We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room with an own sauna”
Review of Scandic Julia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Julia
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice room with an own sauna”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at Scandic Julia on September 20-22. The room 614 with an own sauna was exellent. It was very relaxing after golf to enjoy the sauna at your own room.
The breakfast was also very good with large fresh sortiments.
In the night 5 o'clock we woke up when the fire alarm started to ring and they rang quite a long time. Thank's God it was inaccurate.

Room Tip: Room 614 have own sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalevi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    252
    84
    14
    8
See reviews for
161
136
18
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The location is good, near the center of Turku and near a nice walk along the river.

Check in was quick, and I was really impressed with the young lady who was at the front desk. She got me signed up with Scandic Friends and happily handed over discount tickets for the store. She also gave me a nice room overlooking the Cathedral

The room was very basic, but comfortable. My main complaint was not being able to walk around barefoot in the room. Everywhere I went, I had stuff stuck to the bottom of my foot. The bathroom is very basic, just a shower stall.

Breakfast was typical Scandinavian with some additional options. I was a bit concerned with the number of fruit flies that were actually not on the fruit but all over the bread that was served.

Check out took a bit longer, as it was 8am and everyone was leaving. Allot enough time for this!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, not looking over the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alm5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

At arrival I was asked to pay extra for the room that I booked, although I had a fixed price because I booked via a travel agency. I don't really understand why I would have to pay extra to get what I booked?!?

Rooms is really nothing special. Very small bathroom with shower only.

Great choice at breakfast though!

My colleagues' room was not cleaned at the end of the day.

I will not stay here again though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel is a step up from what it was last time I stayed here in 2009. They have renovated it and it is clean and semi-stylish. The fact that they stop serving breakfast at 9:30 am reflects upon Scandics retreat from being customer hospitable (before it was 10:00). The sauna closes at 21:00 (before at Scandics usually 22:00). There is a charge for late check-out as well. Basically, Scandic in general is moving toward a more profitable business model at the expense of it's clients. They think that by promoting themselves as a more "friendly" hotel chain they can win customers over but long time Scandic clients are not being fooled by this shabby branding scheme.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinLocksley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsloo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
143 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Various times I've been to "Julia".
Nice spacious lounge and bar.
Always friendly staff even at late arrivals.
Shop at reception is a bit expensive but with a Lidl and a grocery store downstairs you have more options.
The city centre is just one block away with it's numerous restaurants.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank daved510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haemeenlinna, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I Spend couple of nights in Scandic Julia at end of June. Parking was easy and affordable priced. Location in city center of Turku is great and many good restaurants within 3 minutes walk. We were part of soccer team and everything worked very well for group as well. Practical and clean rooms with very confortable beds. Breakfast offered wide variety of food. Front desk was very helpfull in all questions.

Room Tip: Superior extra room is very spacious and worth of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikko_Tuomainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Great location, easy to access with a car or by foot. Got our car on the street beside hotel, and during nighttime did no have to pay for parking. River with it's beautiful sights and walkways, walking bridges is right around the corner. Many nice shops here around this hotel. Stayed here with two children. Sofa to sleep for them together was just enough big for a 4 and 9 year old. Bed was ok, room pretty tidy and silent. During breakfast time in July middle of the week it was very crowded and food was usual as it is in many average finnish hotel restaurants, not that fresh as it could be. Service was fast at the front desk. Well worth the money, not anything special, but ok. Nothing much to complain. Many great attractions close by, and for example easy access to boats to Sweden and Moominland about 10 kilometers away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nappinena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turku hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku
0.1 mi away
Centro Hotel Turku
Centro Hotel Turku
#3 of 17 in Turku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scandic Plaza Turku
Scandic Plaza Turku
#4 of 17 in Turku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Turku
Park Hotel Turku
#7 of 17 in Turku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cumulus Turku Hotel
Cumulus Turku Hotel
#9 of 17 in Turku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Julia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Julia

Property: Scandic Julia
Address: Eerikinkatu 4, Turku 20100, Finland
Region: Finland > Southwest Finland > Turku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Turku
#2 Luxury Hotel in Turku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Julia 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel located right in the centre of the city, close to the River Aura and trendy Vähätori square. All the city's major sights and entertainment highlights are within easy reach of our hotel, including museums and Turku Castle. All of the shopping centres, the marketplace and market hall, and the University of Turku are also all within walking distance. Scandic Julia is the 1st hotel in Turku to receive the Nordic Ecolabel according to its new criteria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Scandic Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Julia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Julia Hotel Turku
Turku Scandic Julia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing