We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel, but not as cool as some Scandics”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scandic Tampere City
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Tampere
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, but not as cool as some Scandics”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

As the name suggests the hotel is right in the centre of Tampere. Rooms are well-equipped and clean, and pretty spacious. The heavy duty glazing means that despite the central location (and the proximity of the railway station), the rooms are nice and quiet, at least on the upper floors. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The downsides are that the hotel doesn't really have the style of some other Scandic hotels (for example the Paasi in Helsinki or the Julia in Turku), it's more like a standard midrange hotel for business travellers, so a bit soulless. Also, the hotel's restaurant (where breakfast is served) is more like a food court in a shopping mall or theme park, which is a little disconcerting, and a weird idea - it felt a bit like being in Disneyland. As a tip when arriving by car, the car park entrance is around the corner in Verkatehtaankatu, and there is no parking or drop-off/loading bay on Rautatienkatu. The underground car park is, as other reviewers have noted, quite small and tricky to negotiate if you have a long car.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    259
    94
    28
    8
See reviews for
103
120
35
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed for one night on my first visit to Tampere. The hotel is clean and the staff friendly. I have stayed before at the Rica hotels and was intereested to see if Scandic compared since Scandic has recently taken over Rica. The overall experience was very similar to the Rica, which is a plus. In addition the hotel restaurant was very good although my colleague mentioned that the bernaise sauce might have gone off. The rooms are similar to what I have experienced with the Rica. I asked for a quiet room, which faces away from the street. The hotel is located in the city center on a main thoroughfare.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, away from the street and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestervilleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel is well-situated in the heart of the city. Most major attractions are easily accessible. Only negative point about the hotel premises is the basement parking lot, which is very tight, requiring lots of concentration during parking.

We had a top floor room, which previously probably has been two small rooms, which were combined during renovation. So the room was very spacious and clean but furniture is getting a little bit old, so perhaps some kind of face-lift within a couple of years is necessary.

We only had breakfast in the hotel. It was quite abundant. It even included local specialty "black sausage with lingonberry.jam". Only negative point about the breakfast was the pineapple, which was far from ripe.

The service was fast and efficient, we got all the information we asked for.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kariheikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turkey, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I was erasmus student in tampere univ.of tech.in 2007.nothing turistic here,but very wonderful city where there are so many lakes,green areas.there are a couple of museums and always some activities which are organized by municipality of tampere.nice cafes also there to read sth peacefully.i also like to walk on the main street from train station to main bus stop in the city center.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank zynpytc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a popular hotel and reasonable value. The staff were all helpful and friendly. We were also given a generous number of vouchers on arrival. Breakfast was good with a wide choice - but always busy. The room was clean. The pillows were not popular with my family. When I booked I realised I had made a mistake because I wanted the newer Scandic Station close by. The hotel couldn't change. Three of us were sharing a room but one bed was a sofa bed and not to comfy for our teenage son. The hotel couldn't find another room for us. Hotel policy seems inflexible so make sure you know what you want before you press the irreversable 'book now' button!

Room Tip: Question exactly what you are getting in your room before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flim187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I have often stayed at this nice hotel. The service has always been very friendly. The room was very clean (superior). Only thing what I hope is that hotel would changes new pillows! One evening we had to wait food very long time. Food was anyway very good.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sirkuttaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Nice, clean & roomy hotel with mini-bar, safe & writing desk. Bed was ok but had those stupid half size square pillows again. No openable windows with internal view of the food court. Good shower except stupid glass screen means water goes all over the bathroom floor. Hairdryer & shaving mirror. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampere hotels
0.1 mi away
Scandic Tampere Station
Scandic Tampere Station
#1 of 25 in Tampere
651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
0.1 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni Tampere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Tammer
0.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Villa
0.2 mi away
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Tampere City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Tampere City

Property: Scandic Tampere City
Address: Haemeenkatu 1, Tampere 33100, Finland
Region: Finland > Pirkanmaa > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tampere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Tampere City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Tampere City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Tampere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing