We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Tampere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have stayed in this hotel on both business and holiday trips. My last one night stay was in July during the Tammerfest. The room was clean and the air condition worked well.
There is also a parking garage in a hotel with direct elevator access to the reception.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tjs1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilves_Tampere, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear tjs1982,

Thank You for all of Your stays here in Original Sokos Hotel Ilves. We are glad to hear Your experiences and good feedback. You are warmly welcome to stay with us once again!

Best regards,
Heini Schubin
Service Manager
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our three person family spends two nigtht in Sokos Hotel Ilves. Room was nice and clean. Restaurants have good service and helpfull personel. Breakfast was normal hotel breakfast with local specialities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reima R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilves_Tampere, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Reima R,

Thank You for your family's stay with us. We appreciate that you spent time to give us lovely feedback. We look forward to accommodate You once again!

Have a great summertime!

Best regards,
Heini Schubin
Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Most suitable hotel for business trips to Tampere.
Swimming pool, sauna, very good food.
Well designed rooms and very attentive personnel. From 10th floor - beautiful view on the city.
5 minutes from central train station.
very good reastaurants and pub on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 654mariaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilves_Tampere, service manager at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear 654mariaz,

It is lovely to read Your review. We Thank You for taking time to give us feedback. It's true that when Your on a business trip You don't propably have too much spare time. We have all the facilities you need under same roof. We are glad that You enjoyed Your stay with us. Welcome back!

Have a sunny summer!

Best regards,
Heini Schubin
Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A clean, good room with a good bed is of course #1 for lodging. Apart from the fact that even on the 14th floor the water does not drain from the sink the room gave no cause for complaint. But the lobby is noisy, the staff very chatty (there is a fine line between attentive friendliness and chatting), the breakfast of low quality and noisy. There must be better deals in Tampere. And no morning paper for breakfast :(

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilves_Tampere, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Robin E,
Thank You for Your stay with us. We appreciate Your review of our facilities and Service. It is in our hearts to fullfill our guest's expectations towards us and give a succesful stay. We are sorry that You disliked our breakfast. Actually there are morning papers to read in several languages.
Have a lovely summertime!

Best regards,
Heini Schubin
Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have been in Tampere many times in different hotels. Hotel Ilves is a bit more expensive than many others, but it seems very much worth the extra money.

First of all the location is excellent, it's very centered, but still not on the main road. This makes it more peaceful. On the other hand, it is attached to a shopping center, so everything is near. The public areas are sizeable, they have nice restaurants and a classy hotel bar near the lobby.

There is a swimming and sauna -area aswell, which we didn't have time to test unfortunately.

The room was very clean, which is always a big plus from us. It was also of good size and looked fine. And it was quiet, even if the room was opposite to the elevators. We were on the 14th floor, which had great view over the town aswell.

All in all, very enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JIL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilves_Tampere, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear JIL7,
You have highlighted very good aspects of our hotel. It's a pleasure to read such a great review. Maybe next time You have time to visit our new sauna and swimming pool area as well.
You are warmly welcome to a new visit!

Have a great summer!

Best regards,
Heini Schubin
Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Lovely, premier room on the top floor with views across the city. Clean, very comfortable bed, good shower, kettle, free and fast wifi. Good curtains to block out the light nights. Lovely 12.5 metre swimming pool open mornings and evenings. Good location close to the shops and museums. Reception staff friendly. There is a wide choice at breakfast.

Room Tip: Premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poole11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilves_Tampere, Service manager at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Poole11,

Thank You for Your great feedback. It 's lovely to read that Your stay with us has been succesful. Hope to see You again as our guest!

Best regards,
Heini Schubin
Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

So friendly staff when we arrived on sunday 2 am. We had room in 15/18 floors, amazing view to the city! Very good location in the middle of city but still quiet room to sleep. Breakfast was very big and you dont leave hungry from there!

Room Tip: corner room you will see more views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilves_Tampere, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Mari I,

We are glad to read such a wonderful review. We appreciate Your feedback and welcome you back to a new successful stay with us! Have a sunny summer!

Best regards,
Heini Schubin
Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampere hotels
0.3 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni Tampere
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Tammer
0.4 mi away
Scandic Tampere Station
Scandic Tampere Station
#1 of 25 in Tampere
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lapland Hotel Tampere
Lapland Hotel Tampere
#8 of 25 in Tampere
159 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Club Tampereen Kylpyla
0.2 mi away
Scandic Tampere City
Scandic Tampere City
#7 of 25 in Tampere
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Ilves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Ilves

Address: Hatanpaeaen valtatie 1, Tampere 33100, Finland
Region: Finland > Pirkanmaa > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tampere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tampere
Price Range: £93 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Ilves 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This central, 19-story high hotel offers fantastic views over the city in a prominent location in the heart of town, at the back of Tammerkoski. The hotel is close to all services such as shopping center and restaurants, as well as the lively nightlife. Sokos Hotel Ilves has 3 restaurants, pub and a nightclub meaning that your palette will never get bored. Your taste buds will be pampered with Northern European delicacies, flavors from Italy, Mexico and France though you are only on a visit in Finland. The hotel has meeting facilities for 300 people and offers free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, making it easy for you to stay in contact with important business associates as well as friends and family. To truly relax during your stay, take a dip in our pool or unwind in the sauna, the perfect tonic for a day of business meetings or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Ilves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Tampere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing