We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hotel just outside Akureyri”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Natur

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akureyri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Natur
Ranked #3 of 29 Akureyri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel just outside Akureyri”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Hotel Natur is a modest but friendly hotel in a lovely setting overlooking a bay a short drive from Akureyri. The rooms are modest but very clean and comfortable. There is a large dining area. We were kindly invited to join in a buffet dinner which was being provided for a bus group of Norwegians. The buffet was good home cooked fare and the was a bar for beer and wine. The price was reasonable for what was provided. The breakfast was standard Scandinavian fare. Tasty and enjoyable. A nice overnight stop.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeithandHelenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    23
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
35
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpen
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

this is a very nice hotel a little bit outside of akureyri ( at rd.no 1 on the way to myvatn, about 10 km from the city. very friendly owner -stefan- nice and clean, good breakfast. ee enjoyed it!!
.....................................

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teddy2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

The hotel has a lovely view with a woodland setting. The owners are very straightforward, welcoming and helpful. Modern, comfortable accommodation throughout. Log fire reception and nice touches of art, an internet point for guests to use.
Personally very impressed and grateful to owners and staff for their help during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seacrossing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

After our three night stay, we were surprised that Hotel Natur is considered to be the best hotel in Akureyri (haven't stayed at the others, of course). First, it is at least 10 minutes by car from the town, although it is that much closer to the Lake Myvatn area, if that's on the agenda. It is a very simple but clean accommodation. The breakfast is minimal, particularly if meats aren't your thing. The best aspects are the owners, who are friendly and helpful, and the view of Akureyri across the bay, so ask for a room with a view. The hotel is reasonably priced for Iceland @ $178 per night, since everything in Iceland, except medical care (which we needed after rolling down a mountain!), seems expensive to us Americans.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, even though the parking lot is part of the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaracu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Very clean and well equipped. Price sensible. Location is convenient on route between Myvatn area and Akureyri. Breakfast was only average.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theruddster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here for just one night, but out of the 6 lodgings we stayed in in Iceland this was by far the most welcoming one, and combined with the amazing scenery we wished we had based ourselves here for several nights.
We were greeted by the college aged son of the family who owns the property and he ushered us personally to our room, and then he helped us get a reservation at a premium Akureyri restaurant. On check out we had a nice conversation with the daughter at the front desk and later we chatted with the owner himself, who was doing a little carpentry to get a new room open for use.
The breakfast was terrific and plentiful. In summer the sunset/sunrise is an experience to remember.
We hope to get back to Akureyri someday and we will hopefully have a chance to stay at Hotel Natur.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binderfrank54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meilen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

During an organized bus tour through Iceland, I have stayed at this hotel for one night.

This was the best hotel we had during our trip. The family running the hotel was very nice and accomodating, the food excellent, the rooms quiet, spacious and clean (they could have done with a cupboard instead of just a shelf, but that's my only complaint) and the beds comfortable. Wifi is available in the room and there's also a computer in the lobby.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GundamWing101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akureyri hotels
0.0 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
#2 of 8 in Akureyri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Akureyri
Hotel Akureyri
#5 of 8 in Akureyri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ibudir
Hotel Ibudir
#7 of 8 in Akureyri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kjarnalundur
Hotel Kjarnalundur
#4 of 8 in Akureyri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skjaldarvik Guest House
Skjaldarvik Guest House
#1 of 29 in Akureyri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Natur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Natur

Property: Hotel Natur
Address: Thorisstadir, Akureyri 601, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Akureyri
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Natur 3*
Number of rooms: 36

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing