We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
222
133
21
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
133
21
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free beer the kitchen private room burger and beer free sauna welcome drink bar downstairs gull beer clean toilets bed dorm place to stay the main street top floor nice atmosphere located right recommend staying here perfect location
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

If you want to meet a lot of new people on your Iceland trip this is the place to go. Everyone including the staff was super nice and welcome. This was the cheapest place I could find in Akureyri so I didn't expect much. But the bathrooms, bedroom and kitchen were clean and you even get a free drink and free sauna. The only negative thing I'd say is that the beds move quite a bit so if the person on top of you moves a lot you'll be able to feel that. Other than that everything was perfect. Would definitely recommend!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Ronja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

Backpackers is clearly the liveliest place in town. Now admittedly we were there for the World Cup Semi final but it was buzzing. The crowd was eclectic covering a broad spectrum of ages and nationalities.

The beer is good, the food is decent pub grub with sensible portions.

It’s clearly a great place to hang out, meet people and enjoy a beer or three.

My only criticism is the result of the Semi went the wrong way, but that probably wasn’t their fault.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Turnerm1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

The place is perfect to meet people. It’s clean and beds are comfy. The Bar is busy and the staff were very nice and helpful.
Showers are powerful, which I love. They have hairdryer in the bathroom. The kitchen is equipped so you can cook anything there.
And we got a welcome beer when we checked in

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sofia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

good location with friendly staff. also clean & comfortable with reasonable price in iceland. good for taking short stay esp for budget traveler. getting pub with free drink also good. i believe is one best choice in Akureyri

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank iamface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

This email relates only to the restaurant at Akureyri Backpackers. Had a decent lamb kekab [a wrap to North Americans] with large potato wedges and a delectable dipping sauce along with an Einstock draft. The place was busy, always a good sign. The spot is medium-sized so tables were at a premium, all the more so during the World Cup. It was a happening place.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews