We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfy house in the perfect location!”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room area
Dining room Bedroom downstairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Living room area
Dining room
Bedroom downstairs
Kitchen
Veiw from living room window
House in fall.
Entrance and stairway.
Bathroom.
Master bedroom on top floor.
Dining room.
Kitchen.
Balcony with a view.
Tv room with pull out couch where two people can sleep. Perfect for kids.
Bathroom.
Downstairs bedroom.
Washing room with washing machine and dryer.
Bedroom in back yard.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 11
Akureyri, Northeast Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
the2scott...
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfy house in the perfect location!”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We loved our stay in this beautiful, comfortable home! The pictures on the website were accurate and the house was clean. Everything we needed for our stay was at our fingertips in this house. The location could not have been better...walking distance to the city center and right down to the fjord.

We were two couples vacationing together and appreciated the spacious living room, kitchen and dining room. It was nice to have the bedrooms on different floors.

The owner, Asdis, was a pleasure to deal with and very responsive to any questions we had.

We wished we could have stayed longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Thanks! Come again anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrabbyPat...
Windsor, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house, great location”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My group of eight adults stayed in this home in late July, about halfway through our two week tour of Iceland. It is a lovely house with lots of space to hang out in the evenings and to have our meals together. Because we were a large group, one couple was in the cottage out back, but it was not a problem. It was a short walk to shops and restaurants, and we found Akureyri to be a very pleasant place to stay. We took the opportunity to fly from Akureyri to Grimsey Island so that we could cross the Arctic Circle. It was a little pricey but also a great adventure.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William W
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
625 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Could Not Have Picked a Better Home to Rent”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We have spent 2 weeks driving all over Iceland and had a 2 night reservation at an Akureyri Hotel. While staying there we fell in love with the town and decided to spend the rest of our vacation in Akureyri and use it as a home base for day trips for the next 3 days. We also got tired of eating out every single meal so decided to search for a local home to rent and found this one.

It is EXACTLY as described in the owner's overall description and list of amenities. It was nice to have a washer / dryer so we could fly home with clean clothes. It was clean, all the beds made up, the kitchen well stocked with every kind of dishware, pots, eating and cooking utensiles you might need. Coffee maker, toaster, oven. No microwave oven but that was not on the list of amenities. That would be a nice thing to provide to future guests.

When we arrived we checked the BBQ grill in the garage as we wanted to grill on the back patio one or two nights. The gas tank was empty. I called the owner who does not live in Akureyri and asked about where to get it filled. She offered to contact her caretaker of the house and within an hour they showed up and switched tanks with a full one.

We definitely recommend the place as it is a very comfortable home to live in when away from your own. We would definitely stay here again if we return to the area.

Actually when I was researching homes, I was concerned that the most current reviews were from 2015 and that maybe the house was not being actively rented anymore. Glad to learn otherwise. And now you have our current review to confirm all the prior excellent ratings.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2017
Thanks William, I am glad you had a great stay! Welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina P
1 review
“Great House in the perfect location for my family of four”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This house is perfect layout and great location for adventures in northern Iceland. We were able to do daily trips from this location with great ease. Very accessible and the town is perfect!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in June for three days with four adults and two kids (age 3 and 5). Perfect base to explore akureyri especially if you have family in tow. Lots of space for everyone with great design elements (eg. Beautiful kitchen, bathroom all well equipped). Asdis was responsive and friendly to deal with. Location is very central with a short walk to everything and outstanding municipal pool (water slides, hot pots, steam room etc.) across the street. If we are back in akureyri, and I hope to be some day, I would stay here again. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharalds
Gardabaer, Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent house in Akureyri”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in July 2014

Have stayed at this house with my family and friends a few times and we love it. Three bedrooms, one on each floor. Forth bedroom in guesthouse. Fully equipped kitchen and bathroom. The house has everything you need, washer and dryer etc. Sunny balcony. Swimming pool across the street. 5 min walk to restaurants, bars and cafés. Higly recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcelroym
Poole, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location and a nice modern airy house”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic location for Akureyri and the surrounding area with easy parking on-site. Directly opposite the town swimming pool, which is a must see, and 5-6min walk into the town centre. Akureyri itself was great with lots of bars and restaurants and plenty to see and do. We stayed for 3 nights in early August and loved it. The house is nicely laid out and well maintained and has everything you could need, including a washer and dryer.
Asdis was very helpful during the booking process and gave us some handy hints for places to go in town and things to see in the area.
Would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing