We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, central, friendly and good value for money.”
Review of Centro Hotel Turku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Centro Hotel Turku
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

There are more many more plusses than minuses to this place from my experience. The room was spotless, shower powerful, bed comfortable, room quiet and reception service both efficient and helpful. The location is both secluded and very central at the same time. There is also free parking in the courtyard. Best price quoted was from the hotel itself which offered a comfort room for a lower price than a smaller room on the booking sites. If I'm being picky, there was no stationary in the room which was annoying when I needed to make a note of something -the hallways are fairly dank which no decoration and the building itself looks more like a multi-storey carpark than a hotel. However, once inside this hotel is very pleasant and good value for money compared to what else is on offer in Turku. Tip: the Chinese restaurant literally next door did excellent food with very generous portions...recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our 1-night stay in this small and stylish hotel in downtown Turku. The staff person at the desk was very friendly and helpful. The room was pleasant, very clean, functional, with little touches of sleek Scandinavian design. Free parking available in the courtyard and the breakfast (included in the price) was very plentiful, with fruits, cheeses, cold meats, a variety of herring and salmon, etc. The two small 'downsides' that keep me from giving this hotel an "excellent" rating: 1) We could get WiFi in our room on our iPad and laptop, but not on our smart phones, so Wifi in our location was not strong; and 2) In the summer, the temperature at night wa in the high 70s and the room window could only be propped open about 3 inches. The hotel did have a nice desk fan, which helped, but I'd recommend that the hotel do something to allow the windows to get a bit more air. Other than this small suggestions, we felt that the hotel was a great value when visiting Turku and the Finnish Archipelago.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneLRooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

For a central city hotel, the Centro is pleasantly small, not dominating on the landscape. It is located in a courtyard, surrounded by larger buildings - and hence shielded from traffic noises. At the same time, it offers convenient access to the amenities of the riverfront, to the two universities, to the market square, and to the transportation terminals. The bus to and from Helsinki Airport is only a few blocks away. The basic single-bedded room is amply sized, with a comfortable bed, desk, and storage. The bathroom is not large, but functions well. Shower, not tub. Very quiet. The included breakfast is a highlight. There is literally something for everybody on the buffet tables: hot and cold cereals, cold cuts, cheeses, fish, salads, and a large variety of baked goods, together with varied choices in beverages (including lactose-free milk). Guests appear to find this breakfast entirely enjoyable. A simpler selection of food is available at other times of day at the reception desk. Free use of a computer with excellent connectivity is available throughout the day in the main lobby. Hotel staff were uniformly friendly and helpful

The Centro appears to assume that Turku temperatures are moderate at best. Alas, I was there during a heat wave. Without air conditioning, the guest rooms were hot. Fortunately, the windows could be opened. Together with an in-room fan, this helped somewhat, but the heat wave lessened what otherwise would have been an exemplary hotel experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bill350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The stay was really excellent and the room sizes are much bigger than what the rest or Europe normally offers. The included breakfast offers a wide variety of dishes that gives you the option to vary. All dishes served were really tasty and there was plenty of everything.

The staff of the hotel was more than pleasant, they were excellent. They all spoke perfect english, was more than helpful even when I made requests for additional information regarding services located around the hotel. Even on the last day of checkout, I could leave my bags for free until my bus back to Helsinki arrived.

Location of the hotel is not on the market square but very close to it. I actually prefer it this way since it is nice and silent at night this way. The river is a very short walk away, no more than 5 minutes where a wide variety of restaurants is available.

My only complaint is the heat. There is no air conditioning so it gets HOT in the rooms, up to 30 degrees at times during the day with 26 degrees not uncommon at night. Since the window only opens a little bit, you have to rely on the fan that cannot cool the whole room. I understand this is only a problem in summertime but would make me opt for a air-conditioned hotel next time round if it is summertime.

All in all, really enjoyed my stay, thank you!

Room Tip: The hotel can be hard to find at first since the building is located in the middle of a block. Make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perscrutator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Family room a not a family room, only ok for 2 people. It had 2 single beds and a small corner sofa meant to sleep 2, it was so small, my 8 and 11 year old couldn't fit, plus it was very uncomfortable. The shower was very mouldy, the worst I have seen in a hotel. The fan was so noisy we couldn't use it.

At least we had a nice breakfast and it is located near the river.

Room Tip: Don't choose a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KG65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Everything is fine at Cenrtro Hotel in Turku (Åbo), but not the temperature in my little room for 2 in 2. floor. As hot as 27 celsius is too much for many people trying to sleep. This hotel-rooms need aircondition for use in juny/july. The ceiling fan helped a little, but my wife did not allow me to use this at middle or strong power-setting. I open the window but then it smelled sewage, so we had to close the window. When we wake up this morning it was 26 Celsius, and I had not sleep few hours and was very tired. I am from Norway and I am used to have between 16-20 celsius when I sleep depending on time at year, but 27 is too much. However it is possible that it is only this few very little rooms with bed for two people, who have this big problem with too high temperature at summertime. The staff here is very good/helpful, clean and nice interior in the rooms and fresh and nice breakfast.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank zkima123 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The rooms are quite clean but give you a very cheap feel. There's no air conditioning, no fridge and man I do hate those shower curtains. The breakfast was ok, but there was very little left, much of which was never replaced. There where no more parking spots at the hotel so we had to park on the steer, for a hefty fee.
On the upside, it's really close to the city center but that is pretty much it. People, stay elsewhere if you want an experience to remember.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AndyLA76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turku hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku
0.1 mi away
Scandic Julia
Scandic Julia
#3 of 17 in Turku
600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scandic Plaza Turku
Scandic Plaza Turku
#2 of 17 in Turku
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Turku
Park Hotel Turku
#5 of 17 in Turku
124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cumulus Turku Hotel
Cumulus Turku Hotel
#9 of 17 in Turku
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centro Hotel Turku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centro Hotel Turku

Address: Yliopistonkatu 12a | Inner Courtyard, Turku 20100, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Southwest Finland > Turku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Price Range: £105 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centro Hotel Turku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centro Hotel is a modern boutique hotel right in downtown Turku - just a short walk from the market square, shops and museums. The hotel faces the inner courtyard and despite its central location, the atmosphere is tranquil. Trendy decor, modern art and a great breakfast are just a few reasons to choose Centro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Centro Hotel Turku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing