We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic hotel is excellent base to tour Golden Circle”
Review of Hotel Glymur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Glymur
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
156 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Romantic hotel is excellent base to tour Golden Circle”
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Just wonderful. 45 minutes from Reykjavic and set on picturesque fjord, you are welcomed by the delightful, friendly owner, and she seems to always be right there to help with anything you need. Other staff are equally friendly and helpful. Everyone just seems so happy there! Rooms are well-appointed and the entire facility is very well-maintained. Restaurant is quite good--the specialty fish soup is world-class and not to be missed. Two hot tubs for guests are open to midnight and sit beneath the stars and overlooking the fjord. I'd recommend a fjord facing room on the second floor for best views and location within the hotel. The cottages looked GREAT too and I'd likely rent one of them if staying there in the future.

The hotel is situated perfectly for a drive along the Golden Circle route which is best accessed by starting with a leisurely drive to the head of the fjord and back up the southern side.

It is unfortunate that the power station at the mouth of the fjord causes the landscape to be criss crossed with power lines, but you quickly cease to notice them and in any event they run up behind the hotel--not in front of it. And a final note: hot water from the natural spring feeding the hotel smells very eggy, but you sort of get used to it and it is all part of the experience. Not to worry--you don't smell like egg salad after a shower.

This was simply a great place to end our week tour of the West Fjords and Snaefellsnes peninsula.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kyle10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    121
    37
    17
    6
See reviews for
94
317
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

After traveling around Iceland for seveal days and staying at hotels with small efficient rooms arriving at Hotel Glymur was a gift! We were greeted warmly by Ragna who gave us a tour of the stunning hotel. The scenery was exquisite as was our suite. We stayed in the new "Black House". The decorations and appointments were exceptional. My husband and I were traveling with our 13 year old granddaughter who has a very limited palate. The chef met with us and was so wonderful...although not on the menu he prepared her favorite dish...pasta with butter and brocoli! Ragna, the hotel manager helped us plan a special day of touring in this bearutiful part of Iceland. In addition she brought us a forgotten article left at Hotel Glymur to our next hotel in Reykjavik. How amazing is that! She is a special lady!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol21403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

This hotel is absolutely only accessible via car, so if you are planning to do a lot of excursions during your time in Iceland, stay in Reykjavik - but if you have a few extra days, and are a little sore from lava caving or ice climbing ... come unwind at the Glymur!

This is exactly what my boyfriend and I did near the end of our stay in Iceland - and what can I say, it was perfect!

We stayed in one of the executive suites overlooking the fjord. The room was both cozy and luxurious; a balance well maintained throughout the hotel. The view and surrounding areas were incredible - and we were able to spend our days exploring the fjords, climbing hills, and discovering elf paths, then relax at night with a cocktail and a warm soak in the hot tubs.

The staff was incredible, flexible and just the right amount of attentive. I didn't get a chance to try out the restaurant, but the free breakfast every morning was magnificent - !

Everything about this hotel is peaceful and comforting. Next time I am lucky enough to be in Iceland, I will definitely be checking into the Glymur again :)

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank XXeverywhereXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

I have just returned from my first visit to the beautiful country of Iceland and Hotel Glymur was an attraction in itself in my view. We stayed 3 nights in one of the Hotel's newly finished Villas - although all 6 villas are comfortably seperated, I believe we had the very best of the 6 villas (Villa Romance) simply because it was closest to the fjord and wasn't overlooked. All too often on arrival Hotels fail to live up to their promotional photographs and literature, however Glymur was everything I had hoped and more. The views from the floor to ceiling windows are stunning and the furnishings and decor throughout were of a high quality and very thoughtfully put together. We had dinner 2 evenings in the Hotel restaurant and made use of the well equipped kitchen on our last evening there. I recommend that you pick up a few bottles of wine at the duty free on arrival in Iceland to put in the fridge - perfect for enjoying whilst in the hot tub and taking in the breathtaking scenery.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2010

This is an ideal stop in Iceland if you are looking to balance against the urban life of Reykjavik:

1) The food is excellent (thanks to a creative chef and a wonderful wait-staff),
2) The Hosts are generous and warm, and very helpful with ideas for daily activities,
3) The setting... I would suggest the cabins (which we had) which provide an unprecendented level of privacy and space (especially when you see other Icelandic hotels!)
4) The location is as good as any we found for access to natural sights in the Golden Circle or otherwise... You do not want to try and hit these places from Reykjavik.

The bottom line is that this is a GREAT stop for a couple looking to spen a few days lightly hiking, eating good food, taking a boat trip or two, or drinking wine in your private hot tub and reading... Hard to beat...

One final thing... as the tourism industry matures in Iceland (the rural areas seem to jus tbe getting the hang of things) I would say that Glymur, thanks to research and benchmarking is FAR ahead of even the Hotels in Reykjavik.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsturgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Amazing place 40 minutes from Reykjavik were you will experience the luxury you are looking for. We stayed at Villa Creativity for three nights and we felt like a king and queen. The staff was wonderful, the service was better and the food was excellent! (We even asked if we could buy the chef :))

If you are looking for a personal hotel that give you luxury, personal service, beautiful landscape, relaxing time, amazing food and more.. Hotel Glymur is the place!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbietec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Me and my wife got married at Hotel Glymur in June 2003 so this year at the same date we decided to have our anniversary there. We where pampered by Hotel Glymur staff for two days and enjoyed the stunning views, awesome food and very friendly service. If you want to stay near Reykjavik with a stunning view, Hotel Glymur has it all.
P. Einarsson, Orange County, US

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peinarsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akranes
17.2 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
23.4 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
3.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
20.6 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
CenterHotel Thingholt
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,527 reviews
13.3 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glymur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glymur

Property: Hotel Glymur
Address: Hvalfjorder (Whale Fjord) - Northern Shore, Akranes, Iceland
Region: Iceland > West Region > Akranes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Glymur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel, only 75 min from Keflavik International Airport. Located on a high hillside over viewing the sea. The hotel has 22 mini-suite, spa area, library, piano-bar, conference facilities and magical surroundings. The hotel has a large art collection and beautiful restaurant. Looking for something different? This is it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Glymur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glymur Hotel Akranes
Hotel Glymur Iceland/Akranes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing