We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a terrible cheat” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cumulus Pinja

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cumulus Pinja
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Tampere
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“This is a terrible cheat”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I booked Cumulus Pinja after reading a few reviews online. I felt like going to another hotel - nothing to do with the "art noveau" mentioned about the hotel. It is a fake - you don't see too many art noveau objects / furniture / architecture around there. There is some wallpaper and small details you can find. That's all about it.

First they had several mistakes with our booking request. Then we got a superior room with twin beds and an extra bed, instead of superior room with a double bed as requested. Luckily they made the only right decision to upgrade us to a suite.

The suite was quite dirty, old fashioned, no air condition etc. We had to place a complaint for what we got. There was dust and dirt in many places, including bathroom.

In the evening we came back to the hotel and wanted to have some snacks and wine. All they had was Finnish "long drink" (please see Wikipedia or any other source in order to read about the honorable history of this drink generated for the Finnish Olympics in 1952!) and beer. A terrible mix with the snacks they had available - Pringles and hot dogs.

The staff was friendly, professional, and did their best to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Finally we got a bottle of sparkling, which made our day. However, I wouldn't come here again.

Room Tip: Please choose a suite or go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EFHK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
7
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Very good and friendly service. Rooms not new but in good condition. Good location: close to Railway station (about 10 min on foot) and main places of interest. Checkin begins with 14.00, but came to the hotel around 12 we got the keys. There is possibility to leave luggage in the hotel after checkout.
Most of the rooms with twin beds, to get double bed should be very lucky.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sh4KeSPe4R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Location is good, walking distance to town centre. We were there for a friend's wedding at the cathedral right next door so this was the best hotel for that occasion. The reception was friendly with good English spoken and breakfast was great with a selection of hot food etc.
It was good value and the room was very clean and functional. When we moved the bed together (all the rooms we had were 2 single beds), they had cleaned under the bed as well which was great.
It's a good functional hotel which is reflected in the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TobyInTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

In March we stayed in this hotel for one night as we found a good deal (60e/room/night). For that price my expectations weren't high and I would say that the room was OK. It had what we needed (bed, toilet+shower, tv). The beds in our room were two separate ones and we moved those together and found out that the cleaning had not been very thorough. Breakfast was included and very good. There was a computer in the lobby for free use so it was convenient to check timetables etc from web. There is just a very short walking distance to main restaurants, cinema and bars.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hepu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porvoo
Level Contributor
82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

I decided to change the hotel in my annual visit to Tampere to see my father's cousins. I have stayed this far in Scandic by the railway station but decided to check something new. Cumulus Hotel Pinja is also a chain hotel, an average three star house yoiu can find everywhere in Finland.

I stayed in a superior room that is in the annex, not in the old part of the building. The room was spacious but missed any charm you would expect from a hotel with a art deco past. The lobby is small and lacks also the art deco atmosphare.

The location is good, the service friendly and the breakfast ok.

But as put in the title, somehow very, very boring. It could be anywhere, it could have been built anytime, and it could be a member of any Finnish hotel chain. Bity!

By the way, the telephone rates are extremly high. It is 80 cents a unit. I had left my mobile home, and tried to reach my wife. I dialed here mobile number at the room phone, but couldn't reach her: The number was not in use. When I finally got a normal signal, it went to another phone. Then I had to contact the directory enquiries, first to check the number, and finally to connect to my wife's mobile. The first call to the directory enquieries lasted 54 seconds, and cost 28 euros!!! A bit unreasonable and unjust. I had a friendly talk with the hotel manager this morning, but with no special results.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAJORI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
*
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2007

I stayed at the Cumulus Pinja in May 2007. On the hotel's website, they stated that the hotel had been renovated during 2006. I thought this meant that both rooms AND bathrooms had been fixed up.

The room I stayed in (very near the elevator, which was somewhat disturbing) was clean and neat, but the bathroom was "left in the 80's". The bathroom was ok; it was clean but could use some fixing up.

One thing I found very strange was that one could use a computer in the lobby for free, but if one wants to have access to the internet at one's room, then one have to pay.

I can recommend the Cumulus Pinja to travellers that do not expect too much, the best word to describe the hotel would be 'average'.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank albicilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2007

The Cumulus Pinja is not a five-star hotel, but I'm giving it a perfect score because it had everything I needed and after a five night stay there, it almost felt like home to me.
If you're ever in Tampere, this is a great place to stay. The hotel is just a couple of blocks from the main street of Tampere. It's not fancy, but it's comfortable, affordable (for Scandinavia), and very clean. My room was so clean that when I spilled some water on the floor and wiped it up with a white towel, there was not a speck of dirt on the towel. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The staff are laid-back and helpful, and they speak English (like pretty much everyone else I met in Finland). You can use the internet on the computer in the lobby for free anytime of the day or night. For some reason they never charged me for a ten-minute phone call I made to the US. I'm sure this was a fluke, but it just enhanced my overall satisfaction with this hotel!
I loved the all-you-can-eat breakfast that was included in the price of the room. Like the rest of the hotel, the breakfast wasn't fancy, but it was very satisfying. There was porridge, eggs, meat (anything from bacon to meatballs to blood sausage), fruit, salad, bread, cheese, cereal, and more.
The wake-up call system is kind of weird. There is no alarm clock. You set an alarm through the TV in your room, and at the chosen time the TV comes on and you're startled out of a sound sleep by loud Finnish talking coming out of the TV. The alarm set-up program is entirely in Finnish, and therefore pretty much impossible for foreigners to understand. Somehow I figured it out and was able to set it myself, but if you call and ask the front desk for a wakeup call, they'll magically program the TV for you from the lobby.
Not planning to visit Tampere anytime soon? Too bad for you. I'm hoping I get to go back someday.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank katyusha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampere hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampere - Central Station
0.4 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
0.2 mi away
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Tammer
0.4 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni Tampere
0.3 mi away
Scandic Tampere City
Scandic Tampere City
#5 of 25 in Tampere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumulus Pinja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Pinja

Property: Cumulus Pinja
Address: Satakunnankatu 10, Tampere 33100, Finland
Region: Finland > Pirkanmaa > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Tampere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumulus Pinja 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, pleasant city hotel in the Art Nouveau style with popular restaurant; near bus & railway stations; 15 km to TMP airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Cumulus Pinja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Pinja Tampere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing