the Center”
Review of Scandic Rosendahl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Rosendahl
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Tampere
Certificate of Excellence
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quiet confortable place just outside the Center”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Went there for business.
The Location is nice, close to the lake, with possibility of running tracks around.
Free Parking - that for me is a plus.
Rooms are just the right side, clean and quiet.
Breakfast is on average.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lugano_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    181
    87
    35
    2
See reviews for
139
103
20
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Hotel is located in a beautiful park area, close to lake shore. At summer time this is great green area, near to beach and other actives. Parking can be found outside of hotel. It’s a bit long walking from city (around 25 min), there is also public bus stop close to hotel. Service at front desk was efficient and fast, peasant service; something that I would expect.

Room was upgraded lately, and done pretty well. Furniture had a combined stone, wood and angular shape. They have done good job to create bright and modern feeling since my last visit. Room was bit bigger than I expected, 2 beds, large child bed and baby cod fitted in well and sill left some room for kids to play a round. Hallways reminded me still of the 80’s.

Breakfast selection was good; there was a wide range of cold and hot food, service was normal, nothing special. Breakfast was included in room price. We also used bar services at evening, they did excellent service and did good small warm food and drinks at evening.

This was my second visit to this hotel, this time it was nice to stay and I could be back next time after this experience.

We travelled group of two adults and two children, stayed in room that was for family.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timo-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is the third time we've stayed at Scandic Rosendhal - they're currently doing it up which I'm not sure is for the best. Part of what's great about it is the late 70s conference hotel vibe - pine, terracotta tiles, smoked glass, houseplants etc. The architecture's lovely particularly in the basement with swimming pool and 'winter gardens'. It's a very pleasant 15 minute walk through the wood to the city centre or buses go every hour. When we were there early August is was baking hot and our air con just couldn't cope - we just had to get out of the room asap every day. But luckily we could swim in the pool and lake to cool down. Good choice if you like nature and/or late 70s architecture!

Room Tip: think most rooms have views of the lake but best to ask (although not in hot summer!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjrobotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Nice surroundings;big park, lake with nice beach. Hotel is partly renowated, but still ongoing. staff was polite and welcoming. breakfast was superb and also local speciality "mustamakkara" was served.

Helpful?
Thank Savu28
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel is located in a very beautiful and peaceful place near a lake and nice beach. Just few minutes awY from the city centre.

Staff was nice and helpfull. Everything worked just fine abd just like expected.

Aircon in the room could have been a bit more cooler and bathroom needs a little face lift.

Breakfast was very good and had wide variety of different kind of foods.

There was a swimming pool in the hotel and a small pool for the kids. Pools were available for hotel guests from early morning till late evening with no extra cost. Next to swimming pools there was also a small gym room.


  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeemuS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We had a dinner and breakfast at the hotel and we were satisfied with them. However we had difficulties in sleeping because our room in the renovated 4th floor didn't have an air-conditioning. Our room temperature was 25-26 degrees celcius in the night and next morning.

When complaining about the matter, we were told that the digital unit each room has, is not in fact air-conditioning unit and basically it is the outside air that flows to the room. You can make minor adjustments, but it didn't have any effect although we put fan to maximum and temp setting to minimum. So temperature is much related to outside air temperature, which in summertime can be a bit high. Also there was heating on in the bathroom (floor) which could not be turned off.

Staff didn't apologize as obviously that is not recognized as an issue so I just hope that people cosidering booking a room from this hotel, make sure they are comfortable with a very warm sleeping environment.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JuhaR76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

If you are looking for a hotel with forest and lake view but still about 3 kilometers from Tampere city center, this is a good option.

There is a beach, observation tower and summer theater of Pyynikki by walking distance.

Then reasons why I won't visit there anymore:
1) Harsh personnel, never experienced such an service attitude in Finland before.
2) Interior design is from 70's, renovation ongoing (July 14)
3) Processed food in the restaurant, It was not bad but not an experience either. Not worth to pay restaurant prices there. (Breakfast was ok though).

Room Tip: prefer a one with lake view and far from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marko V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampere hotels
1.5 mi away
Scandic Tampere Station
Scandic Tampere Station
#1 of 25 in Tampere
685 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Tammer
1.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Scandic Tampere City
Scandic Tampere City
#7 of 25 in Tampere
543 reviews
1.5 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni Tampere
1.2 mi away
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
#10 of 25 in Tampere
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Rosendahl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Rosendahl

Property: Scandic Rosendahl
Address: Pyynikintie 13, Tampere 33230, Finland
Region: Finland > Pirkanmaa > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tampere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Rosendahl 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This meeting and congress hotel is located next to the beautiful lake Pyynikki, just a 10-minute drive from the centre of Tampere. City sights, such as the Särkänniemi amusement park and Tampere art museum are just a short drive away from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Rosendahl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Rosendahl Tampere
Scandic Rosendahl Hotel Tampere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing