We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the warmest of welcomes every time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almond Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have just returned from a short break at the Almond Holiday Village which we have been visiting for almost 10 years. From the moment we stepped into the hotel to the moment we left we were treated as wlcome guests and everything was done with the personal touch which we have come to expect at this hotel. As soon as we walked in we felt relaxed and the delightful surroundings of immaculately tended gardens around the beautiful pool which are always a delight immediately made us feel realxed and 'on holiday'. The owners and staff go out of their way to make everyone so welcome and nothing is too much trouble. If you want a relaxing holiday this is the place for you, either off season when it's peaceful or during the school holidays when it's delightful to watch families enjoying the safety and freedom of this hotel. Book it now!

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow round the pool if you like to head straight to the pool in the mornings
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
There are newer reviews for Almond Holiday Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

Just got back from 2 great weeks (12th-26th August) in this gorgeous Hotel. Ali, his family and staff have given us a Right Royal Time. A 3 star hotel with 5 star service. OK so the Bungalows are quite basic but what more do you need when you're on holiday. A fridge to keep milk, water and biscuits cold. Tea and coffee making facilities, fresh towels every day and linen changed every other day. All spotlessly clean.
I lost an earring in our room and looked but couldn't find it, the cleaners found it and gave it back to me so their honesty was also unquestionable, (the earring was gold with a diamond in it).
Service was excellent and when we checked out they were even apologetic about the bill, which was extremely reasonable.
The arrangements were trouble free, they arranged everything (except the flight) and it all went without a hitch.
The ffod both at breakfast and in the evenings was gorgeous. I would highly recomend both the Kleftico and the Lamb Rosemary. All the homemade soupd were also lovely.

Thanks very much to Ali and 'the gang' we hope to see you all again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lizziejayneblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We have just returned from another Hoiliday at the Almond and while the food ,staff ,gardens and cleanliness is still as excellent as before,we found that the peace and tranquiulity we are used to was not the same.
We know it was school holiday time so expected there to be more families,but were surprised by the number of outsiders that were coming in to use the facilities and on lots of occasions it seemed that there needs came before paying guests,especially on Sundays when sunbeds were squeezed into every available space,and it was very crowded and noisy.
So much so that when we got our car we went out almost every day to find somewhere with some peace and quiet.
We realise it is the busy season and we are used to going at a quieter time,so are just hoping that if we return next year things will be back to normal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ncypruslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose10Kyrenia, Owner at Almond Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Guests,
We thank you kindly for your reviews (past & present) and also for your custom for 10 years, which has been sincerely appreciated by myself and my family.
We also thank you for pointing out once again the excellence of our properties cleanliness, staff, food and gardens...But we are deeply disappointed that we have not `fully` met your expectations this time, which we clearly understand by your review is down to `your choice of holiday period`. Each season, high-low-mid, has its beauties, advantages and differences from each other... Your choice of month determines the type of holiday you will experience...
We have found the need to answer some of your points to avoid any misunderstanding:
August is our Highest Season and as family run business children of all ages are welcome as well as adults. This leads to August being the most popular time for family holidays and the busiest time for Almond. Although the busiest time our standards, facilities and services are EVIDENTLY confirmed to be kept immaculate and plentiful for all our guests as well as non-residents .Non – Residents most being Former Almond guests, friends & members of our sports lounge ( 98% Ex-Pats) have been welcome to use our facilities SUBJECT TO AVAILABILITY for many years.
As advertised on our website in our high season we provide live entertainment as well as BBQ & Kleftico specials “once a week”. This entertainment has been very popular and highly enjoyed for many years also.
We are very sorry that you found our complex to be sometimes busy and noisy in August, compared to June & October, which is only normal as August considered to be our highest season. Although it is quieter & entertainment is generally subject to request in October – We can assure you that Almond Holiday Village is still one of the quietest and relaxing venues in August amongst its equivalents – this again has been evidently confirmed in many previous re-views.
We hope to welcome you again to our family business & home, as your custom is very much appreciated.
Kindest Regards,
Ali Riza Asik
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stayed here for 2weeks and loved every moment, Pool and sun loungers were great, Food was lovely, the staff were lovely. Never been to a place with such lovely staff! Reception and at the pool bar, breakfast,lunch and dinner! Very clean basically everything you need in a holiday
1 tiny weeny complaint though: In the farm I think the goats(?) need a bit of a bigger cage as they are very squished.
But loved it! Definatley reccomend!
5 star for everything!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgie x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We did not stay at this place but had been told about it by a friend. We visited for lunch and to sunbathe one day .We were mad very welcome by a lady on reception who could not stop smiling. The food was excellent and the pool and sun loungers were great. Will go again next year. Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thequinns009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Just arrived back from the Almond and feel compelled to write a review. The place is a small friendly oasis, extremely well run and the staff work very hard. Ali's calm, quiet friendly approach sets the tone for the hotel and his team do him proud.

Met some good people, ate some good food and enjoyed doing nothing in particular.

Our only suggestion for improvement would be to keep separate those attending private functions from hotel guests but this is trivia in the scheme of things.

Will return, first class.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank ymtmct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We're just back from yet another great holiday at the Almond. The Almond keeps changing but it is always the same. This year Ali's family and the team have added a new Sports & Convention Lounge and the gardens have undergone some 'pruning' and replanting. The hospitality is still as wonderful as ever and we feel we are always treated as friends rather than customers. A new feature this year is the Sunday Afternoon Pool Party with different musical entertainment each week. The hosts Ali, Dervise, Gülten, Ahmet and Ayse, the lovely family who run The Almond, are supported by a great team including Lilly and Stanislav (aka Sulaman) who we have met in previous year and Olga & Kenan, who have joined this year. Kenan moved from another restaurant and is a great addition to the team. The Chef continues to provide excellent food and the cleaning team of ladies, and the gardeners ensure that everything, inside and outside is maintained to a very high standard. Would we go anywhere else for our main holiday? We do think about it but we know that we couldn't find better so why would we. Every year we meet other returning friends and add new ones to the list which makes our stay at the Almond something very special.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsancak - Karavas
1.0 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
472 reviews
1.9 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
315 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#4 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,173 reviews
6.0 mi away
Kemerli Konak Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
LA Hotel & Resort
LA Hotel & Resort
#4 of 7 in Lapta
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almond Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond Holiday Village

Address: Bademli Sakak no: 1 | Kyrenia, Alsancak - Karavas 9935, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Alsancak - Karavas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alsancak - Karavas
Price Range: £53 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Almond is an authentic, romantic & charming family run hotel where you can experience legendary local hospitality and the faultless balance between comfort and traditional Cypriot culture as well as friendliness and professionalism...The passionate attention to detail, warm service,delicious traditional & world cuisine , artful gardens filled with museum quality antiques and the tranquil pool area - will all ensure that the Almond will instantly win a special place in your heart - as your home away from home... Based in the peaceful western region of Kyrenia - The Almond is ideally located between the slopes of the magnificent Kyrenia Five Finger Mountains and the deep blue Mediterranean Coastline while only 20 minutes walking distance to the flawless sands of the beach - You can be sure that this hidden oasis will offer you tranquility, privacy and convenience at all times... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and GoNorthCyprus so you can book your Almond Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Holiday Village Hotel Alsancak - Karavas
Almond Holiday Village Kyrenia
Almond Holiday Village Hotel Kyrenia
Almond Holiday Village Cyprus/Alsancak - Karavas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing