We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Tampere Station
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Tampere
Certificate of Excellence
Espoo
Level Contributor
122 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

What a beautifully designed hotel - simply loved the pink, grey and black style of it. The room looked very trendy and was big and modern. The bathroom was spacious and simply excellent - for once a lot of space around the sink, a big bonus!!! The location is excellent too, easy access from the railway station and very close to shopping and restaurant areas.
Staff was helpful and friendly and breakfast had something for every kind of taste! Delicious and very Finnish! I'd definitely recommend this hotel for everyone who plans to go to Tampere and would love to stay at a beautifully designed, modern hotel with a friendly atmosphere and close to everything!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadCalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear aleightonbrown,

Thank you for your visit with us and your excellent review. It´s really nice to have feedback like this. We are so happy to hear that you had great time in Tampere with us and you liked our interior design by dSign Vertti Kivi & Co.

Have a nice day and welcome again!

Best regards,
Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    315
    51
    11
    1
See reviews for
110
183
43
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

This was my first time staying at a Scandic and I was very impressed. My room was huge as was the bathroom both of which had nice fittings. The choice at breakfast was absolutely huge and as I only spent one night in Finland it was nice to be able to try some more Finnish things that I'd not had at dinner. This was my first trip to the Nordic countries and it was in Summer; I don't know what the standard is but I thought that the curtains would be designed to block out more light at night. Apart from that the location is great, just a few minutes from the main street and despite the fact it's right next to the railway tracks it was very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aleightonbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear aleightonbrown,

Thank you for your stay at Scandic Tampere Station and your great review.
I´m glad to hear that you were statisfied for our room and breakfast.
It´s only couple of month during summer that we have this bright in Finland, but as you know, then it´s bright allmost all night. We look forward to see you again!

Bet wishes,
Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I only stayed here for a couple of nights on a recent business trip.
Parking is very convenient in the basement and reasonably priced. The location of the hotel is also great for the railway station as the name implies but I was not disturbed by any noise of passing trains.
The rooms are modern and comfortably furnished, the bathroom was clean and efficiently laid out, as is usual in Finland.
We had a couple of beers in the bar while we were waiting to go for dinner and the service in the bar was polite and attentive.
Breakfast meant a pretty comprehensive choice of fruit, cereal, breads, and the usual bacon and eggs but the local blood sausage speciality was also on the menu.
I can't fault the hotel at all, it lived up to the usual Scandic efficiency, comfort and value for money that I am used to and I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SatuG, Front Desk Duty Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Jonathan M.

Thank you for your stay at Scandic Tampere Station and your nice review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our hotel. I hope we can wish you welcome soon again.

Wishing you a nice and sunny summer!

With best regards,

Satu G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We liked this modern hotel last year and came back this year.

Modern but cosy rooms, friendly staff and little things that usually annoy hotel guests were missing (eg. there was a night light in the bathroom - very good for families with little children...). Our room was facing the railways, but we couldn't hear a thing, not a single noise. The breakfast covered all tastes very well. The only thing we missed from last year was the fresh juice squeezer, which made last year's visit a kind of luxury.

Will visit again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miiavaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Miiavaan,

Thank you for your stay at Scandic Tampere Station and your excellent review.
We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to see your family again!

Sunny greetings from all of our team members!

Best regards,
Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stayed for a night about one year after opening, could notice that rooms were kind of "cheaply done", in my opinion shouldn´t be in that worn out condition if made from good quality materials. Would like more about not-so-modern hotell, but this is the Scandic way today... Room was poorly hoovered.

Nice and helpfull personel at the reception!

At the restaurant (afternoon, after lunch time) got feeling that was disturbing waitress; would like to buy a coffee and got one for free because it was old, left from luch...

Great location; love railways and it`s next door to concert place Tullikamari/Pakkahuone.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lzu-Rma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Lzu-Rma,

Thank you for your stay at Scandic Tampere Station and your good review. I´m glad to hear that our reception staff was helpful. I´m really sorry that your room was not cleaned according to our standards, and apologize that you got disturbing feeling in restaurant, it should newer be like that.

We hope to see you again, so we can show we are worth to visit.

Enjoy the summer!

Best regards,
Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

The hotel was new, centrally located within few minutes from the railway station. The room was modern, but quite small. The overall premises were very ok, but couple of other issues ruined our stay:
First, the sleep quality was very bad:
- The hotel is next to the railway. The noise from bypassing trains woke us. Traffic noise could also be heard.
- Poor ac, the room got hot in the night
- Very thick pillows.
Second, the service was terrible:
- A waitor was waveing us at the restaurant. I walked to the waitor and he said:"Could you take your menus from the table there, so I do not need to bring them to you." We also had to walk back to the waitor to make the order and to pay.
- All staff was totally ignorant pretty much about everything.

Poor stay, I will not stay again.

Room Tip: None. Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iinatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Hi Iinatravel,

Thank you for your stay at Scandic Tampere Station and your review.
I´m really sorry that you stay did not went well. Hotel is located in the city center, so there is always some "city noices", but the hotel soundproof is excellent compared to older buildings. Room temperature is around 21 celcius in every room and you may control it +/- 1 celcius.

We invest a lot of time for our service training, so I agree, the service you received is not acceptable. I apologize on behalf of our all team member.

Kind regards,
Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Leopoldo, RS
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

The hotel is very modern. The shower and the breakfast were really good. It is not noisy even being next to the train station (I stayed on the other side of the building, not facing the station). What I didn’t like about it is the fact that we can open only 5 centimeters of the window. I imagine it is to save energy because of the central air conditioning in the room. But the weather was nice outside (it was end of May) and it would have been lovely to receive fresh air in the room. The biggest problem for me was exactly the air conditioning: it was so cold for me. My heater didn’t turn on during the first night (there is an air conditioning that we can’t control, and there is a heater). I complained at the reception. They sent somebody from the maintenance who said my room was with 23 degrees celcius. No way! It was colder than outside, and the temperature outside was around 16 or 17 degrees. I had to sleep with two blankets. Apart from that, staff is very friendly and speaks good English. There are bikes that the guests can use for free.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Liilii_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Liilii_T

Thank you for your stay at Scandic Tampere Station and your kind review.
I´m really sorry you faced troubles with the heating in the room. We monitor room temperatures every day to be 21 or more, so I´m little bit suprised for this. I´ll promise to go through this with our maintence.

We look forward to see you soon again!

Sunny summer wishes,
Mikko M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampere hotels
0.4 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
0.2 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni Tampere
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Tammer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scandic Tampere City
Scandic Tampere City
#5 of 25 in Tampere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lapland Hotel Tampere
Lapland Hotel Tampere
#8 of 25 in Tampere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Tampere Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Tampere Station

Property: Scandic Tampere Station
Address: Ratapihankatu 37, Tampere 33100, Finland
Region: Finland > Pirkanmaa > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Tampere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Tampere Station 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and trendy city hotel in the heart of Tampere with a relaxed and stylish bistro and lobby bar, Gym, sauna, Scandic Shop, the lovely summer terrace and 5 meeting rooms. We also offer a private car park with 53 spaces, as well as wireless internet throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Tampere Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing