We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, tranquil, friendly and very very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almond Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We chose the Almond because of previous positive reviews on Tripadvisor. We spent two weeks (our honeymoon) there on a B&B basis. It is very tranquil, very peaceful, very clean. The gardens are beautiful, the mountain views outstanding. We don't have a negative comment. The staff were family and you could tell that they took a lot of pride in the running of the Almond. All staff from the management to the cleaners were friendly and you felt that nothing was too much trouble. A special mention must go to the gardener, dedicated and proud of his work. We arrived to find a beautiful display of rose petals on our bed and a bottle of wine to congratulate us on our wedding. The food was lovely, the breakfasts were plentiful and you did not feel rushed at all. We met some lovely guests who had all been before - some 3 or 4 times so that says a lot about the Almond. Would we go back? Yes. Was it what we wanted from our honeymoon? Yes. Would we recommend it to others? Definitely. We shall miss Lucky!
Jakki & Graham Hales x

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrismasEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
There are newer reviews for Almond Holiday Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2010

We have just returned after our 5th stay in 5 years and can repeat the positive comments other reviewers have made. There may be more luxurious places to stay but the standards set by Almond I would say are hard to beat anywhere. We have stayed at places where you feel you need some footwear on when stepping out of the shower...not here. Whether in your villa, round the pool or gardens the place is immaculate. We ate a few nights at Almond and were really pleased with the choice available and again, the standard. All the food is freshly prepared and delicious, even if you were not staying at Almond you would chose to come and eat here. The staff are all friendly but always appropriate and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is close to a few restaurants in the nearby village, Cenap is wonderful if you like authentic traditional food & others nearby also seem popular & busy but perhaps not the kind of place to go to if you like dress up a bit for your evening meal. We went to have a look during the day to check out the places so we knew beforehand. The local bus service is really good, they come along every few minutes, costs 3 lira each from Almond to Kyrenia. All in all another great holiday and we will be back for visit number 6.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donpele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We spent a week at Almond Village and can only reiterate on all that has been said before. We booked through Direct Traveller and stayed on a half board which we strongly recommend. It is not cheap eating out anymore in North Cyprus, the food at the Almond was lovely as was the wine (around £10 eating out the cheapest we got was around £15). The Almond have their own cars to hire £20 a day it is well worth having one there are a lot of sights to see heading west. Our second week we spent at the Pia Bella o.k. but we certainly lost the peace and quite, had a car that week and travelled to Karpas Peninsula, fabulous, Golden Beach is magnificent as was the countryside we travelled along to get there, its a long day but well worth the effort. The nearest Beach to Almond is Camelot not worth going to dirty and we were charged 10TL the same of Escape Beach which is worth going to. To the west Turtle Beach is very natural and peaceful (thats the first Turtle Beach the second one is a council run one and not so good) We did go to Kyrenia Taverna, the first night was good, the second night the main course was chicken (4 tiny pieces) and Yam, not a good meal and no cheaper than any meal we had the second week on the harbour front. Enjoy your holiday

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank friendshipSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Almond June 5th - June 12th in the Hotel, on half board. We requested a snack due to our late arrival and were well catered for. Although not a priority when we go on holiday the TV in our room showing English channels was excellent. The room was spotlessly clean and I must say that the bed was like home from home. It usually takes a couple of days and a few aches to get used to a hotel bed, but not here! Breakfast was excellent and I must apologise for eating so many Weetabix, but needs must! There was never any pressure to hurry. The Lunch time menu was extensive and the Dinner menu for half board had several options which were delicious. The service here is Gold standard and every member of staff is a credit to the owners who are on hand and working themselves all hours of the day. I note a previous comment about sun bed reservation and the use of the facilities by people not staying at the Almond but at all times during our stay there were more than enough beds and umbrellas, with a stack of spare sun beds as needed. Lots of space both around and in the pool. All the people staying at the Almond, or just visiting, were a delight. There were no problems whatsoever. At the end of our stay we had a very early departure and it was a delight to see the owner in reception to shake our hands and wish us bon voyage. This attention to detail and service is very hard to find. Perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DannyBrasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

A small, friendly,spotlessly clean hotel with all the facilities you could need. Great service, laid back but professional and very helpful without being intrusive. Impressive attention to detail, with the owners constantly monitoring service and cleanliness - and the military precision with which the pool attendant lined up the sunbeds and tables at the end of the day had to be seen to be believed! Food was very good - plenty of choice on the a la carte menu and breakfast, with individual preferences happily catered for. Great value, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marilynandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

My husband and I spent three weeks at Almond Holiday Village, late May/early June. Firstly, we really appreciated the welcome pack of water, tea, coffee and milk in the room as we arrived during the night and wouldn't have readily been able to buy any. I had previously e-mailed Gulten and asked for pool towels and a hairdryer to be made available throughout our stay and they were in the room when we arrived. We stayed in a mini-villa with living room and bathroom downstairs and bedroom upstairs. Air-conditioning worked a treat. We have travelled to North Cyprus for many years and stay in different hotels each time. We always stay B & B and go out for dinner but, having tasted our first dinner at the AHV, decided the food was superb so didn't bother going out. Breakfast again was very good with lots of choices. This lovely family and their hand-picked staff cannot do enough for you and, should you have a problem, this would be dealt with immediately. The gardens are kept beautifully and the scenery faultless. The service at this hotel was superior to many of the five-star hotels we have stayed at in North Cyprus. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EssexSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We (girl friend and I), have just returned from Almond holiday resort in Northern Cyprus after staying there for 11 nights. We had some air miles to spend on the flights so just needed to get the hotel and transfers to and from Larnaca Airport in Southern Cyprus. Transfers were about 1.5 hours in each direction via air conditioned taxi.
Overall the holiday including transfers and B&B for 11 nights was £560 which I thought was pretty reasonable. Obviously this would be more if you have to pay for flights but still good for 2 people.
The hotel was very picturesque with a fantastic back drop of large steep mountains, set in very well maintained gardens, large pool, nice outdoor bar and restaurant and we had a mini villa (kitchen and sitting area downstairs, mezzanine bedroom and a small terrace). The room was fine – fridge, TV, air con – all clean although could probably do with a bit of modernisation.
A few small negatives (don't get me wrong these are minor points); 1 - Food was OK but not great but then being B&B means you do not have to eat there every time (which we only did for a few lunches and dinners and went out the rest of the time). 2 – people putting towels down on sun loungers and not turning up for several hours (Other places I have stayed the management prevent this from happening and remove towels that are dumped first thing and not used) – this being said there was never a problem getting a lounger but perhaps not in the position you wanted. 3. Got the feeling sometimes that some of the guests had invited friends not staying at the resort to use the pool etc. I guess these people are charged for the facilities but I would prefer hotel guests only as again these people take up sun loungers etc. 4. Occasional smell of sewage.
Otherwise – fantastic – The owners are very friendly and have built up a superb little resort, guests equally friendly (some we met had been there 8 times)!! I guess the question is – Will we stay again? The answer is - yes probably.
North Cyprus in short – Very nice friendly people, always seemed safe, excellent low cost mini bus services all over the place (Their equivalent of Tuc Tuc's), some good restaurants, lots of history but the place seems very unfinished e.g. rubble everywhere, litter all over the place (not resort)! and seemed under developed but nothing unusual for what I have already seen of Turkey, Sharm etc.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BerkshireMrMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose10Kyrenia, Owner at Almond Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2010

Dear Sir,

We thank you kindly for your review .

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we welcome you back whenever you wish.

My family and I value each and every comment but we would like comment ourselves on the minor points you have mentioned.

1) Our galleried mini-villas are specially decorated in a traditional Cypriot style with high wooden ceilings, wooden/wrought iron staircases leading to mezzanine bedrooms and wooden patio doors from lounge area leading to terraces...All rooms have a/c (heating & cooling), tea/coffee making facilities & fridge… we are not quite sure what you mean by modernization… as our whole idea is to be authentic. Any ideas are more than welcome….
2) As management I can assure you that we do not allow towels to be left on sun loungers if guests are not around the pool area. If towels are left several hours we will remove - but if guests leave there sun loungers to have lunch or pop in to their rooms for a short while we cannot see this as a problem. As you have kindly mentioned, you had never had a problem getting a sun lounger as we make sure we have plenty and more.
3) Our pool area is closed to non-residents but we do make exceptions for our RESIDENTS family & friends and our former guests who now live in Cyprus PROVIDING we have enough room, sun loungers and parasols available. Of course our guests comfort is our priority but as you have kindly mentioned, you had never had a problem getting a sun lounger as we make sure we have plenty and more.
4) We had a temporary problem in the local area with the sewage pipes, thus the OCCASIONAL smell during your stay – which thanks to our local council was solved within a few days. We are sorry if this has caused you any inconvenience but unfortunately it was beyond our control.
5) Northern Cyprus has been under a very unfair economic & political isolation by the world for many years and even today. Therefore it is still one of the less developed and uncommercialized parts of the Mediterranean. We are a developing part of the world and luckily still a very unspoilt part compared to a lot of other Mediterranean countries, thus its charm….

Thank you again for your review and we will look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.

Kindest Regards,

Ali Riza Asik

Managing Director & Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsancak - Karavas
1.0 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
472 reviews
1.9 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
315 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#4 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,173 reviews
6.0 mi away
Kemerli Konak Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
LA Hotel & Resort
LA Hotel & Resort
#4 of 7 in Lapta
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almond Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond Holiday Village

Address: Bademli Sakak no: 1 | Kyrenia, Alsancak - Karavas 9935, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Alsancak - Karavas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alsancak - Karavas
Price Range: £53 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Almond is an authentic, romantic & charming family run hotel where you can experience legendary local hospitality and the faultless balance between comfort and traditional Cypriot culture as well as friendliness and professionalism...The passionate attention to detail, warm service,delicious traditional & world cuisine , artful gardens filled with museum quality antiques and the tranquil pool area - will all ensure that the Almond will instantly win a special place in your heart - as your home away from home... Based in the peaceful western region of Kyrenia - The Almond is ideally located between the slopes of the magnificent Kyrenia Five Finger Mountains and the deep blue Mediterranean Coastline while only 20 minutes walking distance to the flawless sands of the beach - You can be sure that this hidden oasis will offer you tranquility, privacy and convenience at all times... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and GoNorthCyprus so you can book your Almond Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Holiday Village Hotel Alsancak - Karavas
Almond Holiday Village Kyrenia
Almond Holiday Village Hotel Kyrenia
Almond Holiday Village Cyprus/Alsancak - Karavas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing