We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded, pretty garden setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Garden Resort
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We spent a week here in late October and had a very enjoyable time. Initial impression was not great as the reception area needs urgent modernisation, although there was building going on so this might be sorted out by the 2014 season. Villas are comfortable and clean, food was good, particularly the fresh fish, pool and bar facilities excellent, and staff friendly and helpful. The resort is about 15 mins outside Gyrne/Kyrenia but there is some minibus transport provided to town and beach. Better to hire a car, though - cheap, easy to drive on the local roads and much more convenient if you want to visit the sights.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit more for a superior villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 960 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is a great place to stay with families. There is a small aqua park to keep the kids amused in the heat. then there is another massive pool, and then another pool for adults only. the ranch bar has entertainment and there is also a tennis court. it does not really feel like a hotel, as the accommodation is scattered throughout the exotic gardens, it is very relaxing. I recommend you explore the local village to find great restaurants, make sure you find cenaps, but only have breakfast no lunch!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinhas3legs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely area gardens well maintained lemon trees everywhere selection of pools for adults and kids large breakfast selection ,helpful staff especially at reception ,hired a lovely little Hyundai i20. Bungalow wasn't fantastic but had hot water whenever we needed it ,electric generator / box made lots of noise. Room was cleaned every day. Pool side restaurant very good,massage facility good. Overall a lovely relaxing ten days.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AhmetLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My husband & I have just got back from a week here. We had a large superior one bedroomed villa overlooking the pool. It was spotlessly clean & very spacious. The shower was fine with loads of hot water & great pressure. Our neighbours were a quiet couple, the walls are thin. Noisy neighbours might be a problem, we were lucky. The restaurant food is buffet style so evening meals get a little samey, however there was plenty of it. The staff on the whole complex are so friendly, helpful & polite. It's in a village location. No night life, which suited us perfectly.
There is a bus to Kyrenia & the beach every day for a small charge. The sunbeds do get snapped up on a hot sunny day. Most of the holiday makers were retired, middle aged, many from Scandinavia. Would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet suite or up grade by the pool. Bed & breakfast only might be worth considering i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beverley597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I came here for a 2 week holiday in October 2013. We booked it before we read all the reviews on here and to be honest, when we eventually did read them we really didn't know what to expect, bearing in mind some of the comments. In answer - we had a great time. The staff were all very polite and although for some of them their spoken English wasn't perfect - it was a lot better than our Turkish (non-existent), so I've no complaints about that. Our one bedroom villa was fine. Clean and tidy with all the amenities you would expect for a s/c holiday - kettle and fridge that worked - so you don't really need much else. We didn't use the gas rings, so no idea if they worked or not. The villa was cleaned every day, and the towels were changed every day, with the bedding every couple of days. The pools were clean, and we didn't have too many problems with "towels on sun loungers" - but we did go after the school holidays, so it wasn't booked to capacity. The village itself was lovely - beautiful trees and shrubs - free oranges, pomegranates, walnuts - just took them off the trees as we walked past. We ate in main (buffet) restaurant one evening - food not great, but we're not buffet fans. The a la carte restaurant was very good though. We didn't bother with the car hire as there is a place on the way down to the main road, that is cheaper. Not too near a local beach - but you can get the courtesy bus in the morning, or walk down to the main road (10 mins) and pick up the local Dolmus. You can do the same to Kyrenia as well. If you go for two weeks, you may want to hire a car and get out and about, and up in to the mountains to break up the holiday. Overall, we got what we paid for - this was a pretty cheap holiday, which is what we wanted - with guaranteed sun and a relaxing break, and we were not disappointed. We got talking to an older couple who were on their 4th holiday at the village - so it can't be all bad. Maybe we're easily pleased, but we had a very enjoyable 2 weeks here, and I'm so pleased we read the previous reviews after we'd booked - as they might have put us off. Oh - and I desperately wanted to bring at least 2 of the cats home with me, but my husband assured me I wouldn't get them through customs !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I spent some time looking for the River, but did not find any. Finally I asked the Resort Management where the River was, and they said there is none. However, the gardens are very beautiful with lots of fruit trees. The trees were loaded with louquats when we stayed, but not many were being picked up. I suggested the Management that they could pick it up and make a jam or marmalade out of these, but they were not much worried as they said every year there is so much fruit and they do not know what to do.

Accommodation is satisfactory in general, but some items need uplifting or renovating. Water system in general and some painting should brighten the place a lot more. WiFi is available in the reception area but not in the rooms. This could be improved. Overall, quite a good place to relax and let life roll away the Turkish Way. Beach is not too far and there is a minibus service twice a day.

Room Tip: Try to choose rooms at the front near the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bazooooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Read the reviews before we went and was a little worried. Yes it does need a little updating, especially the bathroom. The shower is terrible, hot water but very slow especially for hair washing. But it really is a beautiful garden with mature trees and flowers everywhere. Saw them picking the oranges for breakfast. The breakfast was excellent, lots of choice and there is no problem going back as often as you like. The evening meal always had a tasty soup for a start. Then two or three choices for a main meal with cooked veg. or you could have salad with it or after.Lots of different salads and pickled bits. Then fresh fruit or a good choice of puddings. I prefer being served but we were not paying much so I so not know what people expect and you could go back as many times as you wished for each course. The whole site was kept beautifully clean and although the pools were not warm they were well looked after. We found the shuttle service good, but the beach was not our favorite and rather crowded.Cyprus Paradise did us a good deal and we were very satisfied. Good to have a car so you can visit.

Room Tip: Updated rooms with sunny balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peggy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsancak - Karavas
1.8 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
488 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Chateau Lambousa
Le Chateau Lambousa
#5 of 7 in Lapta
255 reviews
1.8 mi away
Club Alda Hotel
Club Alda Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lapta
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
331 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#10 of 31 in Kyrenia
480 reviews
2.2 mi away
Santoria Holiday Village
Santoria Holiday Village
#6 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Garden Resort

Address: Mersin 10 TR, Alsancak - Karavas 9200, Cyprus (Formerly Riverside Holiday Village)
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Alsancak - Karavas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Alsancak - Karavas
Price Range: £30 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Garden Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Holiday Village of Northern Cyprus is set in the beautiful tranquil foothills of Kyrenia in a perfect setting of some of the most spectacular gardens ever to be seen in North Cyprus. Like most cyprus hotels all rooms are air-conditioned and have a fresh water swimming pool and indoor swimming pool and a fantastic aqua park, sauna and a massage parlor. Outdoor facilities include horse riding and tennis courts. Unlike some other Cyprus hotels, baby sitting services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, GoNorthCyprus, HotelQuickly, Atrapalo, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Riverside Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Holiday Village Hotel Alsancak - Karavas
Riverside Holiday Village Kyrenia
Riverside Holiday Village Hotel Kyrenia
Riverside Garden Resort Cyprus/Alsancak - Karavas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing