We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, great location”
Review of Scandic Julia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Julia
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value for money, great location”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed at the Julia for two nights and found it to be great value for money. I stayed in room 531, facing Southeast towards the river. The room was very modern and had 4 power outlets at the desk alone, one next to each bed plus a few around the corners. No problem having your mobile recharged, laptop running, camera battery getting recharged etc. I wish all hotels would have that many power outlets, it was a great relief. The key card had to be in a holder next to the door for the power in the room to be on and the outlets to be working though. Breakfast is a chapter of its own - excellent selection, lots of it and the staff doesn't begin to remove the dishes and food before closing time. One positive/negative thing is that everything pretty much is lactose free or low lactose and consequently the scrambled eggs tasted a bit funny to me. The only problem I spotted was that there was a door to an outside parking area a couple of rooms down the hall from the room, and whenever it was closed it slammed shut, sending shockwaves through the hotel and caused me to jump to some degree the first few times. There's free WiFi, you get a little slip for two devices with a user name and password for each day you stay there, and you need to switch to a new user name and password each day. At night the front door is locked and you have to push a ringer next to the door and peek into a little camera to have the door opened, but it's answered quickly. The hotel is in a building above a mall, you take escalators from the ground floor up to the reception and from there elevators to get to your room. The building also houses a parking garage on two floors in the middle level of the building but you only really notice in the elevators because you need to use your room keycard in them to make them go up the the floors with the rooms. Location is excellent, in the second block Northeast from Salutorget, the central square. Generally the Julia is great value for money, you can stay there and not have to worry about it but get on with being a tourist, doing business or whatever you're there for. I'll happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Southeast are away from the busy road in front of the hotel and probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suitcasewheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    252
    84
    14
    8
See reviews for
161
136
18
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Good locatin in city center
Room was clean and nice deco
As an techguy i did like that the room tv had rca, vga and hdmi inputs for external sources as pc or dvd.
For kids there was play room.

I did not like the entrance of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Scandic Julia is well located hotel in the middle of Turku. Short distances to Aura river banks, Hansa shopping center and the the marker square.

Hotel itself is newly renovated and because of this very clean and fresh. The reception area is light and spacious. The rooms are simple and minimalistic style and clean. The bathroom is a bit boring, would have hoped a bit more imagination from the designer.

There could be also more amenities or amenities in general in the bathroom, especially in the Superior room. Now there is only hand soap and shampoo/conditioning/shower gel all in one in the shower.

In the superior room there are tea and coffee making facilities, but no minibar. However, there is a small kiosk next to the reception where you can buy small snacks.

The breakfast is generous Scandic style with good selection of breads, cold cuts, cheese, hot products, fruits, cerials and jogurts.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This hotel is centrally situated in Turku, the entrance is actually on the second floor of a small shopping center. You can basically walk to most parts of the city. It was clean with medium to small rooms.Breakfast is very good and generous as often found in Scandinavia.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caro089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This was a nice hotel with friendly staff and everything working smoothly and efficiently. I stayed only one night but will most likely stay there again.

Location is just about perfect; a few steps from the river and all the restaurants and shops are close by. Railway station in Turku is not centrally located and to the hotel is about 20 minutes walk. In front of the hotel is a bus stop and buses no 8, 20, 32 and 42 from the railway station stop there. All the buses in Turku drive via market square that is 300 meters from the hotel.

Hotel has undergone complete renovation a year ago. Now the interior is very modern with high-tech lightning and black-grey-white colour scheme. Everything looks the same as the photos at the hotel website. I was surprised though that when renovating no fire sprinklers were installed to the rooms, just an automatic fire alarm system.

I had a twin room on the fifth floor facing the back side. Room was quiet and nice. Desk to do some work and several electric sockets to plug in laptop and phone. Good size flat screen TV with foreign channels. Only negative things in the room were that the bed was bit hard and pillow clumpy.

Breakfast buffet was good. I especially liked that there was a good selection of fresh fruits. I did not dine at the hotel even though the menu was very tempting.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street have a better view, many towards the Cathedral and the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sininen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Although not being a fan of the usual average scandic hotel, this performed good. Fast check-in. Rooms small but nice and clean. Average bed. Breakfast is nice with a big buffet. Located on a nice central location in Turku.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This hotel has been recently renovated and the facelift is indeed an improvement. However, it is true to Scandic DNA. Scandic originally was a chain of motels, and they seem to be more true to their heritage than for a while. They call it eco-friendly, I call it cost cutting and making your guest feel guilty.

My taxi had trouble stopping in front of the hotel and according to my driver that is always the case. Then you enter a mall with Lidl in your face - not very welcoming. The lobby on second floor (ground floor in Finland is first floor) you see a space which is a combination of a reception and parking lot entrance. Staff is friendly and welcoming, but they cannot mask the lack of spirit in the space provided. Going up to your room, first two floors are actually parking space....

The room - cheap and cheerful.... No wardrobes, racks and shelves are covered with curtains. Laptop safe, but the sockets have been blocked so I presume there hasn't been room for electricity(?). Be prepared to fetch ice from the corridor, as there is no minibar in the room (or in any other room - management decision during the renovation). This also means that you have no glasses for e.g. wine in the room. Lighting is a bit odd, strong light by the door cannot be switched off, it is part of the room lights and thus you cannot have dimmed mood lightning in the room (even if this is "provided"). Ceiling has had some water issues and is stained.

Bed is ok for sleep, but bedding again is again a bit NHS - clinical before sumptuous.

This trip was for a pleasant and comfortable stay. A bit boring springs to mind. Perhaps ok if you need a room for one night whilst on business, but not great for a romantic stay. AV / internet set-up good, but proofs my point. Toiletries a bit YMCA. So if you need a bit of extra, shop around - other hotels in town might cater for that.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HedonistLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turku hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku
0.1 mi away
Centro Hotel Turku
Centro Hotel Turku
#3 of 17 in Turku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scandic Plaza Turku
Scandic Plaza Turku
#4 of 17 in Turku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Turku
Park Hotel Turku
#7 of 17 in Turku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cumulus Turku Hotel
Cumulus Turku Hotel
#9 of 17 in Turku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Julia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Julia

Property: Scandic Julia
Address: Eerikinkatu 4, Turku 20100, Finland
Region: Finland > Southwest Finland > Turku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Turku
#2 Luxury Hotel in Turku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Julia 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel located right in the centre of the city, close to the River Aura and trendy Vähätori square. All the city's major sights and entertainment highlights are within easy reach of our hotel, including museums and Turku Castle. All of the shopping centres, the marketplace and market hall, and the University of Turku are also all within walking distance. Scandic Julia is the 1st hotel in Turku to receive the Nordic Ecolabel according to its new criteria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Julia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Julia Hotel Turku
Turku Scandic Julia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing