We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing in a variety of ways”
Review of Kung Fu sticks+sushi - CLOSED

Kung Fu sticks+sushi
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: we are also on facebook
Dover, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing in a variety of ways”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We made reservations for a party of 16 a day in advance yet they insisted that we sit at 3 separate tables. When we asked if we could turn the tables so we could sit at one large table they said no, they had to get to both sides of the table to serve us, which they never did, rather they just had us pass the food down while they stood at the ends of the tables. When we arrived the men's room was out of toilet paper and hand towels, when we left 2 hours later it still was. When the waitress brought the check I spent a minute trying to figure-out the cost per person, she insisted that I hurry saying "she had other customers". When we looked around we realized we were the only people left in the restaurant. The food was reasonable although their sushi portions were fairly modest as was the price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CharliePeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tasty super-fresh sushi”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The food here was tasty, unfortunately we were quite late in for lunch on a miserable weekday so we didn't get much of feel for the atmosphere or what the service would be like at a busy time (though was very prompt when we were the only ones in!).

The sticks refer to what I'd describe as skewers, it was good to have some warm food to go with the sushi and is a nice bit of variety to the usual Japanese fare.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 82Cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akureyri, Iceland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and good prices”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

A group of 10 of us enjoyed a lovely meal here. The service was very good and the food fantastic. Eating out in Iceland is expensive so the prices here are very good. I had soup, a mix of sushi and sticks (marinated meat on sticks) and the delicious chocolate cake with ice cream and the total price was around 17 pound. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rwilks100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akureyri, Eyjafjardarsysla, Iceland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

If you're looking for great sushi, then you have found the right place. Fresh and delicious sushi, and you probably won't find a better sushi place in Iceland, And if you don't like sushi then they have a great grill menu and the sticks are fantastic.

Great food, great service, a restaurant everyone has to try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Egill Örvar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akureyri, Eyjafjardarsysla, Iceland
2 reviews
“Great food”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Went with friends for dinner, great food and excellent service. I recommend the Sticks, they are to die for. The Sushi is fresh and my friends agree with me when I say that Kung Fu is TOP 3 Sushi restaurants in Iceland today.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BiggiOla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kung Fu sticks+sushi also viewed

Akureyri, Northeast Region
Akureyri, Northeast Region
 
Akureyri, Northeast Region
Akureyri, Northeast Region
 
Akureyri, Northeast Region
Akureyri, Northeast Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing