We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Villa
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Tampere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is a nice hotel in a renovated warehouse on a quiet street just a few steps away from Tampere House, the University and the Railway station. The rooms are nicely decorated and spacious enough. I stayed for two nights on the second floor and didn't hear any noise the whole time. The bed was comfortable and all three pillows were very good. There is no minibar, but you can take drinks from the lobby bar to your room. The breakfast is good with sufficient selection of foods. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ve8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilves_Tampere, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Ve8,

Thank you very much for staying at Original Sokos Hotel Villa and for your kind review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you as our guest again in the near future!

With best regards
Johanna Veijalainen
Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

Nice recently renovated room. Have water faucet with thermostat, so you can get constant water temperature in shower, not contrast shower as it is usual in hotels.
Strange smell in hallway.
Simple breakfast with awful coffee.
TV had no video signal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I like staying at this hotel. The rooms are a good size, comfortable and clean with a well laid out shower room and comfortable bed.

The breakfast is typically Scandinavian and there is more than enough choice to have a varied selection.

Staff were very efficient and helpful and all in all a delightful smaller hotel that provides all you need.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick_Willard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Positive things first: Well located near railway station and walking distance from city centre. Very stylish rooms and cosy lobby. My room on top floor was spaciuos and clean. The modern rocking chair in my room finalized the design hotel feeling.

Hotel's personnel was really nice and helpful.

Areas to improve: Breakfast was dissapointment and really an average. I could not find any fresh fruits and all juices were horrible.

When I arrived, the frontdesk was managed by one employee. Due to this the check-in took ages. This same person was also responsible for lobby bar and for this reason there was a line of people waiting for refreshments. Situation in reception and lobby bar remained the same during my entire stay.

All in all this was nice hotel, they just need more staff in reception/lobby bar area.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank JP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This is a hotel with several plus-points: close to the railway station and (a great plus for me) close to the university. The place was apparently quite recently re-furbished and it does indeed feel well-kept and new. My room on the 5th floor was very quiet, decently sized and stylish (this is Finland, after all). Amenities in the room included an ironing board and a hair dryer.
There's wifi in the room, but it was surprisingly slow - maybe about 75kb/sec on average, which is really not quite enough by today's standards. At least it was reliable.
The breakfast buffet was OK - nothing to write home about, but basically fine. The coffee was hardly drinkable, though; I've been told that this is rather typical of Finland. ;-)
Service was largely OK (the little that I needed), but one or two little observations make me wonder a little. For example, I once saw a hotel guest try to work out the computer in the lobby that can be used to access the internet and to print out things. It was switched off, and the guest tried to get things going for about a minute before giving up. The receptionist stoically observed what was going on, but didn't offer any help. Not good. Or another example: one member of staff who was cleaning the tables at breakfast dropped a knife. No problem at all, really - as long as you pick it up again. But that didn't happen - she didn't return to the table once she had taken her "load" to the kitchen. Again, a minor thing, but not 100% OK.
On the whole, I would return again, but there are minor service-related aspects that could probably be quite easily improved.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sebhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Nice rooms, close to everything, great staff, free working wifi etc. Just one downside, they don't have any restaurant for lunch or dinner. Ok, it's not the end of the world if you need to walk 1000 meters from hotel to find lots of different places to eat, but still...

Room Tip: Do you like Finnish sauna? Choose suite number 592.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armyofme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I have had a total of three one-night stays at this hotel over the past couple of months.

The positives first. The hotel has a good location on the Tullintori square near the railway station. It also has far more personality than most of the other Sokos Hotels which simply go to show how awfully boring those highly standardized chain hotels can be. Sokos Hotel Villa is located in a converted red-brick grain storage that can even make you forget that you are fundamentally at one of the Sokos hotels.

The superior rooms I have had at this hotel are cool and modern. However, there is sometimes more coolness and form over function. For example, the bathrooms are outright small and impractical. Combine this with the dark tiles and resulting darkness of the bathrooms, as well as very small-sized washbasins, and you are likely to feel fairly irritated after 30 seconds there.

I would also like the hotel management to pay far more attention to the cleanliness of the rooms. During my first visit, there was some sticky stuff on a small table/shelf next to the bed. Fortunately, I noticed this prior to putting my watch, wallet, etc. on it. During my most previous stay in December, the floor of the bathroom was dirty and there was a lot of hair on it (yes, even very visible on the dark floor). I do not want to mention the name of a person responsible for cleaning my rooms on the 4th floor (I have always had a superior room on the 4th floor), but someone should have a serious discussion with him as to what a sufficient amount of attention to details means.

Given the fact that Sokos Hotel Villa also promotes itself as a hotel for business travelers, I would expect them to pay more attention to the fact that their wifi works properly. Out of my three stays, the wifi has not worked properly twice. It has not been about poor performance or anything like that, but there simply has not been any wifi connectivity for a couple of hours.

Please note that there is no true lunch or dinner restaurant at the hotel. You can buy some sweet and salty snacks at a reasonable price down in the reception/lounge area, but do not expect any gourmet experience. By the way, who on earth told them to stuff red pepper into every possible piece of bread that they sell there? Fortunately, there are some excellent restaurants, such as Hella & Huone, C, and Bertha, within a reasonable walking distance from the hotel.

Some other quick observations and things... I have never had the breakfast at this hotel, as - based on my experience from the other Sokos hotels - they tend to be rather "industrial" in taste. The reception staff has always been very friendly, willing to cater to my needs and requests, and very knowledgeable about what to do in Tampere. The parking garage is literally below the hotel, so its location is very convenient.

To summarize, I have not stayed at Sokos Hotel Villa because it is an excellent hotel. I have stayed there because it is one of the best hotels in Tampere, and there are honestly no better ones available. Also, you should note that the average hotel room rate in Tampere is about the same as in Helsinki nowadays, so the supply and demand do not always meet in Tampere where there is no shortage of Soviet-style or semi-Soviet-style hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkoSHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampere hotels
0.0 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni Tampere
0.3 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Tammer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Tampere Station
Scandic Tampere Station
#1 of 25 in Tampere
787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lapland Hotel Tampere
Lapland Hotel Tampere
#8 of 25 in Tampere
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
#10 of 25 in Tampere
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Villa

Address: Sumeliuksenkatu 14, Tampere 33100, Finland
Region: Finland > Pirkanmaa > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tampere
Price Range: £111 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Original Sokos Hotel Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The completely renovated and air conditioned Sokos Hotel Villa has opened!! Modern 6-story Hotel situated next to Tullintori Shopping Mall, in Tampere city center. Hotel is located in an old grain storage on the Tullintori square, will undergo a complete renovation except for the exterior walls. The renovation has brought a completely new design for the hotel's rooms, lobby and bar. The renovated hotel features an air conditioning system as well as renewed bathrooms and electrics. In July, the hotel will have three additional rooms, which brings the total number of rooms to 99. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Tampere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing