We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend with kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ruissalo Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ruissalo Spa Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Weekend with kids”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I, my friend and our two kids spent there a weekend in June 2014. We were happy with the pool area, although there were no special kids pool. there were plenty of possibilities for the kids to enjoy water. We were pretty much the youngest people on the house, but that was no problem for us - grannies were just happy to see kids (while I was apolozing their behavioiur). The rooms were dated but everyting worked ok. There were dust under the beds, so were all ended up with runny nose. Othervise the rooms and puclic premises were sufficiently clean.

Reception personnel was friendly, restaurant personnel tired with their job. It took 15 minutes to get a menu... also the food itself was a bit disappointment, salmon soup was excellent though! Breakfast was very basic, and not in a good way. Some things were tasty, but mostly it was not nothing special. The cakes and sandwiches at the lobby bar were really tasty though. Only thing was that it took over 20 minutes to get two glasses of wine and a salmon toast on the table.

The view to the sea is spectacular, also the whole island is a wonderful place to explore. There are also several cafe's along the road, Arboretum and golf course nearby to entertain yourself with.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    28
    28
    10
    4
See reviews for
19
35
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
137 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

An old fashioned destination spa resort.
Most of this very busy establishment, is filled with its target audience- the elderly & infirm.
There are even nursing facilities right in the building.
Two tiers of room categories; regular & mini-suites. Both really noisy, but far worse in the regular {small, basic} room.
Zero soundproofing- I can even hear normal decibel conversations next door.
A nearly endless racket of banging & slamming.
In contrast, there are relaxing views of Baltic Sea {Archipelago} inlets.
A nice & lively, expansive lobby- but then again, room comfort is much more important to me.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xerophytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed over weekend. The hotel was overall unclean everywhere, also rooms not cleaned well at all. In the spa area smelled bad. Very expensive cafe and restaurant services and very poor quality. Beautiful nature though but far from city centre, only good thing was bus connection to the city centre. Not worthwhile money at all. Not recommending for tourists at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilmaWils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Turku hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel when we went to Ruisrock Festival. Inside it looked like a hospital. There was no classiness , it wasn't modern, it just had a hospital feel. The reception staff looked very unhappy to be there and were quite rude. There was no air conditioning in the room, so it was very hot. The scenery outside was of course beautiful, but our room had a view of a concrete tennis court so my advice would be try to get a room with a view of the lake. The food from the a la carte menu was not nice at all, we had a pizza that was more oil/grease than pizza. We left at 7am to get the first bus back to Helsinki from Turku, we couldn't wait to get out of there!

Room Tip: Get a room with views of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We paid quite a good price for a relaxing weekend at Ruissalo Spa Hotel. For that money we got: hospital looking corridors, waiters that eat the customers' french fries from the plate (when they think no-one can see), a bunch of over 60 year-old Finns covering from surgeries etc., breakfast table that is too healthy (you can buy your own croissant at the café for 3,40€), spa that has basically only one pool that can be called a spa pool (although it was full of crawling 5-10 year old kids), very dirty men's dressing room BUT AN AMAZING VIEW TO THE SEE if your room is on the sea side. Also the gym was excellent if you don't count in the couples whose little kids were playing around with the machines while the parents were training.

My husband had also booked "pleasures from head to toes" treatment for me as a surprise. I went to the spa reception where a young lady made me go back to the main reception because her computer wasn't switched on yet. Couldn't use the telephone apparently... Somehow while I went away, another customer had sneaked into the treatment room under my name and was getting my massage instead of me. I was waiting for 20 minutes before the personnel found this out, threw out the wrong customer and took me in. I got my head massage but the treatment lady (nice though) didn't know what was included in my treatment and made me go and ask at the spa reception where there was no personnel available. Finally, at the main reception I found the first staff member who actually apologized for what had happened. She gave us 2 vouchers for coffee and pastry at the café. Later on I went to ask for another treatment for the next morning but there were no slots available. At that point I found out that they had booked the same treatment for me for the next morning. No-one had told me or asked if I could come. And they did charge a full price.

At least the treatment was nice when made by a real professional.

Oh, and if you want to use the slippers provided, you need to pay extra.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the sea side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marja971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempele, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The hotel is quite old. There were not a mini bar in the room, no air-conditioning. It was warm summer day, so the room was too warm. The breakfast was ok, but nothing special. The surraundings are very beautiful.

We paid 150 eur/night and the hotel was quite a dissapointment compered to that. I would pay max 70eur/night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

It is pleasant area with woodland around and country walks; bikes are kept to a separate path. The bus service to/from Turku is very convenient (stops directly outside the hotel) and only 20 minutes. Food is well prepared and basic menu offerings of a pizza, burgers, salads, etc. service is very good with helpful smiley staff.

Room Tip: Go for south side, over-looking swimming pool and views over the sea. Noise from patio area can be l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rburtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turku
4.1 mi away
The Naantali Spa
The Naantali Spa
#1 of 2 in Naantali
355 reviews
5.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku
6.7 mi away
Holiday Club Caribia
Holiday Club Caribia
#11 of 17 in Turku
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Park Hotel Turku
Park Hotel Turku
#7 of 17 in Turku
103 reviews
6.0 mi away
Centro Hotel Turku
Centro Hotel Turku
#3 of 17 in Turku
245 reviews
5.9 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruissalo Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruissalo Spa Hotel

Property: Ruissalo Spa Hotel
Address: Ruissalon puistotie 640, Turku 20100, Finland
Phone Number:
Region: Finland > Southwest Finland > Turku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ruissalo Spa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruissalo Spa Hotel is a pleasant spa and conference hotel situated on the scenic Ruissalo Island, only a stone’s throw away from the centre of Turku. The new annex of the spa offers a distinguished and highly functional setting for successful conferences and corporate events. Wireless Internet service (WLAN) is at the disposal of our guests in the rooms, lobbies, conference rooms and Restaurant.The beautiful natural surroundings in Ruissalo, with its gorgeous oak groves and sea views, offer the perfect backdrop for a memorable experience. All services are provided in Finnish, Swedish and English. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruissalo Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing