We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you so much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Citrus Tree Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thank you so much”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I went to this hotel as I was having fertility treatment and wanted a quiet base to rest in. It was perfect for that as it was quiet and the other guests where of retirement age so no raucous behaviour or late night drinking.

From the minute I arrived to the minute I left I was treated like a princess.The staff could not do enough to make me feel welcome, Mustafa even offered for one of his waiters to drive me to the clinic for half the price of a taxi which took the worry out of going.

The food was ok, not to my taste but I am a fussy eater. Breakfast was toast and cereal, fruit and normal Turkish faye plus you could ask for bacon and eggs if you wanted. Dinner was written on the board so if you didnt fancy it would give you chance to go somewhere else.

Plenty of places to eat on the road that the hotel was on, I tried the American dinner, but there is also a Chinese takeaway etc.

If you want to go to the harbour just stand outside the hotel and wait for a
Dolums,then ask for Kyrenia, then just stay on the bus till they kick you off and the harbour is a 2 min walk. Then just catch if opposite where you got off and you will be dropped off at the hotel again.

Thank you Mustafa and staff, my stay was just what I needed.



The only real gripe I have is that the showers are very hit and miss, I don't know if there was a knack, but my shower was either scorching hot or cold but rarely warm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    52
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
92
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Arrived in January a few days after Arthur.(see his previous review) We arrived well before the national power cuts mentioned in the report by Daisy and John.They were in the main building not the bungalows. They did not suffer the building work nor the lack of power and hot water. We experienced all his problems for days on end,not having heating/lighting/hot water or hot drinks when the nightime temperature dropped to zero Also suffered 11 days of building work starting at 0720 hrs continuing until evening. The food quality was poor and the helpings miserly. I felt like Oliver Twist queueing for a small spoonfull of soup so thin you could have washed in it. Things were so bad we were moved together with several other couples to a proper hotel. Would I return? NO not even in the height of summer.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed here for a month, 9th jan to 6th feb, the hotel is very clean and the accomodation
is lovely. Musytafe Leslie Vadat Ichmele and all the other staff are fantastic. Nothing is too
much trouble. North Cyprus had power cuts because the workers were on strike, and some
negative people were miserable about this, but they didn't take into account that the strike affected the whole area and not just our hotel, so there was no blame to belaid at the hotel..
A positive outlook to problems that can arise when it is out of the control of the hoteliers.would
be a bonus. We love you Citrus Tree, and thank you for a lovely stay. Daisy and John xxxx

Room Tip: we had room 34 in the hotel very sunny and warm the road noise didn't bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazydaisy1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

My wife and I have just returned from here and quite frankly in almost 30 years of travelling abroad we could not wait to get back home. The bungalows were not as advertised in there website as they were in the process of converting them into studio apartments this work started at approximately 7.30am and continued throught the day until early evening including Saturday and Sunday for the first week and after that from 9.00am. The pool bar area was just a storage space for building materials and the pool table was covered and being used as a workbench. The main reception lounge area has only 14 seats which means that it is mad scramble to get one in order to get some warmth from the open fire otherwise you had to return to your room or go downstairs into Billy's bar which is a large cold L shaped room with 2 air condtioning units but the owner would only allow 1 to be turned on at any one time, he did provide a Calor Gas heater but this ran out of gas after one evening and was then put away.
The dining room again does not have sufficient seating for all the guests to sit and have a meal together and as more guests arrived the food portions became smaller and smaller the soup also became thinner and thinner. The rooms do have a radiator but this is not enough to warm them and they are only on for a part of the day so the only alternative is to use the airconditioning which dries out the air and from the first 8 guests to arrive 7 of us had to visit the pharmacist to get cough medicines and antibiotics as we were all getting chest infections and coughing.To cap it all on Thursday of the second week at 11.00am all the power went off due to a strike by the power station workers so the hotel generator was started and after 20 minutes promptly broke down and the hotel owner insisted that he could repair it but he was unable to do this and did not call in an engineer until Saturday which meant that there was no hot water to wash or shower with so consequently we were unable to shower for the last 2 days of our holiday and the hot drinks facility which is a water fountain also did not work, also this facility costs £8 per week a fact that is not advertised.
The only shining light at The Citrus Tree Gardens is a young man called Verdat who did his best to please everybody within the constraints placed on him by the owner.
The brochures and website advertise a seaview but unless you climb on to the roof this is not so

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arthurv45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Just had a 10 night break there on half-board. Plus points include Breakfast has the usual fare plus grilled tomatoes, scramble or boiled eggs as well as baked beans. Poached or fired eggs also available at no extra cost. Lesley always tries to arrange a choice of both English and Turkish main courses in the evening and the food was nice and plentiful. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the cleaners and gardeners did a good job.
Minus points were that in the evening everything seems to drift towards watching football in the bar downstairs and nowhere really to go for anything else. Girne (Kyrena) is more than 10 minutes away, and the TV channels in the apartments are only for Turkish people. The nearest beach is quite a walk away. Basically, you get what you pay for at this hotel and it is great value for money. Would go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road as the traffic noise can be annoying at times. Go for room numbers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Digswell2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Plus points first -
Transfer to and from the airport was well organised by the hotel, and the driver was friendly and informative.

Gardens were colourful and there were many varieties of citrus trees (hence the name) around the well cared for pool. Breakfast was good, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cheese, breads and some cooked food, with different types of eggs to order.

The room was clean and quite comfortable. But, we would have liked at least one electric ring so that we could have made our own hot drinks rather than having to pay extra for a water heater/cooler.

The shower was sporadic. Although few guests were staying, water was sometimes at a trickle, and very cold.

The hotel is on a busy road, which makes the walk to the restaurants/beach a bit unpleasant- but this can be avoided by using the local buses. But the noise did affect us in the room, and in the pool area.

We appreciate that we were staying out of season, but do think that there should have been more choice, and more authentic Turkish cypriot food in the evening.

Room Tip: Choose a villa that is as far away from the main entrance/road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takeley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

nice family run hotel,rooms basic but clean.location was a bit isolated agood thirty minute walk to a public beach,and difficult to walk to restaraunts at night due to unlit and unpaved road,staff very friendly and helpfull ,sadly not for us due to location

Room Tip: ask for room away from the road,rooms near busy road can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teddey26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsancak - Karavas
1.0 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
313 reviews
1.9 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
463 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#20 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lapida Hotel
Lapida Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lapta
144 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
#1 of 3 in Agios Georgios
344 reviews
4.2 mi away
Club Simena
Club Simena
#1 of 1 in Karsiyaka
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Tree Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Tree Gardens

Property: Citrus Tree Gardens
Address: Karaoglanoglu Caddesi, Alsancak - Karavas 9200, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Alsancak - Karavas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Alsancak - Karavas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Citrus Tree Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and GoNorthCyprus so you can book your Citrus Tree Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Tree Gardens Hotel Alsancak - Karavas
Citrus Tree Gardens Kyrenia
Citrus Tree Gardens Cyprus/Alsancak - Karavas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing