We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable with a luxurious feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Tampere
Certificate of Excellence
Park City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Reliable with a luxurious feel”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a few nights during business trip last Fall. The hotel presents itself very well with nice decor. Room was comfortable, very clean. The women's locker room provided swim suits for the pool. Nice clean sauna (genders segregated), an important custom in Finland. It offered a few different restaurants. Overall, it was very luxurious.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsGladiator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    334
    84
    13
    3
See reviews for
111
166
36
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llangefni, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

A decent place with a weekend break price. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean, shower decent comfortable bed. We were high up and so noise from street was not any problem. Would stay there again

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyTravel200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

A lovely new, modern hotel in the centre of Tampere, within easy walking distance of the shops, bars, railway station, attractions and harbour. There is on site parking underground but on the day I visited, it was full.
Tampere is beautiful in the summer months, but cold and windy in the winter.
The restaurant is very good, there is a night club, which during the week is very quiet, in fact when I was there I was one of only six customers.
The rooms are large, modern and luxurious. I was on the fifteenth floor. The large room had big, almost to the floor windows and I looked down at the lake and Tampere Football Stadium. My colleague hated heights though and in his next door room, had to keep the curtains closed!
Staff were polite and friendly and at check in we were met with happy smiling, helpful staff. Check in was so simple as the previous night we had stayed in a Sokos Hotel in Jyvaskula. This meant that our check in details were automatically transferred and there was no form filling. I would certainly recommend this hotel but it is not cheap, maybe the venue for a special weekend.

Room Tip: If you don't like heights tell them at reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgewood48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I spent the Easter weekend here to meet some family. The rooms are of ok size and clean. Bathroom is big and clean. Nothing exceptional for the room but for the weekend prizes well worth the money.
The breakfast is plentiful and varied, a bit crowded though.


The biggest problem with this hotel is noise coming through windows and from the hotel corridors. Especially at weekends the hotel's entrance area and the adjacent street are very noisy because of (young) people partying. The windows of the room have very poor soundproofing for such a modern hotel. Same is the corridors, one can easily hear drunk people coming back from night out.

On my second night the outside noise to my room (421) was so bad I had to ask to be moved to another room in the middle of the night. To my pleasant surprise, the staff was very understanding and as they had free rooms I was moved promptly to a room on the other side of the hotel (looking over the shopping mall Koskikeskus towards the bus station), room 1615. The room was very quiet compared to my earlier room, so ask for the shopping mall side if you value your sleep quality.

Also I had a minor issue with the TV not working properly, but it was handled promptly. I found the staff to be true professionals, friendly and caring for the guests.

Room Tip: High floors overlooking the shopping mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jarmake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2010

I stayed here on someone else's dime for business.

It met my requirements for a clean room. There was some dust/residue the maid missed, but otherwise linens were fresh and replaced when requested, room smelled fresh, surfaces clean.

My room on the 7th floor was quiet 90% of the time. I was across from the elevator, so there were occasional bursts of talk as guests parted for the night, some furniture scraping and an odd loud noise one evening that went away, but I generally did not hear the elevator, my neighbors, or outside noise. I opened the window occasionally despite the -10C temps to get a breath of fresh air--the inside temp got too high even when I turned off the heat fan.

The elevator requires a room key to activate.

Other notes: larger room and bathroom than most I have had in Finland; counter space in bathroom; hairdryer, iron/board, coffee/tea maker, free wireless; lots of mirrors but poor lighting in bathroom; comfortable bed; no clothes drawers or cabinet--have to leave folding clothes in suitcase or on one shelf--but plenty of open hanging space; breakfast OK hot and cold selection but did get busy; printer for boarding passes in lobby I think; helpful front desk staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Hotel Ilves is easy to find and good place to stay in Tampere. Rooms are small, but clean and silent.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

I have had the pleasure of staying here a couple of times and I loved it on each occasion. It is a high rise hotel overlooking the beautiful river that divides Tampere.
It is very central and in walking distance of the train station, shops and a short taxi ride away from Tampere airport.
I was there at one point to support friends who were competing at the WINTER DANCE FESTIVAL. Public buses leave to the sports hall/dance/conference centre from right outside the door.
The breakfast had a very wide selection of food to suit all palettes and lifestyles.
Access to the room was by elevator. The beds were warm and comfortable but there was some street noise which interfered with my sleep,
The pool in the basement was quite chilly but refreshing. the lobby area was open and ideal for people watching whilst having a cup of tea.
I have quite enjoyed my times in this smart, clean cut hotel. Ideal for the business traveller or those who want to get away and be anonymous but it is not a place where you will meet life long friends you have to go elsewhere for that...but hey, that's Finland for ya!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliabog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampere hotels
0.3 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni Tampere
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Tammer
0.4 mi away
Scandic Tampere Station
Scandic Tampere Station
#1 of 25 in Tampere
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Villa
0.2 mi away
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
#10 of 25 in Tampere
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lapland Hotel Tampere
Lapland Hotel Tampere
#8 of 25 in Tampere
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Ilves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Ilves

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Address: Hatanpaeaen valtatie 1, Tampere 33100, Finland
Region: Finland > Pirkanmaa > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tampere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tampere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Ilves 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This central, 19-story high hotel offers fantastic views over the city in a prominent location in the heart of town, at the back of Tammerkoski. The hotel is close to all services such as shopping center and restaurants, as well as the lively nightlife. Sokos Hotel Ilves has 3 restaurants, pub and a nightclub meaning that your palette will never get bored. Your taste buds will be pampered with Northern European delicacies, flavors from Italy, Mexico and France though you are only on a visit in Finland. The hotel has meeting facilities for 300 people and offers free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, making it easy for you to stay in contact with important business associates as well as friends and family. To truly relax during your stay, take a dip in our pool or unwind in the sauna, the perfect tonic for a day of business meetings or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Ilves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Tampere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing