We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Tampere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Tampere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Hotel Ilves is easy to find and good place to stay in Tampere. Rooms are small, but clean and silent.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HOHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
There are newer reviews for Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2010

I have had the pleasure of staying here a couple of times and I loved it on each occasion. It is a high rise hotel overlooking the beautiful river that divides Tampere.
It is very central and in walking distance of the train station, shops and a short taxi ride away from Tampere airport.
I was there at one point to support friends who were competing at the WINTER DANCE FESTIVAL. Public buses leave to the sports hall/dance/conference centre from right outside the door.
The breakfast had a very wide selection of food to suit all palettes and lifestyles.
Access to the room was by elevator. The beds were warm and comfortable but there was some street noise which interfered with my sleep,
The pool in the basement was quite chilly but refreshing. the lobby area was open and ideal for people watching whilst having a cup of tea.
I have quite enjoyed my times in this smart, clean cut hotel. Ideal for the business traveller or those who want to get away and be anonymous but it is not a place where you will meet life long friends you have to go elsewhere for that...but hey, that's Finland for ya!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliabog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Despite the 1970s exterior, the rooms were comfortable and kitted out with good modern Scandanavian furniture. Good breakfast although had to queue,otherwise excellent range for the vegetarian. Great yoghourt and apple compote. Hotel Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archieblackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed in a superior room which was nicely decorated but small. We were on the 18th floor and above us was the VIP sauna and entertainment room. Well the first night, at midnight someone above us decided to move chairs and tables around by scraping them across the floor. As you can imagine it woke us up and went on for about 15 minutes. I called the front desk and the woman attempted to justify it but thought better of it. The next day, we were given a different room on the 17th floor and got a good night’s sleep. It is a business not a tourist hotel. Most of the hotel restaurants are closed on Sunday. The sauna is closed after 10am on Monday and opens late on Sunday. They do not have a lot of double or queen size beds because they cater to business folks. The buffet was good, had some variety. Very crowded on Sunday morning at 0900 but Monday at 0900 it was fine. The staff was accommodating.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TamaraAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

I have stayed at Sokos Hotel Ilves earlier, now I stayed there two nights. Though it has been built up in 1980’s it is actually in good condition. The location is fine, couldn’t be better. The decoration of the hotel and room were fine. There were also a safety box in my room. But I couldn’t use it, because earlier customer has locked the safety box and no one – NO ONE – has not any possibilities to open the box for me in the evening time. I had to wait to following morning. Actually, that was a very strange thing. What about if I had forgotten my security code. I should have been waited until following morning to get it open. I had a great view from my room to Tammerkoski river.
The breakfast was awful and it has come worsen all the time. They should do something for the breakfast buffet.

"Sokos hotel Ilves, the average hotel for average customer"

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FinlandFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Sokos Hotel Ilves is a 15-storey hotel next to the Tampere rapid. It hosts a popular nightclub. The superiour rooms are clean and nicely done, however a bit small.

There's an inside pool and saunas, of course.

Staff are friendly and helpful though reception is badly organised - be ready to queue - especially at checkout.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hennessyparadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Excellent location in the center of Tampere. Only minus is that they always seem to have some renovation going on somewhere. Good rooms and you should ask to have a room towards the waterway.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stadinkundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampere hotels
0.3 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni Tampere
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Tammer
0.4 mi away
Scandic Tampere Station
Scandic Tampere Station
#1 of 25 in Tampere
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Villa
0.2 mi away
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
#10 of 25 in Tampere
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lapland Hotel Tampere
Lapland Hotel Tampere
#8 of 25 in Tampere
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Ilves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Ilves

Address: Hatanpaeaen valtatie 1, Tampere 33100, Finland
Region: Finland > Pirkanmaa > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tampere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tampere
Price Range: £101 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Ilves 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This central, 19-story high hotel offers fantastic views over the city in a prominent location in the heart of town, at the back of Tammerkoski. The hotel is close to all services such as shopping center and restaurants, as well as the lively nightlife. Sokos Hotel Ilves has 3 restaurants, pub and a nightclub meaning that your palette will never get bored. Your taste buds will be pampered with Northern European delicacies, flavors from Italy, Mexico and France though you are only on a visit in Finland. The hotel has meeting facilities for 300 people and offers free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, making it easy for you to stay in contact with important business associates as well as friends and family. To truly relax during your stay, take a dip in our pool or unwind in the sauna, the perfect tonic for a day of business meetings or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Ilves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Tampere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing