We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place but not 'perfect'” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Glymur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Glymur
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Very nice place but not 'perfect'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

I did not give this place 5 stars because it just wasn't on the same plane as the Hotel Budir - where we had stayed the night before. Also, and at no fault of the hotel, it was fairly empty when we were there - this could be both a positive and a negative (we viewed it as the former) - and the morning fog prevented us from getting to enjoy the view from our room. As regards the room itself, I was less than thrilled with having to climb the iron staircase to get up to our bed; also, it got hot at night and I was forced to choose between sweating (windows closed) and bugs coming in through the windows.

We did love the staff, the food and the outdoor hot tubs. The isolated nature of the hotel was a big plus too.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldAdventurer_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    120
    36
    16
    6
See reviews for
93
314
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

We went to the Glymur for my wifes 40th Birthday. We stayed in the Villa Romance with our 5 year old son. The villa was very comfortable with contemporary furnishings set in the hillside overlooking the Fjord. the setting was spectacular. Having a hot tub was a real bonus as we were able (in spite of the cold) to use the hot tub every day and night. lying back sipping cocktails whilst gazing at the night sky takes some beating!
Hansina and Arnar were warm, friendly and realy helpful and hospitable. Its one of those places where you could ask for anything and they would try and get it for you.
We had a truly unforgettable stay there and if you are travelling to Iceland i would commend it unreservedly. If you got children take one of the villas they really are excellent.


We had a truly mem

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferg51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed at Glymur for four nights and can say without hesitation that it was a very enjoyable stay. From the moment we checked in the staff were very friendly and professional. Unlike the cold decor favoured by the "chain" hotels, Glymurs' was both original and warm. The rooms and guest areas were always kept very clean.
The quality of the food and restaurant service was also very high. The chef was very accomplished and would take the time to talk to guests about Icelandic cuisine and the guests requirements. Breakfast was also of a high standard as there was a wide range of fresh produce available.
I would recommend this hotel and if I am ever in the area again would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sulli7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

My wife and I had ower wedding night there inn 2008 and came back in 2010 to celebrate our 2 year anniversary. The first time we where there we had a normal room wich was amazing with the perfect view, after that night we promiset our selvs that we would come back as soon as we could. The second time, the hotel recognised os, so thay upgradet ower room to a villa. The villa was so amazing that I cant finde a word that can explain that fealing you get when you walk in to the cabin. it has large livin groom with a kitchen, hot tube on the balcony with that same butifull view. A large bedroom and a bathroom.

The price is comfortable, not to high (I come from Norway)

The service is exelent, and the food is exeptional.(try the advanture, that is when you dont get to choose what you get, it 5 cors dinner for 10000isk (ca.475nok)

Im not sure what more I can say about Hotel Glymur other than You have to try it, I have been to many hotels inn my life, but never been to a better hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilgs87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

The hotel Glymur cannot be described as a separate entity but instead as a "complete package" consisting of elegance, class and natural beauty.
The guest has the choice of staying in the comfort of the hotel or enjoying the privacy of an exclusive villa, private hot tub included !!!
The villas are in a class of their own and quite literally have to be seen to be believed.
The food is top, the staff are wonderful but the centre piece has to be the colourful and enchanting lady (Hansina) running this hotel....since departing
I am starting to question her reality and wonder if i actually had the privilige of encountering icelandic fairyfolk!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
narsaq
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

It is by far one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. Everything from the staff to the food and rooms were top quality.
Every room and every villa was uniquely decoratedn with art and beatiful funitures. They had paid attention to every detail.
Being a chef myself I expect a lot when I go to a restaurant at a hotel of this type. But I must say that they overdid my expectations. It was an amazing Icelandic experience with a global touch.
There is a great atmosphere all over the place, especially thanks to the friendly and very helpful staff that always greets you with a smile and friendly words when you enter the hotel.
I will warmly recommens this place to anyone who wants a great Icelandic experience where you can relax and pamper yourself.
And do not forget to use their outdoor hottubs where you can enjoy the beautiful landscape of Iceland.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karinbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
154 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

Just wonderful. 45 minutes from Reykjavic and set on picturesque fjord, you are welcomed by the delightful, friendly owner, and she seems to always be right there to help with anything you need. Other staff are equally friendly and helpful. Everyone just seems so happy there! Rooms are well-appointed and the entire facility is very well-maintained. Restaurant is quite good--the specialty fish soup is world-class and not to be missed. Two hot tubs for guests are open to midnight and sit beneath the stars and overlooking the fjord. I'd recommend a fjord facing room on the second floor for best views and location within the hotel. The cottages looked GREAT too and I'd likely rent one of them if staying there in the future.

The hotel is situated perfectly for a drive along the Golden Circle route which is best accessed by starting with a leisurely drive to the head of the fjord and back up the southern side.

It is unfortunate that the power station at the mouth of the fjord causes the landscape to be criss crossed with power lines, but you quickly cease to notice them and in any event they run up behind the hotel--not in front of it. And a final note: hot water from the natural spring feeding the hotel smells very eggy, but you sort of get used to it and it is all part of the experience. Not to worry--you don't smell like egg salad after a shower.

This was simply a great place to end our week tour of the West Fjords and Snaefellsnes peninsula.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kyle10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akranes
17.2 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
20.6 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
3.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
20.5 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,427 reviews
20.5 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
20.6 mi away
CenterHotel Thingholt
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glymur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glymur

Property: Hotel Glymur
Address: Hvalfjorder (Whale Fjord) - Northern Shore, Akranes, Iceland
Region: Iceland > West Region > Akranes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Glymur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel, only 75 min from Keflavik International Airport. Located on a high hillside over viewing the sea. The hotel has 22 mini-suite, spa area, library, piano-bar, conference facilities and magical surroundings. The hotel has a large art collection and beautiful restaurant. Looking for something different? This is it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Glymur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glymur Hotel Akranes
Hotel Glymur Iceland/Akranes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing