We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything else was ok, but breakfast buffet was awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Tampere
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Everything else was ok, but breakfast buffet was awful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

I have stayed at Sokos Hotel Ilves earlier, now I stayed there two nights. Though it has been built up in 1980’s it is actually in good condition. The location is fine, couldn’t be better. The decoration of the hotel and room were fine. There were also a safety box in my room. But I couldn’t use it, because earlier customer has locked the safety box and no one – NO ONE – has not any possibilities to open the box for me in the evening time. I had to wait to following morning. Actually, that was a very strange thing. What about if I had forgotten my security code. I should have been waited until following morning to get it open. I had a great view from my room to Tammerkoski river.
The breakfast was awful and it has come worsen all the time. They should do something for the breakfast buffet.

"Sokos hotel Ilves, the average hotel for average customer"

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinlandFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    301
    75
    9
    2
See reviews for
95
148
31
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

Sokos Hotel Ilves is a 15-storey hotel next to the Tampere rapid. It hosts a popular nightclub. The superiour rooms are clean and nicely done, however a bit small.

There's an inside pool and saunas, of course.

Staff are friendly and helpful though reception is badly organised - be ready to queue - especially at checkout.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hennessyparadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

Excellent location in the center of Tampere. Only minus is that they always seem to have some renovation going on somewhere. Good rooms and you should ask to have a room towards the waterway.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stadinkundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
331 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

Ilves has probably the best location in Tampere for taking a walk in downtown, shopping and restaurants.

The rooms are very good and clean.

The parking slots at the underground parking hall are pretty small but quite inexpensive wrt the location.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpTravellerOulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

Location is perfect, view is great and service and breakfeast are amazing! It's pretty much best that Tampere has to offer. Too expensive though.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AprilMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

Hotel in centre of city, convenient to rail and bus station. Would recommend this hotel and location to anyone. 18 kilometres from airport, 6€ single on the bus into the centre or 30€ taxi. The weather was cold 4c but sunny, ideal for sightseeing and walking. Everywhere clean and neat. Tampere is a nice place for a weekend visit. We flew Ryanair from Stanstead - will try and avoid Ryanair next time. even though they use online checkin queues at the airport were awful.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Media-Gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

The hotel is situated on the main shopping road in Tampere, by the attractive riverside and next to a convenient shopping mall, reached undercover.
The rooms were of good size, larger than usual in Finland, and the breakfasts were exceptionally good.
The hotel restaurants seemed rather expensive, but there were many little restaurants only a few minutes' walk away; in particular Pizzeria Napoli on Aleksanterinkatu was well worth a visit. Locally there were a number of large department stores & an interesting indoor market.
The only critisism of the hotel was that the housekeeping was erratic; we stayed 4 nights & sometimes there'd be no clean cups, or the sink hadn't been cleaned, or no dried milk sachets ot teabags had been left.
Incidentally, we had unusual good weather in early September, but all museums, tours etc. had closed in August "at the end of summer" we were told.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MMHNorfolkEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampere hotels
0.3 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni Tampere
0.4 mi away
Scandic Tampere Station
Scandic Tampere Station
#1 of 25 in Tampere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Tammer
0.2 mi away
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
0.4 mi away
Lapland Hotel Tampere
Lapland Hotel Tampere
#8 of 25 in Tampere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Ilves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Ilves

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Address: Hatanpaeaen valtatie 1, Tampere 33100, Finland
Region: Finland > Pirkanmaa > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tampere
#2 Business Hotel in Tampere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Ilves 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This central, 19-story high hotel offers fantastic views over the city in a prominent location in the heart of town, at the back of Tammerkoski. The hotel is close to all services such as shopping center and restaurants, as well as the lively nightlife. Sokos Hotel Ilves has 3 restaurants, pub and a nightclub meaning that your palette will never get bored. Your taste buds will be pampered with Northern European delicacies, flavors from Italy, Mexico and France though you are only on a visit in Finland. The hotel has meeting facilities for 300 people and offers free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, making it easy for you to stay in contact with important business associates as well as friends and family. To truly relax during your stay, take a dip in our pool or unwind in the sauna, the perfect tonic for a day of business meetings or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Ilves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Tampere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing