We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, clean room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Tampere Station
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Tampere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was my third trip to this hotel, it is very close to the city centre and the railway station. I was this time given a smaller room without an arm chair, which was really nice the last time I stayed here. This room was ok, clean but quite small. The breakfast was good and I thought the service was also good. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. In my opinion this is a nice hotel, I will be back in a couple of weeks again.

Room Tip: The rooms are quite small in size, ask for a larger room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LoHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi LoHel,

Great to hear you had once again nice stay with us. Thank you for your review and being loyal guest, which we appreciate a lot. We all wish you warm and sunny summer an look forward to see you again!

Kind regards,
Mikko M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

if you have small children then this is the hotel to stay at. Kids seem to be able to run around and be as noisy as possible throughout breakfast! we had to sit outside (which was nicer anyway) to escape the chaos. Rooms are nice and new, and comfortable (we had 2 adjoining rooms). BUT very little attempt in cleaning by staff the next day. All our used towels were left on the floor, fresh ones were not provided, the bath/shower was not wiped down, a coffee cup was just left on the bench...and the beds were not really made at all...etc. Very disappointed to come back to the room after a day out. I left reception know and fresh towels were brought up, but looking at other reviews it seems this might be common!
Again - more staff required on front desk when busy!!!!!!
This is my second scandic hotel stay (first one in turku and second one in tampere), and will definitely NOT BE coming back to either.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank aussiegirlie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear aussiegirl2014,

Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. I´m sorry to hear that you were not so satisfied for your stay. July is the most common holiday month for Finnish families, and because ot the popular and famous amustment park in the city, lot of families are staying in hotels during the July. Normally it is more calm at the breakfast and hotel overall. I will have discussion about your experience with our houskeeping team members. Towels should be changed if you put them on a floor and beds should be made during the day cleaning. Please accept my apologies for these mistakes on cleaning.

Have a nice summer and welcome again!

Best regards,
Mikko M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Context for this review: I rarely stay at "family hotels" or at chains, so my criticisms might be unfair. Let me start with what was great: the room itself was large and modern with great flexible design and cheerful colors. Seriously good design (think: ottoman cum storage drawer cum footrest cum extra desk seating). Plenty of storage, good minibar, generous desk space, decent window with a side panel that opens. Tub was small but shower was hot and strong. And the hotel is quiet (we were on the 6th floor). What was good: friendly staff, value for money, the scandic extras (money to spend in the mini bar, e.g.), and location. Close to the train station, but "the wrong side of the tracks" for the cultural stuff I was most interested in - museums, charming shops, good restaurants. Not so good: crowds, restaurant and housekeeping. Again, I'm not a family hotel person so maybe the kind of swarm at breakfast is normal. We ate in the restaurant our first night, and it wasn't to my taste: filling portions, but a bit heavy and bland. Re housekeeping: I would say it was clean, esp the bathroom, but not tidy. Our duvets were just hauled up to the top of the bed, with no effort to tuck in the bottom sheet, smooth wrinkles, etc. One day the footpad was missing. And we didn't seem to get cleaning most days until late afternoon (I'm sure you could ask for it earlier). Bed was ok. They do a brisk trade, so you'll always be second or third in line at reception if you have a question. When the staff get to you, though, they are very friendly. I might stay here again for business - there are not a lot of options in Tampere - but then again I might try for something more intimate.

Room Tip: I think the higher rooms are quieter - but maybe also more $$?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felix78901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear felix78901,

Thank you for your stay with us and writing a nice review. During the summer, all the hotels in Tampere are full of families, because the popular and great amusment park in the city. Normally our hotel is more for adults on business or leisure. I´m sorry about few mistakes on cleaning, we will go this through with the housekeeping team members. Day cleaning is done between 10 am and 4 pm. There is no extra cost for the higher location if it´s a standard room, but most of the rooms are located on 2-5 floors.

Have nice summer and welcome again!

Best regards,
Mikko M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Pros: Station-front location, nice breakfast (starts at 07:00, wish it were 06:00), easy access to S Market (supermarket), short walk to Tampere University.

Cons: Sauna hours too short (18:00-22:00), sauna room too small (2 is a company, 3 is a crowd, 4 is impossible).

Room Tip: I stayed in room 307. If you love trains like I do, you get to see the station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antwerpen-centraal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi antwerpen-centraal,

Thank you for staying at Scandic Tampere Station and writing a nice review.
Breakfast start at 7 only during the summer. Normally on business season, it will start already at 6.30. I´m sorry about the small sauna, but glad to hear, that otherwise you had nice stay with us.

Enjoy the summer and welcome again!

Best regards,
Mikko M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a superior extra room. Rooms were modern, spacious and nice. We enjoyed the sauna in our room and our balcony. The room was quiet eventhough there is a busy road next to the hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mari N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi Mari R,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and your kind review. It´s nice to hear that your visit went so well. Just one little correction, you have stayed in Superior Plus room, because in those rooms we have sauna and balcony.

We look forward to see you again!

Best summer wishes,
Mikko M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a very contempory furnished hotel and usually I prefer olde worlde or quirky but ....... our one night stay here before our flight back to Milan was a very nice experience. Met with a smile from a very competent receptionist, lovely room on the 6th floor, ULTRA CLEAN, I nearly didn't get in the bath I was afraid to dirty it, lol. Our room was very big, massive bed which was ultra comfortable, big tv with a good selection of channels, (movie channels mostly in English and they were free with our spring saver booking). Coffee & tea in the room, ice machine in the corridor, as was a shoe-cleaning machine.
Breakfast was excellent. It's not your typical English fried breakfast, but you get all the rest and a lot more, too. I was more than satisfied with this hotel and would have no problem returning there or recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisaitalyMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear IisaitalyMilan,

Thank you for staying at Scandic Tampere Station and writing an excellent review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Superior Extra room and our breakfast.

We hope to see you soon again!

Best regards,
Mikko M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I was in Tampere on business and had never stayed in the new Scandic Station hotel before, so chose that to get a new experience. I went to Tampere without knowing if i would stay in my room for 12 or 5 hours, so I chose a Superior Extra room to make my stay more comfortable in case my meeting would end early and I would stay in the room for a bit more than just the mandatory sleep period.

I went to Tampere by train and had a 2 minute walk from the station to the hotel. After climbing upstairs from street level I arrived to hotel reception. I was welcomed by a trainee who knew what she was doing. I got to make some wishes regarding the whereabouts of my room and chose to be as high up as possible. I was given keys to a Superior Extra room in the 7th floor and was told that in addition to being larger than standard rooms, my room had free movie channels.

I went up to the room and saw a very modern room which was clean and bright in colors, but not in a "we tried too hard to be modern" -type of a way. The room was larger than the average Finnish hotel room, but I would still not call it roomy, but rather close to standard. The bathroom was nice, with a bathtub that I also chose over a shower at check-in.

I went to my meeting, later arriving back to the hotel to change my clothes just to go out again in less than an hour. During this time I checked the movie channels which were limited to Disney channel and two Finnish movie channels. If this is why I paid extra for the Superior Extra room, I have to say I can't recommend to go over standard.

The following morning the breakfast was great as it tends to be in all Scandics in Finland. The restaurant is new and modern as is the whole hotel and I'm sure no one will have anything to complain about this.

All in all Scandic Tampere Station is a very nice hotel. All hotels in Tampere are ridiculously expensive and having chosen the Superior extra room I paid 179e for the night which did not prove to be good value. I would recommend choosing the standard room or one of the better rooms in Scandic Tampere City (500m away on the other side of the train tracks) if they are better priced.

Room Tip: Go for standard, it's best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Topi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikko M, Front Office Manager at Scandic Tampere Station, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Topi S,

Thank you for choosing Scandic Tampere Station for your place to stay and writing a review.
We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us. Also the movies on deamand are included to the Superior Extra room, so there is more than those channels that you mentioned. I'm sorry we weren't clear enough to explain you that.

Sunny summer regards,
Mikko M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampere hotels
0.2 mi away
Lapland Hotel Tampere
Lapland Hotel Tampere
#8 of 26 in Tampere
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Tampere City
Scandic Tampere City
#7 of 26 in Tampere
676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Tammer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni Tampere
0.4 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampere - Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Tampere Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Tampere Station

Address: Ratapihankatu 37, Tampere 33100, Finland
Region: Finland > Pirkanmaa > Tampere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Tampere
Price Range: £88 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Tampere Station 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and trendy city hotel in the heart of Tampere with a relaxed and stylish bistro and lobby bar, Gym, sauna, Scandic Shop, the lovely summer terrace and 5 meeting rooms. We also offer a private car park with 53 spaces, as well as wireless internet throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scandic Tampere Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing