We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant restaurant with good selections of beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tuulensuu

Tuulensuu
Ranked #38 of 436 Restaurants in Tampere
Price range: US$21 - US$28
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant restaurant with good selections of beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

I've been to this place many times, and it's a very reliable place. The staff is knowledgeable about beers, and the kitchen prepares tasty continental European styled food. I think it's fairly popular among the locals, and the atmosphere is pleasant.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MK-1755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    38
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If you can stomach local service...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Gastro Pub does not really sound too good for vegetarians (with fish), but we were to face a pleasant surprise one weekday evening after the place being recommended by a friend.

Artichokes marinated in hops was a new, but pleasant acquaintance and with country style potatoes a perfect match for the first beers of the evening. Fried zucchini, puy lentils & tomato with Romesco sauce was the Prince of the evening winning over the creamed chanterelles, oven baked turnips and sugar peas by an inch or two. However the extensive drink list was really the King. The staff has a charming habit of taking off somewhere in the world in order to get to know the best beverages in that region and then ordering them to Finland for also the rest of us to enjoy. Last time they had been to Poland... and for us, who had just moved to Tampere from Poland, it was the happiest news! Our favourite was an Polish IPA called Brackie, of which we had never heard in Poland, but which turned out the be one of the best beers we had ever had in our lives! Strong, tasty, happy drink that almost brought tears to our eyes. Some Polish vodkas also available. Unfortunately, was my first thought the following morning... Try the Siwucha if you are to try only one!

Perhaps the service was with a local attitude or something, but I felt it almost verging on being rude at times and then again not. And in the end there was an accidental 85 euros of extra in our bill, lucking that was noticed by as and the extra cost duly erased, of course. Well, taking the same relaxed attitude towards the staff that they had for us, we finally had an excellent and happily drunk evening.

Tuulensuu can be highly recommended, but do not go the on the school night!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sami H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very nice place and great location. Relaxed atmosphere and great place to spend evening with friends. Nice selection of drinks and food is so good! Try for starter beerplate or mussels in beer. And for main I'd recommend the lambmeatballs, so good and sure to get your tummy full. And the prices ain't bad either.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good restaurant, but a great gastropub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Tuulensuu is my favourite pub in Tampere. They serve good food for decent prices, but where they actually shine is their drink selection. They have quite a wide variety of different kinds of beers, wines and spirits on offer and most of their staff knows enough about their selection to help with finding the right choices from the wide selection.

I personally love the place, but it is a gastropub, not a fine dining restaurant, so while they serve good food, it is mostly quite simple and the service isn't geared towards high end dining. But if you're looking for decent food and excellent beverages I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arhiippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ylojarvi, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“French-German cross kitchen success”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

They fry the crispiest Schnitzel you'd die for, and you are free to change the side dish. The menu is wide, after having enough of the only real Schnitzel in Tampere you might want to go for their delicate lamb liver. The selection of beer is quite remarkable, the prices very reasonable and very good value of money and the overall atmosphere relaxed and easy-going. The only flaw is the staff, which alsi is relaxed and easy-going, sometimes even a bit too much.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tuulensuu also viewed

Tampere, Pirkanmaa
Tampere, Pirkanmaa
 
Tampere, Pirkanmaa
 

Been to Tuulensuu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing