We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Week at Citrus Tree”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Citrus Tree Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Just got back from a week at CTG. Comfortable accommodation, newly refurbished room with balcony over looking the pool. Views to sea and mountains. Loved the lemon trees. Everywhere clean, with friendly staff. Lesley on reception always cheerful and helpful. Had good deal on car hire. Just outside hotel easy to flag down local bus to get about, door to door drop off for 3.50TL each. Kyrenia interesting historically and lots of bargains in the shops. Had B & B basis, breakfast- cereal, toast, eggs, tomatoes, beans with usual cheeses etc. Only had one evening meal at the CTG but menu was varied each day.Restaurants and supermarkets in area.Water dispenser, hot and chilled water, cutlery, plates, dishes in room. Have travelled round Europe in variety of hotels. This is not 4/5* All Inclusive but it is good value for money, friendly and safe. Good way to experience Cypriot culture. Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Can walk to restaurants, shops and beach (small charge may apply). Take a torch for walking back in...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynnB_123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Citrus Tree Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

In the last couple of years me and my wife have been travelling round Europe, which includes also many Greek islands and various hotels there, this is definitely the worst Hotel we stayed in.
From the very first moment. we are both in our 60s and found at the check in they gave us the room we did not book; it was the old, dirty and shabby bungalow, so we immediately complained at the front desk The new room we were given was big and spacious but that was about it apart from the fact you could see the pool from the window and very outdated even for a couple in there 60s
Regarding the location, this place is totally out of hand, so if you don’t have a car you are stuck. They do have organized bus transportation to the beach though, but the beaches there are undeniably the worst on the whole island.
The greatest disappointment was the food. Cheap and greasy ham, margarine instead of butter, disgusting packed jams, and scrambled eggs were served for breakfast and that was it, for those who want to have a decent breakfast in the morning, there was nothing to choose from. Moreover, it was the same every day dinner was even worse than breakfast; overcooked pasta covered with a pinch of canned tomato sauce, rice and potatoes, and a fatty fried fish. Some days there was some meat served but we never tried it as it look awful.
Ive read some of the reviews on here and can see that this place is one to avoid unless you like bad food, poor cleanliness, old out dated rooms and being lied too. my advice would be dont go and get your money back a.s.a.p!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stayed at the Citrus Tree in the hotel in Nov 2012 and my visit was fantastic so I returned in Jan 2013 in the newly refurbished villas. My room was a pleasure mostly because it was new. On both visits breakfast was the same each morning and had a substantial range on offer. All staff were Turkish with limited English but very pleasant and helpful. Disappointed to have missed the famous English receptionist as she does not work in the winter period.

Looking forward to my next stay in September.

Room Tip: The new villas are great as they over look the pool
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Bizarre place this... bit like Marmite (love it/hate it). No disrespect, but the people who love the place perhaps need to do a bit more travelling, stay in a few other resorts to see what you can get for your money. Our story is the same as others, arrived late at night, were shown over to the bungalows, spent 10 minutes arguing and saying we're not staying here (filthy/old furniture with graffiti scratched in them/dangerous stairs/A/C unit in a stupid place/shower ridiculous/place flooded when you used it, come on people this is 2012, NOT 1970 ! ), so as usual the management could not move us that late at night, so they switched off the lights in reception and went home, so had to stay. Contrary to others, I found the staff to be a bit blase and vague, except for the English girl on reception who was polite.
Anyway, after a ropy lukewarm breakfast, we called our travel agent and she managed to get us in a 5 Star Golf resort for the rest of the week for only £100 extra for the two of us !
The place was absolutely stunning, very quiet and a world apart from"citrus tree gardens"
My advice...look around before your book hotels year in year out, you might find that you find a 'NEW' favorite location for your holidays. " Stay away from this Hotel"

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We are so looking forward to April when we will be returning to the lovely Citrus Tree Gardens. Mustafa and his family and staff are so welcoming and cannot do enough for you. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is very good - fresh local produce and breakfast will set you up for the day.

We stayed for 4 weeks last April and anticipate just as good a time this year as last.

Room Tip: I think everyone's taste varies - so I would not presume to air my preferences on this matter
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yoyo552070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

had fantastic two weeks in september with my daughter.mustafa and lesley couldnt do enough to make our holiday one to remeber. A lovely clean pool surounded by lemon orange and pomigranite trees. Our accomadation was spotlessly clean also surrounded by beautiful flowering bushes. Will cerainly be returning in 2013

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Have just returned from 2 weeks @ C.T.G. - lives up to its name with attractive gardens full of lemon, lime & pomegranite trees, surrounding a spotlessly clean pool, serviced daily. We had a 2-storey villa, overlooking the pool, with a mezzanine sleeping area. Very clean & functional - only a shower room, but perfectly adequate.Water heater/cooler in kitchenette very useful - changed when necessary. Rooms cleaned daily, linen changed every 3 days, pool towels provided. We booked 1/2 board, but found the food very dull & uninteresting - chicken soup night after night! Followed on many occasions by, guess what? Yes - chicken; roasted, in a sauce, casseroled, stewed, and always with chips & salad. Also on the menu was liver & onions, fish & chips, sausages, omelettes & always with chips & salad. We would have really enjoyed some local dishes. Likewise, the breakfasts were just O.K. With a few tweaks here and there things could be vastly improved, like the dining room having nice table linen in the evenings, perhaps a candle or flower on the table, perhaps a wine glass and laid cutlery and soft lighting and music?
Having said all that we would like to say the staff @ C.T.G were superb, Verdat, Ishmail, & Lesley - nothing was too much trouble. Also the little cats were gorgeous!!!!

P.S. Would recomend car hire - though Dolmus (local bus) very easy & cheap to use.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beverlyw119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsancak - Karavas
1.0 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
315 reviews
1.9 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
471 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Club Alda Hotel
Club Alda Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lapta
69 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lapida Hotel
Lapida Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lapta
146 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
#1 of 3 in Agios Georgios
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Tree Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Tree Gardens

Address: Karaoglanoglu Caddesi, Alsancak - Karavas 9200, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Alsancak - Karavas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Alsancak - Karavas
Price Range: £49 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citrus Tree Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and GoNorthCyprus so you can book your Citrus Tree Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Tree Gardens Hotel Alsancak - Karavas
Citrus Tree Gardens Kyrenia
Citrus Tree Gardens Cyprus/Alsancak - Karavas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing