We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in Vaasa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vaasa
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
“Good hotel in Vaasa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

A nice hotel in the city center , near to almost ewrything, Fransmanni is a nice restaurant , good service. Nice clean rooms. I had a room with a balcony , unusual for a hotel but nice, although my room was at the wery far end of the hotel and I had to go through a total of 4 hand operated doors to reach it , not easy with luggage in all hands

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jani B, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Peter,


Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
We are glad you liked your time here and enjoyed a good meal at our restaurant Fransmanni.

As you said it is a rarity to have balconies in hotel rooms but we do in fact have two on each floor in the Central building. As we have 285 rooms as a whole, some rooms are a bit further away then others.

As a reminder for all guests staying at our hotel:

Our staff is always willing to help with your luggage if you need assistance with them.


We look forward to seeing you again here in Vaasa!

Best regards,

Jani Blankenship
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    152
    102
    18
    7
See reviews for
53
52
25
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

the check in staff was excellent , he informed me of all the hotel had to offer , the mexican food the irish bar , he booked a taxi for me and gave me a supieor room , it was only one night so did not meet many more people,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jani B, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to hear everything went smoothly during your stay here at Vaasa. We pride ourselves with good customer service and are glad you enjoyed it.

We look forward to your next stay with us!

Best regards,

Jani Blankenship
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Hotel is nice, modern, good service. I stayed for few days with group for biz conference, location is on the mainstream. If youre goung on business, Try spending some more days to see places in the city

Room Tip: Main city l8cation, they can pick/drop you to airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina K, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Jen E,

Thank you for the review you have given us.
We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us!

The location we have is great, it takes 15 min drive from the airport. Railway station is just around the corner and we are just one block from the market square.

Ones again, thank you for the review and we hope to see you again when you are visiting Vaasa!

Best Regards,

Nina Keski-Vähälä
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Me and my partner came to Vaasa for two days for work, while he was out most of the day I spent hours in the hotel reading and writing for my studies. First we were given a superior room from the 6th floor. As the hotel consist of two separate buildings ours was on the other side of the road in an older, historical building. As you can read from previous reviews you can get there either by a short tunnel or simply crossing the street. Our room was big, clean, and faced the backyard. The only problem I personally felt was the noise of the nearby elevator. I am sensitive to noises when I need to concentrate on something, and after our delicious breakfast I decided to have a chat with the staff in the reception. A very friendly woman, whose name I unfortunately can't remember, upgraded us to the Business Class room! The room is even bigger and has a sauna in it! My partner after a very long day was really happy for the surprise too! The bed is huge with a very firm mattress, and everything was clean and comfortable. Rooms are not new and certainly in some parts shows their age, like having telephone by the toilet seat :-) but I don't have any complains whatsoever. We can also heartily recommend hotel's restaurant Fransmanni, where we had good food and very friendly service. We are planning to visit Vaasa someday and for leasure next time and we will most certainly stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a very light sleeper, ask for a room that is not close to the elevator. I have no experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kultasuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina K, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Kultasuu,

Thank you for your time you gave to write the amazing review!
It' s always nice to hear that our guests have been enjoying their stay.

It´s great that you liked our Business room. Own sauna,spacious room and the comfortable bed brings some extra for your stay.

Once again thank you for your review and thank you for sharing your experience!

Have a great spring time!

Best Regards,

Nina Keski-Vähälä
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaasa, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Cleaner stoled few of my things from my room and i got really poor customer service from this hotel after that. I can't recommend this hotel to anyone. Only good thing was the breakfest. I think the customer service commonly is really poor in Finland. If something bad happens they don't know how to handle it the right way.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Anna-Mari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina K, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Anna-Mari M,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us.
I am really sorry to hear that your stay didn´t go as well as expected and apologize for the mix up that we did have with the cleaning.
Our Housekeeping Manager has contact you about your stay, but ones more we would like to apologize for the concerns you have about your experience here.

Have a great spring and hope to see you again when your visiting Vaasa.

Best Regards,

Nina Keski-Vähälä
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siuntio, Finland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is an ordinary big hotel with god location in heart of the city, close to the railway station.
It has rooms on the two side of the street. I prefer rooms on same side as the reception. The other side has many doors to unlock and pass before you get to the room and do not get so nice feelings.
The other side of the street is also the breakfast, in the second floor.
Breakfast was positive, most as there was all the time people cleaning up the tables so a big plus to them!
To the breakfast itself not so much to comment, you get tired of all is you have the same too many times and I have been in this hotels many many times.
A good choice if you are after standard and do not want anything extra ordinary :)

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms on the same side as the reception, they are easier to access
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BI54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina K, Front Office Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear BI54,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.

We are happy to read that you did enjoy our breakfast. Our Super Breakfast is the best start for the day, and there is always some local specialties that we serve.

We look forward to your next stay!

Best Regards,

Nina Keski-Vähälä
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaasa, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Good hotel, friendly staff, good breakfast, good location, nice rooms. Book table at the restaurant during weekends. We didn't and found out that both restaurants (Fransmanni and the Mexican) were fullbooked. We went to Fondis instead, which was a really good restaurant, so no harm done.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Merja E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jani B, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Merja,

Thank you for your excellent review for our hotel.

Im glad you enjoyed our hotel during the busy weekend filled with different events in town. During these busy weekends reservations for the restaurants are highly recommended. Fortunately there are good alternatives close by as well if our own restaurants, Fransmanni and Wazaca, are full.

We hope next time you visit you can try our restaurants as well !
Have a great spring!

Best regards,

Jani Blankenship
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaasa
0.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
0.1 mi away
Scandic Vaasa
Scandic Vaasa
#4 of 6 in Vaasa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#3 of 6 in Vaasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cumulus Resort Tropiclandia
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Vallonia
BEST WESTERN Hotel Vallonia
#1 of 1 in Mustasaari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tekla
Hotel Tekla
#1 of 1 in Vaasa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa
Address: Hovioikeudenpuistikko 18, Vaasa 65100, Finland (Formerly Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Vaasa)
Region: Finland > Ostrobothnia > Vaasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vaasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Vaasa
Vaasa Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing