We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in every way”
Review of Hotel Akureyri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Akureyri
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The rooms are comfortable and extremely reasonable ($75/night in March). I got a room on the 4th floor with a great view of the fjord. The breakfast was well stocked and very tasty. It's a 3 minute walk to the center of town. But what stands out is the service. I ended up snowed in for two days in Akureyri (that's always possible when one travels to Iceland in the winter). My flight back to the U.S. was set for the next day. I had a rental car from SADCARS (a small company based only in Rekjavik with no office in Akureyri). The staff stepped in and saved the day. The desk clerk arranged a flight back to Rekjavik that day, and also made two calls to my car company. SADCARS first wanted to charge me $600 to come and retrieve the car. The clerk told me they had someone going to Reykjavik on Wednesday (4 days after the end of my car reservation) and they would drive the car back for me at no charge. He then got back on the phone with SADCARS and talked them into charging me $50/day for the four extra days...a total of $200. That's a great improvement from $600. And the staff did all this with no charge to me. I cannot recommend this hotel strongly enough.

Room Tip: The rooms on the fourth floor facing the fjord are great. But there is no elevator so it is a chall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    90
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
109
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gosport
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

From the moment we stepped into the lobby of the hotel we were greeted with such hospitality and friendliness. My husband and I stayed in room 303 with it's fantastic views and a beautiful clean and fresh looking room with a fridge and a nice TV. Going downstairs to the lounge area, we were greeted again by the staff and were offered coffee and cakes to share with them. The coffee machine was free flowing all day if you wanted it and often a packet of biscuits appeared out of nowhere. There was a good assortment of breakfast items to choose from and the beautiful freshly baked home made banana bread was to die for. Staff were very informative of where to go and would look up weather conditons or Auora forecasts if you wanted. We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place to stay as we would certainly come back here again. We also had free parking directly outside of the hotel. The town is a very short walk away and by reception is a very handy drink and snack cabinet should the hunger or thirst pangs start. Free wifi throughout the hotel. Well done Hotel Akureyri, we could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: Room 303 for fantastic views and a very quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynne23Gosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Hotel is located just off Highway 1 close to all restaurants and shops. We had room 303 located at the front of the property overlooking the water. No noise issues despite facing the road but hotel is setback. Both receptionists were friendly and helpful giving us a parking pass if we wanted to park in the centre of town. Free parking outside of hotel Our room was clean and compact. Breakfast was acceptable including all the usual juices and cereals as well as breads meats and cheeses. Great value for money and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Antony-Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Nicely located in town and comfortable. Unfortunately, our window gave on the hillside (which was rather close) rather than out over the water, but the room was clean and well-appointed.
The staff was helpful and breakfast wa up to Icelandic standards.
I'd go again, but ask for a room looking over the water.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nvulpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Initially we wanted a room in a guest house. It turned out that the owner owns the Hotel Akureyri as well. He was willing to give us a double room in the hotel at the same price because he had a rowing team staying at the guest house and feared it would be noisy for us! The hotel was modern, comfortable, close to center and a healthy breakfast included.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yael20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I have never seen such small rooms. My wife and I got a double room but it is small even for one person. The bathroom is also small. Everything else is above average: staff are helpful, breakfast more than sufficient, location and parking very convinient

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbmdnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Staff was friendly and helpful, although some of their travel advice was incorrect and caused us to miss out on some sights. The rooms are small. The hotel is in a unique building on the edge of town.... very close walk to the sights but away from the noise. A great location. Free coffee/tea in the break room all day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R2D285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akureyri
0.3 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
#2 of 8 in Akureyri
560 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Kjarnalundur
Hotel Kjarnalundur
#6 of 8 in Akureyri
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
#5 of 8 in Akureyri
243 reviews
30.8 mi away
Fosshotel Myvatn
Fosshotel Myvatn
#4 of 7 in Lake Myvatn
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akureyri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akureyri

Property: Hotel Akureyri
Address: Hafnarstraeti 67, Akureyri 600, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akureyri 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Akureyri is a family run establishment, devoted to hospitality since 1996. Constantly evolving with the expectations and demands of our guests, our goal is to make every guests stay as memorable as possible. Please feel free contacting us if you have any questions or requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Akureyri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing